We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cliché but true... "Home away from Home"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Varkala Marine Palace
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A cliché but true... "Home away from Home"”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We booked Marine Palace after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor!
By the end of our 3 night stay, our hearts ached leaving this place.

The restaurant has beautiful views of the beach(not on the cliff).
The staff is extremely friendly.

Note: The resort doesn't have AC, Wifi(only in the restaurant) and TV.
These things did matter to us in the beginning. But by the end of our stay, it all just felt like home!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohanawtani88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    81
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
188
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Beautiful Resort with a terrace overlooking the sea.
Here we wanted to stay 4 or 5 nights.
We got a very nice large room, nicely furnished with fridge, kettle, no air conditioning but some standing fans, no wifi and no TV.
Nice bathroom and a lovely terrace with table and deckchairs at the bungalow.
The major drawback for which we only stayed one night:   we had a room in a wooden bungalow where the walls with the neighbors were paper thin.
We could hear every cough, every word, it was like the neighborgs were in our room and the people next to us were certainly not noisy.

This review is made taking into account the Indian hotel standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Set on the beach overlooking the Arabian sea, you will not find another hotel with the same perfect location on Papanasam beach. Start the day having breakfast, watching the local fishermen landing their catch on the beach, the Hindu community carrying out spiritualist ceremonies and making offerings to the sea, and most days dolphins swimming quite close to the shore. The owner Babu is the perfect host, nothing is too much trouble for him. He'll organize pick ups, trips, and give good advice on where and what to visit. The rooms are cleaned every day with fresh bedding and towels. The room we stayed in, was decorated in a typical Keralan style, but as it's set amongst trees, you sometimes get some of the local wildlife to stay (millipedes, tiny lizards). Even in the heat, the room was quite comfortable with just the ceiling fan to circulate the air, as the windows are in the shade (making the room slightly darker and cooler), as you'd expect in a hot country. Possibly not to everybody's liking, but with the superb location, and fantastic owner, we would not hesitate in staying again. Thank you Babu.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank barrypcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Not for everyone, if you like modern "western" facilities, 4 or 5 star accommodation, then you'll need a more laid back approach, and embrace the virtues of Varkala Marine Palace. Set in amongst trees, the beach and natural environment, you have to enjoy and accommodate the quirks of Varkala and Kerala. The rooms are clean (room cleaned, bedding and towels changed every day), the ceiling fan is adequate to keep you cool in the hottest temperatures, and just in case there is an additional free standing fan. However if you can relax without the additional fan, all you'll be able to hear is the waves from the Arabian Sea crashing onto the beach. The owner "Babu" is both charming, and exceptionally helpful to all your needs and requirements. The position of the Varkala Marine Palace is unique, in that it is the only hotel with direct access to the beach. Would I stay again....... tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules2460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights over new year with my family. We had 2 interconnecting rooms surrounded by a wonderful verandah. The rooms were lovely - really unique and the beds were big and comfortable. I was a bit worried about the lack of a/c but it wasn't needed at all as the evenings were nice and cool.

Every evening the candles on the verandah were lit creating a magical atmosphere with the coconut trees overhead and the Arabian Sea in the background.

Breakfast was amazing - something for everyone - and the best coffee of our trip. This was made even more special by spotting dolphins one morning as we ate.

The staff went out of their way to help us - it was my son's 10th birthday when we were there and they were able to organise a birthday cake with his name on it which he was delighted about. They were able to organise massages and recommended a great restaurant in Varkala town.

The Varkala Marine Palace is a unique place to stay - a real find.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheena0115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This really is the best spot in Varkala, it's quieter and much more pleasant than the other 'touristy' end of town. The rooms are large and comfy and the verandah meant we could sit and watch the world go by. The staff were very knowledgeable, helpful and pleasant. We had a great relaxing finish to our Indian adventure at the Marine Palace.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor on the corner, quiet and excellent views and double the verandah spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerniceMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Varkala Marine Palace is, by far, located at the most privileged spot at Varkala's seafront. Right by the Papanasam beach and still a short walk from the very busy and rather overly touristic "North Cliff" area. Immaculately clean with daily service of linen change. Nevertheless, what makes this place so special are the remarkably cordial hosts and staff, led by the very efficient and always smiley Mr Bhasker; they all make you feel like home! The restaurant is exquisite (fresh fish is daily available) with beautiful sea view, probably one of the best in Varkala. We feel very lucky to have chosen Varkala Marine Palace for our stay and very much look forward to returning as soon as practically possible!

Room Tip: The front rooms with sea-views are certainly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athanasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varkala Marine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varkala Marine Palace

Property: Varkala Marine Palace
Address: Varkala Marine Palace Pvt Ltd Papanasam Beach Janardhanapuram,, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#3 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#4 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the prime properties as far as Varkala is concerned owing to our location. We are rightly on Papanasam beach, ideally in between the north & South Cliffs. We do have road accessibility inside to our resort. We offers 6 sea face extra spacious (suites) high end rooms, with private kitchen, attached toilets, balconies overlooking sea, running hot water as the specialties. Three rooms are on top floor, made in traditional Kerala style wooden cottage types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Varkala Marine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varkala Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Varkala
Varkala Marine Palace Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing