We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Place”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We had a very pleasant stay here for 2 nights. Every room will be facing the pool. We had a nice time in pool too. Just walk-able distance to cliff. But, we didn't felt very good at restaurant. May be, the menu and the items should be much more better. Finally, this is just good.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank manu0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anup B, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for enjoying Deshadan Hospitalities.

We are looking forward to serving you even better in your next visit.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    115
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
87
91
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in February. We were a little wary because of some of the earlier reviews, but we had a very pleasant stay, with no complaints. It's an attractive hotel, with all the rooms around the pool. Our room was very pretty, comfortable and clean. Food was OK - as you'd expect in a 3 star hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the manager made a point of coming round and talking to guests at breakfast. One morning we didn't get to breakfast until after it had finished, but they got everything back out and offered us a full breakfast with no problem.
Two small points, the room was quite dark and could have done with more lighting and the tableclothes at breakfast one morning were grubby. Easy things to put right! Overall a great place to stay in Varkala.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloveshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anup B, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Sir,


It was good to read your good experiences about your stay in Deshadan Varkala.

We have taken note on your concerns and we hope necessary remedies will be taken care off to provide even better service during your next visit to Varkala.

Warm Regards



Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

What's great about this place is that its quite homely, VERY close to the beach and market and very friendly managers. BUT do not go here expecting a proper kerala hotel experience.

This was the last stop of our kerala journey, and we timed it with a birthday in the family. Went expecting a nice 3 star experience, but it was more of a guest house. The management and service is nice, but, not what you'd get at a gateway.

Went out to the gateway hotel for dinner and we came back to deshadan with a feeling of missing a great night in the nice starry proper hotel ambience of the gateway!

Its a matter of your choice. If you want a chilled out place closer to the beach go here! A bit Goa shack like !

But if you're going for a family holiday to treat your parents. Choose Something like the Gateway Hotel. It's definitely more pricey, but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anup B, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We are sorry for you as you could not enjoy the best of the ambience of Varkala.

The place Varkala is more or less like mini Goa and we could understand that overall experience was not as per your expectations.

We hope to we can do much better in your next visit to Kerala.

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haryana, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We were on a family vacation and were booked for one night at this hotel. It is not as fancy as a Taj or a Hilton but is definitely above average (BTW there is no Taj or Hilton at Varkala). It was a clean property with good service (could have been better) and very pleasing staff.
The rooms were of good size, well lit, and had a view of the pool. They had hot water connection, power back up and LCD TV.
the hotel has a decent sized pool and a small lawn with hammocks.
Unfortunately we landed at Varkala very late and spent most of our time on the beach which was nearby (approachable by a 5-10 minutes walk through the narrow alleys in the neighbourhood).
The hotel has a tie up with a Kerala Spa located just across the road. My wife was happy with the Spa.
All in all, we were left in want of staying for a little long here!!!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool. You could ask for rooms on the ground floor for closer proximity to poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TQI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anup B, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for mentioning " best place to stay in ".

It gives us lot more confidence to increase the overall image of the group.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow,Bucks,England
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Spent 2 nights here in Jan 2013. Staff were all very helpful and polite. We had a room which was 2 steps from the pool and was comfortable and with good quality fittings. My wife had a touch of Dehli belly whilst here (had on arrival, nothing to do with the Deshaden) and staff were only too happy to provide her with boiled eggs as an evening meal. The name of the hotel is a little misleading as the Deshaden is neither on a cliff or a beach. Both are nearby (a 5 minute walk through some alley short cuts) but are not visable. The choice of food along the cliff top is huge and probably reflects why the hotel doesn;t seem to make a effort with evening meals. Breakfasts are good and overall our stay here was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapphire10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anup B, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your supporting comments.

We are making sure that such comments comes from all our valued guest staying in our property.

Looking forward to serving you again


Warm Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I just visited to this property and I was shocked to see the service and other availability. As per the charges the room was not up to the mark. There was no refrigerator inside the room. Also the Breakfast provided was pathetic. However the people was very helpful and kind but my overall experience was very bad compare to all other property I visited during my kerala Trip

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akhetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Sir,

Firstly please accept our sincere apologizes with regards to your bad experience in our property.

We are trying to get into the actual issues so to make the necessary rectification at the earliest.

Sir, We assure is that such incidents will not occur again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed last week for 4 nights as part of a 3 week exploration of Kerala. We originally only booked for a night but kept on extending as we enjoyed it so much. Abiliash and his team bend over backwards to look after you and go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure you have a good time. Its a small hotel and feels friendly and intimate. Its a pleasure to have a lovely pool to sit by and as others have said, its only a short walk to the main shopping and restaurants area on north cliff. The rooms are a bit dark but we found that was the case all over Kerala. Abilash organised a mini bus to take us to an incredible temple festival and also took us to visit a couple of local ashrams which we thoroughly enjoyed. I can't speak highly enough about my experience there and I would definitely go back. And it was great value compared to other hotels for what you get.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the reception but even those rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Sir,

There is nothing like recommending the property.

It is the best of the marketing system which always stands out as we are sharing our good experiences with all other guest who are planning to visit Varkala for their visit.

Thank you for your great support and looking forward to serving you again.


Warm Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#20 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Property: Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Address: Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Varkala
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 200 metres from the Papanasam cliff at Varkala, Deshadan offers the best of everything. Be it the cuisine, the facilities or the comforts. At Deshadan you can explore a wide variety of holiday pleasures. Once you have had your fill of the beach choose to laze around in the deluxe A/C rooms facing the pool. Rest assured with mouth watering dishes with smiling service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deshadan Cliff And Beach Resort
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Hotel Varkala
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing