We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for Kerala holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Varkala Marine Palace
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Lier,, Norway
1 review
“The perfect place for Kerala holiday”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My Norwegian family and friends(9 people) stayed here during Christmas and New year. We where very happy with the hotel, premises and restaurant. The place is ideally located close the beach, and the rooms are spacious and cleaned every day with new towel/blankets(++). Aircondition was not missed as the fans and mosquito nets did the job well and made the whole experience more Indian. Bhasker and his crew are friendliness themselves and they did everything possible to make our stay perfect. For many of our group this was their first Indian experience. The unique possibility to come back to the hotel to relax, read or have a nice meal was highly appreciated after interesting, busy but sometimes challenging Indian holiday experiences.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    81
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
188
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new delhi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Having been to Goa and Puri for beach destinations for Delhi wallahs, we were looking for a new beach destination. So we braved the 5 hour flight with two little kids in tow, and are now so thankful for it! Varkala was so much more relaxing and Varkala Marine Palace is set amidst nature beautifully. We had a corner bedroom downstairs, and were surrounded by gorgeous greenery from two sides. The ocean could be heard always and the deck restuarant overlooked the ocean too. The place was a revelation in our tourism experience, as its simplicity and close to nature feel was different from all the boutique kinda places we have stayed. If simplicity, close to nature feel and relaxation is what you want, varkala will be blissful.
We also had the manager Bhasker organize a elephant farm visit for us and a backwaters ride to the golden isle island. Wonderful kerala elements while living on the beach for a week. The cliffside is a short walk and has lovely restuarants.
Speaking of restuarants the Marine Palace restuarant has yum Malabari Fish curry, grilled prawns and fish in banana leaf with coconut rice. The lemon mint is awesome to drink too!
The beach is busy with fishermen activity in the morning, which is super interesting for kids.
The highlight for me was the evening visit to Janardhanswamy temple nearby, where the evening prayers were done with amazing musical instruments and the whole temple was lit with diyas in the kerala style. Spiritual bliss along with nature and relaxation. What more does one want?!

Room Tip: Corner ground floor is surrounded with trees, and top floors have all wooden interiors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here for about a week and it is just great. It is the little touches - fresh towels, hot water, lots of candles and fresh incense, friendly and helpful staff - we could go on but I am sure you get the idea!

Good example of the service - we liked playing badminton at their court but it was in need of a bit of a tidy up. Seeing we were putting the court to use, Bhaska immediately had it completely spruced up.

The restaurant is also excellent - and has really friendly staff and great food.

If the management is reading this - thanks for a great stay - hopefully see you again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeralaBabu, Owner at Varkala Marine Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
That was quite a big compliment and we are very much amused and happy!!. Thank you very much for your encouragement and we promise to provide the best we can in future as well for beautiful vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

I found varkala more beautiful then kovalam n varkala marine palace icing on the cake. The location of the resort as well as restaurants view to the sea is just breathtaking with awesome food. N bhaskar the man who handles everythng is very supportive.....thank you varkala for your b'ful memories.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jainish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Really lovely place on the seafront, with the best restaurant in town and the friendliest staff. Bhasker and vishnu couldnt have been more helpful, even to the extent of going back to the airport for me to retrieve my luggage that air india had neglected to bring on the same plane as me. Had a room with neither sea view nor air con, but the rooms were lovely, spotless, and good value

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ally3188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed in one of the rooms without a sea view. It was built from timber reclaimed from old palaces, and oozed character. The bathroom was good and clean, with running hot water. Sadly there was no air conditioning in the room, but we were provided with fans, and it was perfectly bearable. The staff were very helpful, too. The hotel also has a good restaurant, with a wonderful sea view.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olly567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Bhasker and Vishnu were friendly, helpful, honest and trustworthy. Close to Beach Road and the beach used for Hindu ceremonies, the hotel is walking distance to the main tourist beach during the day, and can be accessed via the helipad at night (bring a torch). The restaurant isn’t part of the hotel, but has a comprehensive menu, similar to most of the restaurants on the cliff. I had one of the traditional cottage rooms (upstairs). Very spacious rooms, spotless modern bathroom, cleaned daily by friendly staff. It was lovely having my own day bed and coming back to a clean room, a lit candle on my balcony and the beautiful scent of incense. If you want to get away from the standard cliff fare, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misskrissMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Varkala
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varkala Marine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varkala Marine Palace

Property: Varkala Marine Palace
Address: Varkala Marine Palace Pvt Ltd Papanasam Beach Janardhanapuram,, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#3 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#4 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the prime properties as far as Varkala is concerned owing to our location. We are rightly on Papanasam beach, ideally in between the north & South Cliffs. We do have road accessibility inside to our resort. We offers 6 sea face extra spacious (suites) high end rooms, with private kitchen, attached toilets, balconies overlooking sea, running hot water as the specialties. Three rooms are on top floor, made in traditional Kerala style wooden cottage types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Varkala Marine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varkala Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Varkala
Varkala Marine Palace Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing