We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Green Palace
Nearby Hotels
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$29
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karthika Plaza Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$26
US$23
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Magnolia Guesthouse(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$52
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
53
47
6
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
47
6
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabba restaurantyoga studiothe cliffthe hotel staffthe hotel's restauranthotel is greatlocal hospitalview from the balconya stones throwrooms are largeover christmasstayed here for nightscomfortable staynice place to stayair conexcellent locationfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2009

After being disppointed with our previous hotel we decided to move next door to the Green Palace. The large a/c rooms were spotlessly clean, fresher and cheaper than the one we had just vacated! The rooms face the sea and have balconies so you can relax and watch the sun go down over the sea before heading out down the main strip for food and drinks. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and although this hotel is room only, there are loads of good cheap cafes and restaurants nearby, including one on site. This hotel is in a great location, set back from the main pathway on the cliff top (which means its nice and quiet despite the all night parties in the nearby bars), and near to the steps which lead down to the sea. The hotel is also accessible by car so you don't have to drag your bags too far....

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N-J0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

3000 IR for an clean, a/c room with balcony where you can sit and watch the sunset. The hotel is in an ideal place for the clifftop restaurants, has an uninterrupted view of the sea and is near the steps to the beach. Staff are really helpful (Prince especially ) and organised ayevurdic appointments, taxis etc. The restaurant is also good value. Next door is Cafe del Mar which serves proper expresso and cappucino (though you need to be Very Patient !)
We were very glad that we found this place after some other disappointments - even if the hot water did occasionally run out mid-morning, it never took long before resuming.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KieranW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We chanced upon Green Palace after arriving at (and promptly leaving) the place we were originally booked into which turned out to be a building site.

Green Palace rooms are large, with great air conditioning, TV's, balconies and really clean bathrooms with great showers. Rooms are cleaned every say so there is a real hotel feel about the place although staff were really helpful at all times.

We had laundry done for a reasonable price and the manager even went over to the train station to pick up tickets for us to save us the trouble. It's room only at Green Palace but there are so mnay nice cafe's a stone's throw from the front door that this wasn't a problem.

Varkala is really relaxed and a good spot for chilling out, reading, splashing around in the sea etc.

A top tip is to bring a little torch with you as without fail there are power cuts each night,. Green Palace has a back up generator but the restaurants etc don't and the cliff top path is quite uneven. On our first night we picked our way back in the dark but lots of people had tiny torch key rings etc which would have made it much easier!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smith1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

We just turned up at Green Palace to see if they had any rooms available. It was still quite quiet as tourist season starts oct/Nov. However this was in our favour as we got a nice, large double room with A/C with sea views. Hotel Managing Director was very helpful and even let us keep the room a little later so we could enjoy the beach.

Hotel is great, the location is in the thick of it on the cliff top. It is set back from the main pathway which is a bonus away from the sellers and hecklers trying to sell things.

I would definitely go back to this hotel.

If the hotel is full on account of high season. I can recommend a 5 mins walk behind it towards a new hotel called 'signature residence'. Stayed there first night, but moved to GP as wanted sea views. I would have happily stayed here otherwise. In fact I imagine in tourist season it is a blessing to be 5 mins walk from the busy north cliff, where all night parties go on till the early hours.


The staff, and cleaniness of residence hotel is very good and you are still in the heart of varkala.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ktDl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2008

I took a double room for singel use as I liked the situation adn teh fact that tehy had nice looking balconies with a view to the sea.

The room was clean enough, I paid 1500 Rupies per night, less than the official tariff.

The big problem was that most of the time there was no electricity, so no light in the bathroom, no fan, no television. I asked several times at the reception to check the elctricity, the staff every time did as if they were sooo surprised about, but actually this must be the normal situation day by day. Then they start the generator and light goes on again. This happened at least 4 to 5 times a day.

Otherwise teh staff is quite friendly, a bit sleepy I would say, but one has to consider that it is quite hot during daytime.

For the view and the room it is all right, service is practically non existant or onyl when one insists and goes looking for it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews