We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds, clean room and fabulous staff- thanks!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Mangalath Beach Resort
Ranked #76 of 97 Varkala B&B and Inns
Sheffield, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy beds, clean room and fabulous staff- thanks!”
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We arrived in Varkala on 28th December and had booked our 10 day stay at Le Mangalath a few months earlier based on the reviews it had been given on Tripadvisor.

I have travelled around India quite a bit and in comparison to many of the places I have stayed in Le Mangalath was great! The room was very clean, the towels and sheets were white (not mucky grey!), the bathroom looked and smelled clean always. The hotel itself is in pleasant grounds with a pretty lawn at the front. We were very happy to have this as our base.

They provide a decent enough breakfast, prepared in a hygienic kitchen but the restaurant was not open for lunch time or evening meals. It would have been helpful to be able to have other meals here. The restaurant building had been damaged by heavy rain I believe.

The most outstanding aspect of the hotel were the staff. My 5 year old daughter got food poisoning from one of the restaurants on the cliff and required hospital attention. Ravi (assistant manager) went out of his way to help us and escorted us to the hospital. He didn't leave until he had registered us and made sure we had a bed for the night.

All the staff were very welcoming and helpful.

The location was perfect for us as it is 5 minutes walk from the nicest beach (we didn't like the large beach), and it was peaceful. We wouldn't have wanted to be close to the cliff edge with 2 young children as it is not fenced off safely or at all in some places. Be prepared for this if you are taking young ones!

I would say that rather than offering the facilities of a resort hotel, Le Mangalath is an excellent bed and breakfast.

  • Liked — The comfy beds and the lovely staff.
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurant for lunch and evening meals.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbySheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
6
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

I agree with the previous review. The pictures and information on the website are very misleading. We chose this place because it was an ayurvedic centre but the centre no longer exists. They should change the name and be more honest about the fact that this is a simple guesthouse - not a beach resort !

  • Liked — staff were pleasant and apologised for the fact that we had been misled
  • Disliked — that we had been misled
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KieranW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varkala hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Be very careful if you book this on the basis of the website.
There is no longer an ayevurdic centre on site - it is three kilometers away. Photographs on the website are of this new centre rather than Le Mangalath itself.
There is no longer a restaurant - it is "closed" and the building stands abandoned.
There are no longer beautiful gardens - the grounds are being prepared for a "project next year"
It is not a beachfront property - there are a row of buildings in front of you.
The staff are charming and helpful but we were so disappointed and were not prepared to stay once we discovered how dishonest the management had been in promoting something which is not at all what it claims to be.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunseeker034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2008

This is really a nice hotel, just a stroll away from the beach, but no sea view. I don't think it as the structure reminds me of home. They have nice clean rooms, cleaned daily. The point is that each every staff there has a smile on his face with an flair to help you. Check out for their Breakfast, it's worth. It's not the place for people looking out for a hip place. It's really quite, I had been there during peak season with the hotel almost full, even then it was quite. I'll surely recommend this place who want to relax during holiday.

  • Liked — matress and their smiles
  • Disliked — views
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank berlinvick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Clean, quiet hotel set in a beautiful garden. Value for money. Friendly staff, rooms cleaned daily, very comfortable bed with two pillows and excellent breakfast. The only downside was that the hot water was only ever occassionally lukewarm. About a 5 minute walk from the main drag and even closer to the beach.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — Lack of hot water
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMissD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jüchen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2008

No restaurant, every day fight for hot water for shower, in January 2009 they would like to start for a new building and the it will be a large construction site in 2009.
lokation o.k. for people who like a little bit silence and 50m to a nice beach, north of Varkala Beach.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kohnrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2008

i was to varkala for a weeks holiday. Seen the reviews i made booking directly with the hotel. when i stepped out of varkala railway station i was surrounded by all those tuk tuk and taxi drivers as usually seen in india. i took one of them and arrived at le mangalath. i was given a nice room with a/c. it was the first time i came to varkala and it was really a great place with golden brown cliffs facing the beach with restaurants and souvenir shops atop. its great to sip down a beer from one of the restaurants. my stay was fine. they clean your room daily and serve you a nice breakfast. i also had dinner once which was fine, but rather had dinners outside as they are located just off the cliff. its certainly not a 5 star hotel, but they provide the best for what they charge. i will certainly go back to varkala and to le mangalath.

Helpful?
Thank christie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
936 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.3 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#22 of 52 in Varkala
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mangalath Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mangalath Beach Resort

Property: Le Mangalath Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Le Mangalath Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing