We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”
Review of Akhil Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akhil Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to Varkala and Akhil Hotel. The pool and beautiful gardens are the main attraction and rooms tend to be basic although adequate. There have been improvements with provision of Flat screen Tv but lack of storage space in rooms is a minus. We had problems with consistent supply of hot water although staff tried to get the heater fixed unsuccessfully. It is a more expensive place to stay but we enjoyed use of pool as change from beach. Beware of the large waves on the beach which can tumble you in the surf and caution is required when swimming.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    154
    43
    11
    11
See reviews for
116
135
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We booked a delux room with AC but when we saw it we decided to upgrade to a cottage, the delux room was just that, a room, no hanging space or drawers, just a bed, tv and bathroom. There was however a small balcony. The receptionist was very good and moved us to a large first floor cottage, large room, bathroom and excellent balcony overlooking the pool.
The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. A special mention to the restaurant staff who were fab!
The pool was clean but be aware that non residents can use it so you may not get a sunbed.
North Cliff is a short walk, torch needed for night returns, but if you want to use the beach be aware of the number of steps. Not at all suitable for beach lovers with walking difficulties. However, the walk along the cliff is well worth it. The restaurants and small shops are very good. (The Kerala Cafe is a must, as is the Cafe Del Mar for a decent breakast coffee). Wifi is available in the restaurant and there is a Ayurveda centre on site.
Our stay here was very good, everyone was friendly and the restaurant searved very good food.
We will certainly make a return visit. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Go for the cottages, a little more expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveandPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I chose Akhil for the pool which was really lovely in the nice gardens. My room was nice, after 2 weeks on a rock hard mattress and no proper pillow at an ashram the bed and pillow felt luxurious as did the hot water shower. However it would have been nice to have a mozzie net on the bathroom window. I was on my own and did find the walk back from the cliff after eating out at night a bit dark once away from the shops and people but had no trouble. I had some great massage at the Ayurveda clinic. I really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor with a nice small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

As so many people have said this is a hotel which could easily be 5 stars but lets itself down in a few important ways. The pool area and gardens are beautiful and probably the best we saw in Varkala. Rooms are clean if fairly basic - 4 coat hangers and only one bedside cabinet. TV was fine but for the price we paid I would expect a kettle and safe to be standard. Problems with getting any hot water were solved after a day and in general staff were pleasant and helpful. Location is good with all the cliff restaurants and the beach a short walk through the Tibetan Market. A lot of flies round the breakfast area - better to get them to bring your food to the tables by the poolside. I know we went in peak season but the fact that people staying in other cheaper hotels in the group in Varkala, can use the Akhil for breakfast and the pool, meant that these were overcrowded and getting a chair by the pool needed an early start!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

pool was welcome - but not enough loungers so it felt like a race to get a spot after breakfast
room was nice but I think overpriced at 6500 rupees - we moved onto red palm home say for 1700 a night for two rooms - did us fine
the yoga teacher here is very good and early morning sessions on terrace with cacophony of bird sounds and morning prayer calls as sun came up was enchanting!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have stayed with Akhils and although the garden and pool is nice, i think the basic guest service and professionalism is completely lacking. We arrived today for our second stay with a booking through an online site ( hotels.com), paid and confirmed, but Akhils said they had no record of this and the first person I spoke with said that he hadn't received this booking and that they were fully booked. He disappeared and someone else came. He said they don't accept bookings from hotels.com because hotels.com doesn't pay them. So even if we have paid hotels.com they wouldn't accept that so we would have to pay again. But they didnt have any rooms. still not clear whether they had missed the booking or ignored it, either way we had nonplace to stay. We were referred to one of their sister hotels, which is more expensive and not as nice. During this time, 2 other parties arrived with bookings through other means ( one travel agent and one other booking site) and they didnt' have any reservations either according to Akhils. Not cool. They werent' particularly helpful either.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sohna_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Let's start with the positive side - We went to Akhil Beach Resort because we wanted a pool and garden. The pool is perfect, we loved it, and the gardens are very well cared for. We noticed that the restaurant doesn't get great reviews but to tell the truth, we ate there several times and it was always nice food, the staff in the restaurant were sweethearts, they always had a smile for us. Now for the not so good bits - The garden cottages are rather gloomy, there was very little natural light but we weren't indoors very much. The bed was huge, so big that there were no sheets large enough so we often had a bare mattress at the foot end. We would have probably given Akhil Beach five stars for the pool and garden alone but - and it's a big but - our holiday was affected by the fact that the day after we arrived we were asked to change rooms. We had booked and paid half up front several weeks beforehand and the hotel was about 80% EMPTY so we really didn't think it was necessary to move us. We said no. We were asked to move several times over the next few days. How come they wanted us to go to the garden cottage next to the kitchen with the food smells and no privacy? Did they just want to show a better placed garden cottage to the walk ins? I don't know but I felt as though we were considered to be awkward customers. Eventually we were told we could stay for the time being but move after three weeks - we'd booked a four week stay. We said fine, we'll move to a different hotel for the fourth week - and we did. All in all, I liked Akhil Beach Resort, we met some lovely people there, the restaurant area is circular and everyone ends up talking to everyone else which is nice. They need to sort out the booking system though and they need to realise that guests like to feel valued and if you mess them about you are going to create a bad feeling and get a poor review.

Room Tip: The beds are hard and the pillows are like slabs. We went into Varkala town and bought new pillows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbaraChampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 50 in Varkala
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akhil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akhil Beach Resort

Property: Akhil Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road | Kurakanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#7 Family Hotel in Varkala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Akhil Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you can feel the rhythm of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Akhil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akhil Beach Hotel Varkala
Preeth Beach Hotel
Akhil Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing