We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Mangalath Beach Resort
Ranked #76 of 97 Varkala B&B and Inns
Nepal
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 8 March 2009

This was our first trip to India. Having spent almost 1 year working in Nepal with VSO we were in desperate need of a break. Some colleagues in Nepal recommended Kerala and in particular the area around Varkala where, as experienced travellers to India, they had stayed on a number of occasions.
We chose this hotel after looking at various options on the internet. We booked online and arranged an airport pick-up given that our flight from Delhi arrived 22:30 at night.
No problems with the booking and our driver was waiting for us at the airport as arranged in an air-conditioned 4x4 - it is still very warm in Kerala even in February at 22:30!. The drive to the hotel was about 45 minutes.
The hotel is located at the northern end of Kerala, just set back from the cliff top path that runs along the coast. This path gives you access to the beaches north and south of the hotel and to the bars, restaurants and shops which front the path.
We could not fault the rooms and service at the hotel which are in a different league to those we have experienced in Nepal. Staff here are friendly and attentive to your needs without being overbearing. As mentioned earlier, Kerala is hot in Winter, so air-conditioning in the room is not the extravagance that at first you might think you can do without.
Being set back from the cliff top path you are assured a quiet location but with easy access to the beach and restaurants. We found the beaches to the north to be much less crowded compared to those at the southern end. But having said that - this place is not crowded and so far has not suffered from over development. It is a very laid back relaxing place where you really have only eating and swimming to worry about.
My only regret is that we had to return to Nepal!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinclai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
6
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We arrived in Varkala on 28th December and had booked our 10 day stay at Le Mangalath a few months earlier based on the reviews it had been given on Tripadvisor.

I have travelled around India quite a bit and in comparison to many of the places I have stayed in Le Mangalath was great! The room was very clean, the towels and sheets were white (not mucky grey!), the bathroom looked and smelled clean always. The hotel itself is in pleasant grounds with a pretty lawn at the front. We were very happy to have this as our base.

They provide a decent enough breakfast, prepared in a hygienic kitchen but the restaurant was not open for lunch time or evening meals. It would have been helpful to be able to have other meals here. The restaurant building had been damaged by heavy rain I believe.

The most outstanding aspect of the hotel were the staff. My 5 year old daughter got food poisoning from one of the restaurants on the cliff and required hospital attention. Ravi (assistant manager) went out of his way to help us and escorted us to the hospital. He didn't leave until he had registered us and made sure we had a bed for the night.

All the staff were very welcoming and helpful.

The location was perfect for us as it is 5 minutes walk from the nicest beach (we didn't like the large beach), and it was peaceful. We wouldn't have wanted to be close to the cliff edge with 2 young children as it is not fenced off safely or at all in some places. Be prepared for this if you are taking young ones!

I would say that rather than offering the facilities of a resort hotel, Le Mangalath is an excellent bed and breakfast.

  • Liked — The comfy beds and the lovely staff.
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurant for lunch and evening meals.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbySheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

I agree with the previous review. The pictures and information on the website are very misleading. We chose this place because it was an ayurvedic centre but the centre no longer exists. They should change the name and be more honest about the fact that this is a simple guesthouse - not a beach resort !

  • Liked — staff were pleasant and apologised for the fact that we had been misled
  • Disliked — that we had been misled
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KieranW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varkala hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Be very careful if you book this on the basis of the website.
There is no longer an ayevurdic centre on site - it is three kilometers away. Photographs on the website are of this new centre rather than Le Mangalath itself.
There is no longer a restaurant - it is "closed" and the building stands abandoned.
There are no longer beautiful gardens - the grounds are being prepared for a "project next year"
It is not a beachfront property - there are a row of buildings in front of you.
The staff are charming and helpful but we were so disappointed and were not prepared to stay once we discovered how dishonest the management had been in promoting something which is not at all what it claims to be.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunseeker034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2008

This is really a nice hotel, just a stroll away from the beach, but no sea view. I don't think it as the structure reminds me of home. They have nice clean rooms, cleaned daily. The point is that each every staff there has a smile on his face with an flair to help you. Check out for their Breakfast, it's worth. It's not the place for people looking out for a hip place. It's really quite, I had been there during peak season with the hotel almost full, even then it was quite. I'll surely recommend this place who want to relax during holiday.

  • Liked — matress and their smiles
  • Disliked — views
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank berlinvick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Clean, quiet hotel set in a beautiful garden. Value for money. Friendly staff, rooms cleaned daily, very comfortable bed with two pillows and excellent breakfast. The only downside was that the hot water was only ever occassionally lukewarm. About a 5 minute walk from the main drag and even closer to the beach.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — Lack of hot water
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMissD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jüchen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2008

No restaurant, every day fight for hot water for shower, in January 2009 they would like to start for a new building and the it will be a large construction site in 2009.
lokation o.k. for people who like a little bit silence and 50m to a nice beach, north of Varkala Beach.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kohnrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
936 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.3 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#22 of 52 in Varkala
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mangalath Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mangalath Beach Resort

Property: Le Mangalath Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Le Mangalath Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing