We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Strategically located close to the cliff, with all rooms facing the swimming pool and a very friendly staff, this small holiday place is ideal for those seeking a break away from the humdrum. The resort also has an Ayurvedic associate within its premises. This offers even more convenience for those seeking the rejuvenating, refreshing effects of a good massage.
Ask the chef to cook up some local dishes rather than settle for what you are used to.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaitriWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    114
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
85
91
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We have just returned from our latest visit to the Deshadan, we have been going to Varkala every year for almost ten years now and knowing nearly all the other accomodation in town can honestly say this is amongst the best. If your budget can stretch to a hotel with a pool then this is the place to stay. Spotless rooms a/c tv etc, great food but most of all fantastic friendly staff who can't do enough for you. It's a small hotel with a quiet location only 5 mins stroll to the beach & cliff top restraunts. A big thank you once again to Dileesh & all the other staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sky5Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerala
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

My family and me had an amazing time in this beach resort. The Varkala beach lies very close to this resort. There are a very few rooms in this resort and hence the quality of service was very personalized and much beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndavrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwhelli
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

As a guy who even on holiday still finds it hard to relax I found this hotel tried its best to help me fufill that task . I must admit there are cheaper options in Varkala but you get what you pay for and the Deshadan is at the top of a handfull of the best hotels to stay at while visiting Varkala, and after paying so much to travel there why settle for 2nd best on the accomadation. The staff are all well trained by their captain of the ship Abilash who as a host always goes that extra mile to make sure all his guests are catered for, and after several chats with him it seems his hotel is still work in progress with Abilash looking to cut out some of them little problems you may find staying in Indian Hotels ( which comes with training the staff right) but over my two stays there this Feb/March we loved every minute with the pool being a must. please also try the food the currys are first class. So if visiting Varkala make it your first choice we did arriving at 5am in the morning without much notice and within a hour we were given breakfast and showers until a room became empty for us, I just hope that one day again we get the chance to Visit the Deshadan the no1 hotel for Varkala

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evertonian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

This hotel provided comfortable air conditioned rooms with staff who were friendly and helpful. The hotel is a short walk from the beach and has a lovely swimming pool with jacuzzi.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elljay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
150 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

This is a small resort about a five minute walk from the cliff which overlooks the lovely sandy beach. The rooms were quite large but could have done with more comfortable chairs. Saying that we didn't spend much time in the room because there was a reasonable sized pool with loungers and umbrellas and also a garden area for sitting in just outside the bedroom door. Bedding and towels are changed daily if required.

The small restaurant had a good choice of reasonably priced dishes, Indian, Chinese and European. Try the chicken shashlic - delicious! Good choice at breakfast with eggs cooked to order. There was free internet access and the manager and staff were very helpful.

We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We hit on the Deshadan by the luck of a good taxi from the station, and knew straight away that we'd struck gold. A dozen quiet bungalows round a pool, a friendly and flexible manager, an excellent restaurant, all within 5 minutes walk from the clifftop strip and the beach. Within a couple of days we'd made wonderful friends, established a satisfying rythm of lavish breakfasts, mornings by the pool, afternoons out and about, sunsets on the beach, and a choice of quiet restaurant evenings or the clifftop nightlife. After some hairy 'Rough Guide' recommended hotels in Calicut and Thrissur, this was Heaven. Only suggestions for improvement would be to have better English speaking among the staff apart from the manage (excellent), and to have quicker service in the restaurant. Only significant disappointment was a badly handled early morning phone call from Bombay. Fortunately it wasn't urgent.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 50 in Varkala
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#8 of 50 in Varkala
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Property: Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Address: Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Varkala
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 200 metres from the Papanasam cliff at Varkala, Deshadan offers the best of everything. Be it the cuisine, the facilities or the comforts. At Deshadan you can explore a wide variety of holiday pleasures. Once you have had your fill of the beach choose to laze around in the deluxe A/C rooms facing the pool. Rest assured with mouth watering dishes with smiling service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Hotel Varkala
Deshadan Cliff And Beach Resort
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing