We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Basic As It Gets”
Review of Hotel Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Shanti
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Khajuraho
Reviewed 1 April 2013

It can't get any more basic than this. You get a floor, four walls and a ceiling - so to speak! What's in the room is tangible and and yours. Forget intangibles like service - staff are self absorbed and busy with themselves. Just stay here for a place to sleep and that's all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuzDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shanti
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

A good budget hotel.Hotel is clean and peaceful.close to Khajuraho temples. Hotel is quite safe and family hotel. free driver room is also avalable. while in Khajuraho avoid cheap hotels and try to stay in good hotel do not see cost.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are good.
Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank s j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This hotel is situated right in the heart of the Khajuraho city. It is opposite the Shiv Sagar lake and see the western temples from the balcony of the hotel.

We stayed in the first floor of the hotel and the room was near the hotel restaurant. We went during the Dec so did not require AC rooms. The rooms in the ground floor and basement do have AC rooms too. The room rates are not fixed do bargain and they will give you a good discount.

The room that we stayed in were big and had a hot water supply from morning 7 to 10 AM and then 7PM to 10PM in the night. You need to ask the hotel reception to change the bed sheets everyday. The bathroom are clean.

This is a basic hotel so do not expect any luxury.

Room Tip: Do not take the rooms near the restaurant as it will always be noisy.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atish15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I stay here a week back and found it a really good place to stay in terms of cleanliness, the deal, the location and the service. Its a small walk away from the Western group of temples (which you can see from the hotel's restaurant balcony). Because of this hotel's location we could make it to the light and sound show in the temple complex in the evening (6.30pm to 7.30pm - english show and 7.40pm onwards - hindi show). We were picked up from the station and were taken care of well. Food is also good in the restaurant!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

it's a good hotel good service Excellent Management, I took a double room way at the back with a large window overlooking the garden and a field. It was heaven waking to birdsong in the morning instead of traffic noise. This was the cleanest hotel and best value yet of my two weeks in India, the bathroom tiles actually shined and I was given Soap for the first time! There was loud voices of staff early in the morning so if sleeping in is important, beware, however it wasn't an issue for me. I became sick for 4 days after eating at Blue Sky restaurant so I was very happy to have this nice room to recover as I spent the most part of 4 days inside. I paid 600 INR for my room so bargain!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satya Narayana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I took a double room way at the back with a large window overlooking the garden and a field. It was heaven waking to birdsong in the morning instead of traffic noise.

This was the cleanest hotel and best value yet of my two weeks in India, the bathroom tiles actually shined and I was given Soap for the first time!

There was loud voices of staff early in the morning so if sleeping in is important, beware, however it wasn't an issue for me.

I became sick for 4 days after eating at Blue Sky restaurant so I was very happy to have this nice room to recover as I spent the most part of 4 days inside.

I paid 500INR for my room so bargain!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nitboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

For the price we paid for the rooms we found it good value. The staff were very helpfull and even lent us money because the ATMs did not work. The food is ok. Very good location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khajuraho hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#7 of 24 in Khajuraho
498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Isabel Palace
Hotel Isabel Palace
#2 of 24 in Khajuraho
536 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Luxury Home Stay Restaurant & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zen Hotel
Zen Hotel
#10 of 24 in Khajuraho
596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Surya Khajuraho
Hotel Surya Khajuraho
#11 of 24 in Khajuraho
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa di William
Hotel Casa di William
#13 of 24 in Khajuraho
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanti

Address: Shiv Sagar Lake | In Front of the Temple, Khajuraho 471606, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Chhatarpur District > Khajuraho
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Khajuraho
Price Range: £8 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Shanti 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing