We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The heart of Varkala”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Varkala Marine Palace
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The heart of Varkala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here for about a week and it is just great. It is the little touches - fresh towels, hot water, lots of candles and fresh incense, friendly and helpful staff - we could go on but I am sure you get the idea!

Good example of the service - we liked playing badminton at their court but it was in need of a bit of a tidy up. Seeing we were putting the court to use, Bhaska immediately had it completely spruced up.

The restaurant is also excellent - and has really friendly staff and great food.

If the management is reading this - thanks for a great stay - hopefully see you again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeralaBabu, Owner at Varkala Marine Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
That was quite a big compliment and we are very much amused and happy!!. Thank you very much for your encouragement and we promise to provide the best we can in future as well for beautiful vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    80
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
186
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

I found varkala more beautiful then kovalam n varkala marine palace icing on the cake. The location of the resort as well as restaurants view to the sea is just breathtaking with awesome food. N bhaskar the man who handles everythng is very supportive.....thank you varkala for your b'ful memories.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jainish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Really lovely place on the seafront, with the best restaurant in town and the friendliest staff. Bhasker and vishnu couldnt have been more helpful, even to the extent of going back to the airport for me to retrieve my luggage that air india had neglected to bring on the same plane as me. Had a room with neither sea view nor air con, but the rooms were lovely, spotless, and good value

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ally3188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed in one of the rooms without a sea view. It was built from timber reclaimed from old palaces, and oozed character. The bathroom was good and clean, with running hot water. Sadly there was no air conditioning in the room, but we were provided with fans, and it was perfectly bearable. The staff were very helpful, too. The hotel also has a good restaurant, with a wonderful sea view.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olly567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Bhasker and Vishnu were friendly, helpful, honest and trustworthy. Close to Beach Road and the beach used for Hindu ceremonies, the hotel is walking distance to the main tourist beach during the day, and can be accessed via the helipad at night (bring a torch). The restaurant isn’t part of the hotel, but has a comprehensive menu, similar to most of the restaurants on the cliff. I had one of the traditional cottage rooms (upstairs). Very spacious rooms, spotless modern bathroom, cleaned daily by friendly staff. It was lovely having my own day bed and coming back to a clean room, a lit candle on my balcony and the beautiful scent of incense. If you want to get away from the standard cliff fare, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misskrissMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

It’s no accident this is one of the top rated hotels in Varkala, given its on the beach and may be the only one at varkala to have that distinction. Its not a glitzy place - even with the name palace, more like a small hotel by the beach. The open air restaurant is at the front so you can spend hours sipping a drink and watching the sea, the rooms are a few feet away some of which are facing the sea. The beach is comparatively clean and not too crowded. There is also a temple at one end with worshippers and lots and lots of tourists. There are tons of hotels in all price ranges on the cliff or a little way away from the beach but the marine palaces is right at the beach, a few dozen steps from the restaurant and you are in the water. I made the booking at short notice and Bhaskar (the manager) was helpful, he and Vishnu were very helpful throughout, The room was a very pleasant surprise. Though it didn’t face the sea, and its a wooden cottage the look and the way it was made up was quiet nice, though not a luxury place they take great care of the rooms and you have mosquito nets, a king sized bed, a fan (no ac but a fan is all you need). no TV but who needs one when you are by the beach? One small hitch i had was the room was connected with the one besides it with the connecting door locked but if someone spoke even slightly loud we could hear them. it was not such a major thing as we hardly spent time at the hotel but it could be counted as a minus. The food at the restaurant is excellent and much priced lower than some of the cliff restaurants, the staff is ever smiling and helpful. On my last day on the way to the airport they called me to say i'd forgotten one of my cameras, and then Vishnu drove half way to meet me and hand it over, something they could have easily said no to. It’s this helpful attitude and location that make it a winner. I definitely want to come back to this place one day for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhi2001_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

The Varkala Marine Palace was booked as our stay for the 3 day long hiatus + 2 days at Alleppey houseboat .Little did I know before landing here that it was a different treat all together.Truly a Marine Palace as the name suggest however not as grand as u imagine palaces to be

Our agent , Antilog Vacations , had arranged for pick up from Kochi station what was a start to a great kerala tour under reasonable budget.Since our stay , sightseeing etc was completely booked , we had a flexibility to concentrate only on our basic purpose-Sightseeing in Kerala

The Varkala Marine Palace is located on the famous Papanasam beach near the 2,000-year old Janardana Swami Temple. We later learnt that it was one of the most important Vaishnavaite shrine in India and often referred to as Dakshin Kashi. Moreover the Papanasam beach is considered to be an abode of holy water. Various Ayurvedic treatment centers have also sprung up bordering the beach and which are excellent options for rejuvenation and refreshment packages.

The room we got was located on the second floor and was spacious at 50 sq mt. Special touches like candle and incense burning on our obverse was a special gesture by the hotel guys. The linen was soiled when we arrived but upon complaint it was changed almost immediately. The staff was very polite and obedient and heeded to our whims and fancies whole heartedly.

The restaurant was around 5 mins walk from our rooms. On the way the gushing sound of the waves created a perfect setting for the candlelit dinner. The fishes and the prawns were the main attractions of the buffet and the plethora of fishes made our stay food-wise worthwhile. They also provided room service at a very nominal extra cost. Thus all in all the Varkala Marine Palace was an excellent place in which we thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay and hence the same is recommended.

Our stay was arrnged in Houseboat for Alleppey for which I would be writing a piece again later

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.8 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varkala Marine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varkala Marine Palace

Property: Varkala Marine Palace
Address: Varkala Marine Palace Pvt Ltd Papanasam Beach Janardhanapuram,, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#3 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#4 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the prime properties as far as Varkala is concerned owing to our location. We are rightly on Papanasam beach, ideally in between the north & South Cliffs. We do have road accessibility inside to our resort. We offers 6 sea face extra spacious (suites) high end rooms, with private kitchen, attached toilets, balconies overlooking sea, running hot water as the specialties. Three rooms are on top floor, made in traditional Kerala style wooden cottage types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Varkala Marine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varkala Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Varkala
Varkala Marine Palace Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing