We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Akhil Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akhil Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Jönköping, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect for families”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

It's the perfect place to stay in when you have children. We extended our stay here since we liked it so much and the pool was perfect to have. It has a toddlers area wich is perfect when travelling with kids that aren't able to swim by themselves. The rooms are big and cleaned every day if you just remember to give the key to a staff member, bed was a bit hard though. The food was not so good but that didn't matter since there are plenty of restaurants on the cliffs to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    152
    43
    11
    10
See reviews for
113
135
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorks
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I originally stayed in the rooms in the block but they were too spartan for me so I upgraded to one of the lovely cottages overlooking the beautiful pool. The upstairs ones are better for privacy and the views.

Big rooms and nice bathroom. There isn't a lot of wardrobe space so for 2 it might be a bit of a tight fit.

Breakfast is not included in the price but there are loads of cafes 5 mins away.

There are lots of places to stay in Varkala but few have pools. I also looked at Raja Park and Deshadan but Akil's was the nicest.

Room Tip: Upstairs cottages overlooking the pool were fantastic for a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennylets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Very good conditions, great people!
Akhil Beach resort is a great place to stay. I stayed here in the Akhil for 14 days and had a wonderful time. The staff is very nice and kind, and helped me with all i wanted. I also recomment the restaurant wich has a lot to offer from south indian food to nothern dishes.
We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prajna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I stayed here in the Akhil for three days and had a wonderful time. The place is really nice and you will wish you could stay longer. The cottages lie in a beautiful park area that is located near to the beach and the cliff and shopping. The staff is very nice and kind, and helped me with all i wanted. I also recomment the restaurant wich has a lot to offer from south indian food to nothern dishes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClemensGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this tropical garden paradise and appreciated the luxurious pool and rejuvenating daily Yoga classes. The management was kind, efficient and attentive to every detail to make our vacation memorable. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: There is a new Kerala style cottage just above the pool with a terrace facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Ragaz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Akhil Beach resort is a great place to stay. You live like in little cottage in a wonderful park. There is also an outdoor restaurant and a swimmingpool. The hotel is only 5 minutes on foot from the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful, the price is low compared what you get.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The resort itself is quite pleasant and clean. Located not very far from a beach and cliff, where all the restaurants are located (approx. 5 min walk).
Good value for money as the rates were quite low comparing to similar Varkala's resorts.
On the negative side - we hoped for a comfortable relax in beautiful Varkala, yet because of rock hard pillows it was impossible to have a good sleep.

Room Tip: ask for really soft pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmadry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Varkala
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akhil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akhil Beach Resort

Property: Akhil Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road | Kurakanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#7 Family Hotel in Varkala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Akhil Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you can feel the rhythm of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akhil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akhil Beach Hotel Varkala
Preeth Beach Hotel
Akhil Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing