We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akhil Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akhil Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Nordlingen, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

I think everything is told about this very well maintained Resort.
We were here once again for 3 weeks and I really would say that this is the Hotel No.1 in Varkala. They have renovated all Cottages and Rooms - also the attached bathrooms are very nice now. The whole Resort is more luxurious than before. So here I have new pictures...
I want to say "Thank you" to the staff and Management for a very pleasant stay with all amenities we had.
This time we also booked Pick up and Drop from/at Airport and two Trips. It worked great - in a big luxury car with a very pleasant driver. Also the price was cheaper than on the Cliff.
We (3 Pax) stayed in the Pool-View-Cottage at 1st floor again and I can recommend this Room with big balcony and a fantastic overwiew to everyone without doubts.

Room Tip: Pool-view Cottage at 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noerdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    151
    43
    11
    10
See reviews for
113
133
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We'd been travelling around Tamil Nadu and Kerala for 4 weeks before arriving in Akhil Beach Resort, and had been living in very basic accommodation till then. We were so happy to've "splurged" on this- the room and bathroom were stylish and impeccable, the grounds were beautiful, the staff friendly and the pool awesome! As it was low season, there was some construction work going on, which made it a bit noisy at times, and the restaurant was slightly over-priced and didn't stock everything on the menu... but this wasn't a big concern as it's location is superb, and it was easy enough to go and find somewhere else to eat along the cliff! Would highly recommend this place =)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maraliggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our honeymoon trip in Kerala ( May 2012 ). The property was under renovation works then,but never was there any discomfort due to it.Only few cottages near the pool were available and we stayed at first floor cottage. The staff is super friendly.Enjoyed very much..The garden,pool,restaurant etc.. was kept clean every time.Check in & check out was handled smoothly...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NishaBarboza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Best location for relaxation.Ambience,great interiors,feels good after a stay in the rooms.
I dont know how old the hotel is,but certainly everything from furniture,finishing to fittings all gave the look of being pretty new and luxurious.I really had a pleasant stay in this hotel with my family for a couple of days..

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaushikmanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We we're so happily welcomed by the staff, greeted with big warm smiles and everyone made us feel so comfortable after a long, exhausting flight. Unlike some other hotels at the cliff, Akhil is having a good access by road. Receptions guys lead us to a wonderful cottage near the pool.I think swimming pool is the main attraction of Akhil.
I think it's also worth mentioning that the restaurant is sensibly priced. I've been to several hotels in this price bracket where they get carried away in over pricing the food but that wasn't the case here. The chef also came out of the kitchen to ask if we were enjoying our food - a nice touch.
Thanks to all the staff for helping to make our holiday so memorable, cheers

Room Tip: pool side cottages are having easy access to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyBeckins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We reached the hotel premises a little earlier than our check in time .We were attended well and were given a cottage earlier.It is a lush green,very well maintained property situated in a quiet place. We stayed in Exclusive heritage cottage, a traditional Kerala architecture which was very spacious and had all luxuries, even had a good view of swimming pool from the room. The staffs were genuinely attentive and really want you to have a comfortable and happy stay. The hotel was great in terms of service and the quality of the room. We just came back with lots of good memories.

Room Tip: just try exclusive herritage cottage near by the pool.really amazing......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterwoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I stayed here in late May/ early June, 2012, which is the offseason. Unlike some of the other hotels, the place was fully staffed and operating as usual, but at reduced rates.

The rooms are airy and clean, and the service is good. There is also a great swimming pool.
I think you'd be hard pushed to find better value for money.

Also, Nithin, the manager, is always smiling and onhand to help out with whatever you need.

I highly recommend it.

And I would also say that late May is the best time to come -- fewer people, better rates, and still pre-monsoon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjcindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.4 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#7 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#3 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#19 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akhil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akhil Beach Resort

Property: Akhil Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road | Kurakanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#7 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Akhil Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you can feel the rhythm of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Akhil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akhil Beach Hotel Varkala
Preeth Beach Hotel
Akhil Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing