We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of Green Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Palace
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Nice hotel and could not be a better location, in the middle of the cliff ‘Strip’ and 50 meters from the steps down to the beach. A/C was a heavy 500 rupees per night extra so we managed with a fan. We had a balcony with a sea view. The room was exceptionally well cleaned and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Free WiFi usually worked and usually hot water. Well commended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicandTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    44
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
28
38
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I had stayed in this hotel in the month of Nov2011 along with my husband for our wedding anniversary....The hotel is very nice and staff at the hotel greeted us with big smile on arrival and wished both of us for our wedding anniversary..Actually we had informed them regarding our anniversary while booking.Varkala is the nearest railway station from this hotel..hardly 5kms.The management loves to offer its hourned guest more and more.The Green palace offers you the most delicious multi cusine dishes, which also includes the garden restaurant overlooking the Arabian Sea at its best.This hotel is a 2-star hotel and its bit expensive...its value for the money..when there is no money ,there is no value.They have a very good room service..left luggage cabin and also assist you in the travel for sight seeing..overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonayogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington, new zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We really enjoyed staying here as a family. We were on the top floor, with wonderful sea views, but still catching enough of the sea breeze to not need the airconditioning on at night. The rooms were very clean and spacious, although the hot water was a little erratic. What we really enjoyed was wandering down to the airconditioned internet/tourist office, or having a bite to eat at Abba - which has to be the cleanest and best-run restaurant on the cliffs. They do room service from Abba, and seem to be able to connect you with any service you need. There's a well-patronised yoga class every morning and evening downstairs and of course the beach, just steps away. We stayed at a B&B in Varkala before moving to the Green Palace, and think we got much better value and comfort from paying just a little more. Plus, of course, the location. I think it's the only hotel on the beach with sea views, but set back sufficiently to not be too noisy at night. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs for the views, and they are a little breezier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppynz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Not the cheapest hotel we had in India, but one of the cleanest. Nice bright spacious clean room, nice balcony with seaview, good central location at the cliff between the restaurants, bars and shops, slightly set back so the rooms are quiet enough. Good breakfast and excellent tandoori fish at the associated restaurant in front of the hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff, especially the always present and smiling Prince. Yoga classes were held at the hotel in the mornings and afternoons with a qualified Indian Yoga teacher. We looked at quite a few hotels in Varkala and found this the best option.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip-to-x_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

At first we got given a bad room because we went for the cheapest, the phone and tv were broken and the bathroom had some issues! so we asked if we could change rooms and the staff were really nice and let us move to a room with seaview upstairs for the same price to make it up to us. The rooms are really clean and the bathrooms are really big and clean too. all the rooms have balconies with chairs which is really nice. The restaurant out the front has amazing food and its great value, you get huge portions! Overall we had a really nice stay especially as their off season prices are so low!

Room Tip: the upper floors have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie_roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grinnell, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Room was very spare, but large, clean and bright. Water took a while to heat up, but eventually got quite hot.

Location was great - right in the middle of the clifftop row, and set back from the cliff enough to be quiet, but not enough to keep the upper floor balconies from having nice views.

Staff was very friendly and helpful with a number of things, though attentive to the point of invasion of privacy (this being particularly disturbing to a solo female traveller). I would recommend the hotel to a friend, but with this as a caveat.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moontravelbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Nice, if not luxurious hotel, clean and pleasant. The 3rd floor, the topmost level, is the only one with any views of the sea. The views from the balcony look across the grass to a restaurant owned by the hotel, the views of the sea are blocked somewhat by this structure. Centrally located, all the main clifftop shops and restaurants of Varkala town are close by. The staff was pleasant and helpful.
This hotel does not include breakfast like most hotels in India do, but other than that,, it was fine. It does not have a pool, or an outdoor sitting area. I don't recommend the rooms on the first floor as they are actually sunken one floor down into the earth and look directly out onto a blank wall.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.7 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 50 in Varkala
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#8 of 50 in Varkala
273 reviews
1.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Palace

Property: Green Palace
Address: Clifftop,Varkala P.O | Trivandrum, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Green Palace Varkala, Kerala
Green Palace Hotel Varkala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing