We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made our holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karthika Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karthika Plaza Resort
Ranked #9 of 96 Varkala B&B and Inns
leeds
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Made our holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We loved this place so much! It is like home from home. Rajesh really looks after his guests very well and had set up a great little hotel. The rooms are spotless, a lot cleaner than some in the 4 star hotels we stayed in! You have everything you need-hot water, we opted for room with fan and air con, there was a communal fridge to share on each floor and Rajesh takes you and collects you from the beach/restaurants each time you want to go. You really could not ask for more and this nightly rate is very reasonable. A lot of people seem to stay there as long term guests and I don't blame them, we felt so comfortable at this place we really did not want to leave. Rajesh brother also helps him run the hotel and he is great too. A really cheerful, happy guy and you get the impression from each of them that nothing is too much trouble. One evening Rajesh took us in the car a few kms along the coast so we could walk back and see lots of different sights on the way. This was greats nf definately worth doing if you fancy getting abut of exercise and walking some of the varkarla food off.
We loved our stay here and are hoping to go back again next year, cannot recommend highly enough

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niffaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
67
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at the Karthika Plaza from the 10/01/13 to 20/02/13. K P was recommended to us by acquaintance whom had stayed there. We also read the reviews on Tripadvisor, we were not disappointed.
Each day started with B/fast on the varanda, which we enjoyed very much.
Rajesh will go that extra distance with help and advice to visit places of interest.He will book your train ticket/taxi if you decided to explore Kerala even get your Indian sim card for your phone.
Going to the beach or out for an evening meal a car is always available to take you and pick you up. It is like having a private chuffeur.
Thank you Rajesh for booking our day trip on the houseboat on the backwaters of Kerala. it was a relaxing day on our annivasary. The cake you bought to celebrate our special day was very thoughtful of you.
Nothing more to add about K P as everything has been said by previous guest.
We enjoyed our stay so much, we booked our room in advance for 2014 before we departed to England.

Would recommend Karthika Plaza Resort.
Bob and Amina from West Yorkshire England.

Room Tip: A/C room required as it is hot in January/February. Rooms are good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Want to be treated like a king or queen? Then I suggest you try the Karthika Plaza. Just returned from a six week stay there and I cannot recall such service in any hotel I have used. And believe me I have used many in my extensive travels throughout Asia and the world. The exceptional service starts before you even arrive at the hotel. A complimentary airport pickup - unique in Varkala - delivers you into the welcoming arms of Rajesh and his small but eager and efficient team. From there on in it's plain sailing. The rooms whether aircon or non or one of the three more luxurious are all kept meticulously clean - in six weeks I did not encounter an insect - very unusual in a hot country. I did have a little visitor from the garden - a beautiful chameleon - but they don't count as pests - the opposite in fact as they have a voracious appetite for insects. And speaking of the garden - it's a beautiful peaceful area with many tropical plants. The hotel may not be on the cliff but that is no bad thing as you feel more part of the real Varkala being in close proximity to the very friendly local people. And anyway the hotel "chauffeur"will have you down on the beach or take you back within minutes. This service is not just restricted to beach runs as I had to make trips to a dentist in Varkala and Rajesh insisted on driving me and also waiting ( on one occasion for almost an hour)to drive me back. I could go on and on about how good this place is but other reviewers have beaten me to it. So read the other reviews and make your own mind up.
Thanks Rajesh and everyone at the Karthika for the fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

If you want to stay away from the crowds at Varkala clif then this might be a good option. Friendly place with clean rooms and just a few km. from the cliff. Rooms are good value. And the distance from the cliff is never a problem because the staff will take you there and pick you up after dinner.

Room Tip: We loved the rooms at the 1st. floor since they have good views at the green garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at the Karthika Plaza from the/1/2/2013 to the 9/1/2013 then we went travelling for 6 days returning to the Karthika Plaza on the 16/1/2013 we checked out early on the morning of the 20/1/2013. as other people have already said everyone here is so helpful & nothing is too much trouble even our 6 day trip was helped by Rajesh who booked accommodation for us & suggested places to visit etc he even picked us up at the railway station at 9pm on our return. it is difficult to expand on what other people have already said because we have all had similar experiences I second everything positive that people have mentioned you really are cared for at the Karthika & if you are an independent traveller to this region I would highly recoommenda stay at the Karthika Plaza we most certainly would stay again. Brian & Linda Leeds England

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BandlovelyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Rajesh and his team are there for you whatever you need, wherever you need to go and whenever you need them. This included chasing about for Doctors and a Hospital visit when one of us was ill.

The property is a decent walk from the Cliff/Beach but you will be dropped off and picked up as required.

Breakfast is great and the room air-con is quiet and the garden areas etc are immaculate.

Rajesh and the staff deserve the praise in this and all the other reviews and we wish them all well for the future....

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We, two sisters, stayed in Varkala from Jan 5th to 10th, 2013 after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. Everything was as described and we really loved it. Rajesh and his team are friendly and kind people. We were welcomed and felt really cared for. We moved from the front to one of the new, more spacious back rooms which have AC, a fridge and a new bath. We preferred not staying at the beach in Varkala, but to be in the green quiet of Karthika Plaza. Walking to touristy places from there is somewat adventurous because of the busy roads, but we did not even need to take a rikshaw to go anywhere as we were driven and picked up by Rajesh and his colleague everywhere without extra cost at any time and even on short notice. We only paid a little taxi fare for one of our trips which Rajesh recommended and organized, i.e. a boat trip to a temple on an island with a canoe and a walk back to Varkala from Kappil Beach along the coastline. We loved our breakfast on the terrace, the chili omelettes as much as the Indian breakfast. We learned much about the surroundings and Indian life and would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EABCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Eva Luna
Casa Eva Luna
#1 of 96 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Keratheeram Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shiva Garden
Shiva Garden
#18 of 96 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jickys Nest
Jickys Nest
#13 of 96 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karthika Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karthika Plaza Resort

Property: Karthika Plaza Resort
Address: Punnamoodu Papanasam Road | Wacher Mukku, Kairali Nagar, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation is very important to any Tourist. We provide you the service of top notch accommodation based on your budget and preference. Comfortable stay and safe accommodation facilities play a vital role when you are away from home and looks for maximum comfort at reasonable rates. You are assured of the best and most professional services and value for money at Karthika Plaza Resort. Located near Varkala Papanasm Beach Secure Complex FREE HIGH SPEED WiFi INSIDE ROOM AND GARDEN. Excellence Award Winner (twice) We Care Seniors Beautiful Garden- Rich Greenery Long Veranda Connected Family Rooms AC Non AC Rooms with Attached Bath and Garden View Complementary breakfast Meals On Request We promote Organic Food Flexible Check In/Out Sightseeing Tour- Car Sharing Possible Ayurveda and Dental Treatment Preventive Health Care Check Up 24 hr Care And Support Air Port Transfer(charge) House Boat Booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Karthika Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karthika Plaza Tourist Hotel Varkala
Karthika Plaza Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing