We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of our tour of Southern India”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Piries
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best of our tour of Southern India”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My son and I stayed 4 nights at Deshadan in mid June 2013 and believe it was the highlight of our three week southern india tour. The rooms are fantastic; clean comfortable and well maintained and all located just a step from the beautiful central swimming pool. The restaurant was a joy; even though it was almost monsoon season the two chefs in the kitchen were on call all day for snacks or room service and the meals on offer were absolutely superb! The wait staff were extra helpful with recommendations and their ability to acquire an ice cold bottle of beer for sun-downers was amazing. Likewise on arrival we had no change for the TukTuk cab but reception paid our driver without a second thought (and also without any comment or reminder to us!)
Great place, great hotel and even more impressive staff: reception, restaurant and the chefs!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for appreciating the services of DESHADAN.


We at Deshadan give more importance to the quality standard of service and food.

Looking forward to serving you soon at our other properties of DESHADAN group.

Warm Regards

Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    114
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
85
91
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Deshadan resort i had stayed two month back with my family for a week end.Most wonderful things i feel about the resort is the design.All room are like cottage structure on the side of big pool.From every room we have only just a foot step distance to the pool.The food is soo nice and gust staff relation is so brilliant .Good car parking area and free wifi service. Over all its good worth to the money

Room Tip: All the room are good and maintain same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayapal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Sir,

We really appreciate the way you have highlighted the best of DESHADAN VARKALA.

Looking forward for your revisit and we also hope you can spread your good experiences with your near and dear ones,

Warm Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here 02 nights and satisfied with the hotel. The room is clean, the bed is comfortable, the pool and garden are designed very nice. It is also located near by the cliff about 10 minutes-walking. The most impression to us is that the staffs was very nice and helpful. They always tried to be helpful and please the customers.The breakfast was including the hotel cost but they was willing to cook for us the menu-different-breakfast that we asked for (cause we could not eat more curry or sandwich with butter anymore). Atlthough we stayed there in the off-season and there were not many things to do, We still feel happy with the kindness of the hotel's staffs. Thanks alot !

Room Tip: The up-floor-room is perfect for a familly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoang-Lua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank a lot for your great comments.

We request you to kindly convey your good experiences of Deshadan Munnar with your near and dear ones.

Warm Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We just spent one night at the resort...the stay was pleasant except for the food, may be cause we are vegetarians...the USP of this resort is the names given to each room, instead of numbers. There decor and fruniture of the rooms are designed as per the name given to the room, e.g. there was a room named Jaisalmer, the interiors were designed to match the name. The staff was courteous and cooperative. we had opted for a cottage with two rooms and the ac of one room was not working, so they offered and insisted us to shift to another room for just sleeping and let our luggage be in the cottage but since we had setlled in the cottage and tired, we dint opt for it. here would like to appreciate the efforts put by the staff to make to repair the ac and also their courteousness in shifting to another room...rooms are not very spacious but provide good facilities. i would like to suggest them to improve on their food. the resort is walkable distance from beach

Room Tip: Ask them for room name and then decide which one you want to opt
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foreverdeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing us with a detailed experience of Deshadan Varkala.
We have taken note on the shortcomings as we are making sure such comments does not arise again.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards

Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We went in the off season and had a lovely stay. The price was a bargain due to the off season rates, and the rooms were very comfortable and tasteful. The pool was lovely and always spotlessly clean. The wifi was free and available everywhere. The food and beers were good and the staff were always helpful and friendly. The location was fine also. The only minor problem was the laundry was pricey and came back smelling of a campfire so we weren't charged which was very reasonable.
Only good things to stay about this lovely relaxing resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank howsey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anup B, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We are please to acknowledge your mail as it gives a clear message of Deshadan Cliff and Beach Resort as the best resort to relax and feel comfortable.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We went off season and had the whole hotel to ourselves. What luxury! Staff were friendly, beers cold, good food from the kitchen too. Rooms were comfortable and a good size, modern and with remote control air con.
It's about 5mins walk to the main tourist area (the cliff shops / restaurants /beach). This is a good thing as it's quiet and peaceful. .
Don't forget to bring your cash, nearest atm requires 10mins drive (same no matter where you stayed).
Thanks deshadan for a great end to our holiday in India.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbourneVEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anup B, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank for sharing your great experiences with all of us.

We look forward to showcase such experiences with all our guest at all times.

Please do visit our other properties in Kerala.

Warm Regards

Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

we enjoed and staff was very good room also is good and breakfast was also very nice,

next time if we go to varkla we will stay in this resort, swiming pool also very nice, romms bathroom was also cln

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Gordhandas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anup B, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your wonderful comments.

We are looking forward to receive such comments from all our valued guests.

Warm Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 50 in Varkala
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Property: Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Address: Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Varkala
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 200 metres from the Papanasam cliff at Varkala, Deshadan offers the best of everything. Be it the cuisine, the facilities or the comforts. At Deshadan you can explore a wide variety of holiday pleasures. Once you have had your fill of the beach choose to laze around in the deluxe A/C rooms facing the pool. Rest assured with mouth watering dishes with smiling service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Hotel Varkala
Deshadan Cliff And Beach Resort
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing