We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing retreat by the beach”
Review of Akhil Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Akhil Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Reviewed 30 December 2012

A lovely clean room with fan, balcony and hot showers. The resort has its own ayurvedic treatment centre and outdoor restaurant/bar (don't expect fast service though!). It also has a pool and lovely gardens. The best part is how close it is to the restaurants, shops and bars on the cliff and the beach without being noisy at all. The weather was very hot so I'd recommend an air conditioned room as we were quite warm!

Room Tip: Go for an A/C room if you can as it's quite warm at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

This is where you want to stay if:

You enjoy good service from all of the staff.

You want clean rooms every day (don't forget to leave your key to the reception though).

You want hot water in the shower.

You want a nice pool to hang around when a bit tires of all the sand on the lovely beaches just a 5 min walk away.

You want a restaurant with a variety of Indian and International cuisine with a bar to offer multiple choice of beer, wine, cocktails and mocktails.

Enjoy! I did!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CareOfKeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

If you are looking for an oasis in Varkala - Akhil Beach Resort is the place. Green garden and a lovely pool. Service friendly staff that solves everything. Clean and fresh rooms. Wifi. Good food. Its close to the Cliff but still not in a noisy place. I have now stayed here for nearly two months and I am very happy with all the arrangements.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulrikaeklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I booked Akhil after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. On check in we were greeted by smiling staff and were shown to our room. The room deluxe room was too small and we thought of upgrading to a cottage but then how much time were we to spend in the room when we were in Varkala for just a day.

The pool area of the resort is excellent and well maintained. As an added benefit, this resort has licence from Kerala government to serve beer and wine which is a blessing for tourists as you dont get fleeced in restaurants. The other positive is that this is the only resort i came across with Tata Sky so you can watch all channels(English & Hindi). The resort even helps you in hiring a scooty to move around.

The only other let down was the slow service. My wife ordered a fish and chips while we were at the pool side and it took them more than 1 hour to send it out. And once we got it, the fish was fried Kerala style.

We did not bother trying anything else and had dinner and breakfast at the cliff.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are too small Room service is really slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discoverer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

It's the perfect place to stay in when you have children. We extended our stay here since we liked it so much and the pool was perfect to have. It has a toddlers area wich is perfect when travelling with kids that aren't able to swim by themselves. The rooms are big and cleaned every day if you just remember to give the key to a staff member, bed was a bit hard though. The food was not so good but that didn't matter since there are plenty of restaurants on the cliffs to choose from.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I originally stayed in the rooms in the block but they were too spartan for me so I upgraded to one of the lovely cottages overlooking the beautiful pool. The upstairs ones are better for privacy and the views.

Big rooms and nice bathroom. There isn't a lot of wardrobe space so for 2 it might be a bit of a tight fit.

Breakfast is not included in the price but there are loads of cafes 5 mins away.

There are lots of places to stay in Varkala but few have pools. I also looked at Raja Park and Deshadan but Akil's was the nicest.

Room Tip: Upstairs cottages overlooking the pool were fantastic for a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennylets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Very good conditions, great people!
Akhil Beach resort is a great place to stay. I stayed here in the Akhil for 14 days and had a wonderful time. The staff is very nice and kind, and helped me with all i wanted. I also recomment the restaurant wich has a lot to offer from south indian food to nothern dishes.
We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prajna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.4 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akhil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akhil Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road | Kurakanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#5 Family Hotel in Varkala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £20 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Akhil Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you can feel the rhythm of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Akhil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akhil Beach Hotel Varkala
Preeth Beach Hotel
Akhil Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing