We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean building, good location”
Review of Green Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Palace
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Room was very spare, but large, clean and bright. Water took a while to heat up, but eventually got quite hot.

Location was great - right in the middle of the clifftop row, and set back from the cliff enough to be quiet, but not enough to keep the upper floor balconies from having nice views.

Staff was very friendly and helpful with a number of things, though attentive to the point of invasion of privacy (this being particularly disturbing to a solo female traveller). I would recommend the hotel to a friend, but with this as a caveat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moontravelbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2011

Nice, if not luxurious hotel, clean and pleasant. The 3rd floor, the topmost level, is the only one with any views of the sea. The views from the balcony look across the grass to a restaurant owned by the hotel, the views of the sea are blocked somewhat by this structure. Centrally located, all the main clifftop shops and restaurants of Varkala town are close by. The staff was pleasant and helpful.
This hotel does not include breakfast like most hotels in India do, but other than that,, it was fine. It does not have a pool, or an outdoor sitting area. I don't recommend the rooms on the first floor as they are actually sunken one floor down into the earth and look directly out onto a blank wall.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

close to the beach. clean and comfortable. good food. helpful staff. we would stay here again. and i would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We stayed at the Taj when we first arrived in Varkala in Jan 2009. The Taj is good and what you would expect for that kind of money however, when we decided to return for the final few days of our holiday in Kerala we stayed at the Green Palace.

We still remember the name of the manager there (Prince) which is always a good sign. He was very helpful and interesting. The view of the ocean and sunset is fantastic.

It's not cheap by Indian standards (over Christmas and new year there is a peak season tax or something like that) but for £50 or so a night you cant complain.

Varkala is my favourite place in India. It is chilled out, got a great beach, there's a good atmosphere in the bars and a bit of life too. We loved it so much we're going back in January 2011.

And we're staying at the Green Palace, not the Taj!

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thedeadlysubmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I stayed at The Green Palace at the start of the monsoon season in June 2010. I found the rooms to be airy and clean. Great to have A/C in the run up to the thundery storms.

The location was excellent. Just next door was the Cafe Del Mar which was perfect for breakfast and the view from the balcony was great, overlooking Varkala beach.

I booked the hotel from the UK, and the hotel staff kindly arranged for me to be picked up from the airport (for a reasonable fee).

The hotel was more expensive that other hotels along the beach, and so it would be good to haggle a good deal.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sodyathen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Great Fun to stay here
Great atmosphere and surroundings

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Thank TravellerRockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

It was an amazing place to stay.
Unbelievably romantic and cozy. The beach looks amazing from a 100 feet. Nice balcony, nice room. Decent food but amazing coffee.
Great service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prk3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#10 of 52 in Varkala
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.7 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#4 of 52 in Varkala
404 reviews
1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
406 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Palace

Address: Clifftop,Varkala P.O | Trivandrum, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £16 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Green Palace Varkala, Kerala
Green Palace Hotel Varkala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing