We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
V Resorts - The Bohemian Masala
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$34
US$30
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magnolia Guesthouse(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pulari Gardens(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$26
US$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Clafouti Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$34
US$30
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$39
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
69
17
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
17
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmud hutgames roomorganic foodgreen oasisyoga hutsound sleepyoga masterthe cottagesthe cliffprivate porchsurrounded by treesmorning yogasuper placeayurvedic centremasalaquiet spotayurvedic treatments
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Vasu runs an excellent yoga school. There are alot of yoga schools to choose from in varkala but if you are looking for a highly skilled friendly teacher in a lovely yoga shala then chose this one. The classes are great value and they have yoga mats you can borrow

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank DublinGuy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
553366, Owner at V Resorts - The Bohemian Masala, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. It's very motivating to hear such positive feedback. Hope you will visit us again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I didn't stay at the Bohemian Masala as it was a little pricey, but I experienced all of the other facilities on offer. Having just come from the Sivananda ashram in Neyyar Dam, I was eager to continue with my daily yoga classes and Vasudev (the teacher at the BM) didn't disappoint. His classes were excellent - Sivananda based with lots of variations. I also tried the 100 rp vegetarian buffet lunch on offer - healthy and great value for money, but the main attraction for me was the Ayurvedic treatments. They were, admittedly more expensive than those on offer at other places in Varkala, but I was very impressed - beautiful long massages by Sindu, a very competent therapist. I trained as a massage therapist, so I'm pretty fussy, but I'd really recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pisceanmoonrunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
553366, Owner at V Resorts - The Bohemian Masala, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. It's very motivating to hear such positive feedback. Hope you will visit us again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I go to Varkala every year for a few days and always stay in this lovely peaceful garden in a cool and most tasteful and comfortable hut, made of stamped earth and deccorated with tribal paintings and silk sarees. I go to yoga with the great teacher Vasudev, have masages in the very cosy little ayurvedic center by Soma.
After a sunny day on the beach and the hustle bustle of the cliff it is just fantastic to turn back to this haven were every detail is taken care of and you are taken care of by wonderful and helpful staff. I just love this place, it is one of a kind.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
553366, Owner at V Resorts - The Bohemian Masala, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. It's very motivating to hear such positive feedback. Hope you will visit us again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This place is amazing! The huts are AMAZING, the staff are AMAZING, the atmosphere is AMAZING, the food is AMAZING and the price is AMAZING! This place comes highly recommended! We started a Yoga course which I also highly recommend. I am not the sort of person to write reviews, infact, this is the first review I've ever written.

Room Tip: Choose the universal huts
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
553366, Owner at V Resorts - The Bohemian Masala, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. It's very motivating to hear such positive feedback. Hope you will visit us again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My friends actually stayed here, but I was able to hang out for a day. Here are my impressions: November/December is virtually empty, except for lots of local birds, mosquitos and other critters, and a super-duper sweet staff. The weather is perfect then, too. They do provide mosquito nets and fans, but you might want to have some repellant of your choice around. It really is like "paradise on paradise" like ahneechu said. Gorgeous property. There are daily yoga classes, and they'll be adding a restaurant soon. Anything else you need is sure to be found close by. It is more like an eco-lodge type place (the staff guy reminded us that building with mud is very good in ayurveda), so if critters in the bathroom bother you, this might not be the best place for you. I, for one, will most definitely stay here when I'm able to return to Varkala.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mixchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
553366, Owner at V Resorts - The Bohemian Masala, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. It's very motivating to hear such positive feedback. Hope you will visit us again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews