We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”
Review of Green Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Palace
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2010

It was an amazing place to stay.
Unbelievably romantic and cozy. The beach looks amazing from a 100 feet. Nice balcony, nice room. Decent food but amazing coffee.
Great service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prk3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2010

My partner and I got to Varkala and proceeded to try and get a pleasant hotel. We knew of all of the main ones, but we came to the Green Palace, took a look inside, discussed and booked the balcony sea view for a repspectable rate excluding TAX (don't get caught out).

The hotel and room was very clean and the main concierge was an affable and courteous individual. The main positive was the location - this surely had to be the best placed hotel out of the whole entire bunch?! We had a look for the others, but they were all way back from the cliff top or a lot further away from the main beach and restaurants. We were so close to the beach and restaurants and our view was complete loveliness! We really wouldn't swap this for another hotel around here taking into account VFM - we even extended our stay!

Only negative was our cable TV was out for over 24 hours!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

This was our first time to Kerala and we have very mixed views about the place. However, the Green Palace was a a great hotel - a little pricey but you get what you pay for. Good, clean rooms with aircon, TV and lovely balcony overlooking the sea front - beautiful sunsets. Friendly and helpful staff. Great laundry service - it took less than a day for them to do a load of laundry and the cost was very reasonable. There was a free wi fi service but the connection was very unreliable. Mattresses on the beds were rock hard but this appears to be the norm in Kerala. Varkala is a lovely location ruined only by mounds of litter on the cliff face. Beautiful beach. Cannot recommend a decent restaurant as we generally found the food in Kerala to be awful. If you are travelling around for days out, then make sure that you get a decent cab driver. The one we hired was reasonably priced but (during our journey) tried to get more money out of us by telling us that his daughter had cancer and that his boss was not a good man and didn't pay him much money. He also stopped for something to eat half way through the journey - which was only two hours. Make sure that you spend an hour or two in Varkala town.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outrageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2009

We had a great time at the Green Palace in Varkala, great location, very good size rooms, very clean, nice balcony facing the ocean. the hotel staff is exceptional, very friendly and helpful, the nicest and most relaxing place we've stayed at while in Kerala. the restaurant also serves very yummy food.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlotta777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I stayed at the Green Palace for 2 Days at Varkala by taking a train to Varkala and then taking a rickshaw from the station.Varkala is approx 55kms from Trivandraum hence check out which trains stop at Varkala.

I was not disappointed with the place as it was a amazing place.The staff at Green Palace were quite nice and friendly.I went there alone to enjoy the beach and also took time off from my hectic schedule, though the weather is hot in Oct.The food was very good and served in time too.

The hotel is nice and clean and the rooms are cleaned on a daily basis.The room was big and comfortable with a nice bathroom to it.

With regards to the beach when you walk out of Green Palace you will find a beach to the left where a lot of people prefer to spend their time.You need to walk downwards and to your left to get to the beach.Since the hotel is located at Cliff.

However if you turn towards the right and again walk downwards there is a nice beach which is not that big but less crowded where you can enjoy.There are life guards posted there and if you ask them they do allow you to get to the beach,It was a nice place where you could enjoy the day and also the sunset.Got some good pictures of the lovely sunset and also had a nice time.Overall worth the trip.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love_Beaches007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

After being disppointed with our previous hotel we decided to move next door to the Green Palace. The large a/c rooms were spotlessly clean, fresher and cheaper than the one we had just vacated! The rooms face the sea and have balconies so you can relax and watch the sun go down over the sea before heading out down the main strip for food and drinks. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and although this hotel is room only, there are loads of good cheap cafes and restaurants nearby, including one on site. This hotel is in a great location, set back from the main pathway on the cliff top (which means its nice and quiet despite the all night parties in the nearby bars), and near to the steps which lead down to the sea. The hotel is also accessible by car so you don't have to drag your bags too far....

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N-J0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

3000 IR for an clean, a/c room with balcony where you can sit and watch the sunset. The hotel is in an ideal place for the clifftop restaurants, has an uninterrupted view of the sea and is near the steps to the beach. Staff are really helpful (Prince especially ) and organised ayevurdic appointments, taxis etc. The restaurant is also good value. Next door is Cafe del Mar which serves proper expresso and cappucino (though you need to be Very Patient !)
We were very glad that we found this place after some other disappointments - even if the hot water did occasionally run out mid-morning, it never took long before resuming.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KieranW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#10 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
319 reviews
1 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Black Beach Resort
Black Beach Resort
#11 of 52 in Varkala
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Palace

Address: Clifftop,Varkala P.O | Trivandrum, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £19 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Green Palace Varkala, Kerala
Green Palace Hotel Varkala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing