We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing temple site” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khajuraho Temples

Khajuraho Temples
Book In Advance
More Info
US$240.00*
and up
Panna National Park Day Trip from Khajuraho
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Khajuraho
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Magnificent temples built between 950 A.D. and 1050 A.D.
LEWISBURG
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“amazing temple site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Khajuraho is a remarkabe temple site. The western temples have high towers and are covered with carvings that depict Gods, animals, battles, sex and daily life in ancient times. In addition to temple viewing, make sure to visit the old village wnere you can stroll the quaint streets and observe and meet the locals. It is also interesting to walk through the rural countryside.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TOM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,563
    291
    30
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amalgamation of divinity with mundane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The city which had golden dates tree on its gates in ancient times is even by no standards an ordinary city today either. The only thing I can say is divinity with mundane.
In 2009 when for first time I visited the temple of belur in hasan district of Karnataka I had made a notion that it was the second best structure in the country after the Taj Mahal but I have been made to rethink today. It is shear art to its extreme. Khajuraho has an un parallel charm and charisma. The structure makes one to think one step ahead of our fascination to arches and domes which Turkish and moguls have introduced. Every carving, each sculptor has a story to tell and for not so great readers like me but who have interest in listening to stories what better way. Seeing it today I ll go to the extend that may be I have been bit partial toward the taj considering the euphoria of the western world. The lakshman temple may not be able to match the grandeur of the temple of kandariya mahadev but it has a more vocal stories to tell. It has the divinity unmatched. The fables and the day to day account of the medieval India.
The all talked about magnificent structures cholas made( brideshwar temple at thanjavur), or the unmatched style or precision of hoysalas ( somnathpuram, melekote, belur, halebedu or shravanbelgola ) I am just falling short of words.
It may sound quite banal but had I been a poet I would have written a ode

Helpful?
2 Thank the_rubberneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beyond the Eroticism.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The complex of the temples is must see to anyone. It is under the UNESCO heritage site and preservation. Spiritual Kamasutra figures carved on the temple walls. Amazing..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AshishDixit326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Truly spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This complex is temples is truly a must-see. Built between 950 and 1150, they are architecturally beautiful, set in gorgeous, well-maintained gardens and the stone carving on the temples is simply exquisite. While this is sometimes referred to as the 'karma sutra temple, only around 10% of the carvings have a sexual theme. The place really is other-worldy. You will feel you have been transported to medieval India. I found the temples so beautiful that I visited the site again the following day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Mystic Land Of Kamasutra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Khajuraho is a wonderland of 85 magnanimous temples built by Chandela Rajputs in a short span of 100 years. Modern buildings built by highly qualified engineers with concrete and steel are unable to withstand natural calamities and crumble down like a house of cards. However, these ancient monuments have stood the test of time, the plunder, ravage and attack and continue to amaze us till date, attracting hoards of tourists from across the globe. These monuments have put India on the world map.

These marvels were built with sandstone without using water. Each block is meticulously hand-placed in a way that nothing but gravity holds them together for all these centuries and many more to come. Undoubtedly, the architect must have been a math wizard and an engineer's engineer. The monuments stand tall today showcasing the skilled labor and hard-work of several thousand sculptors.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ScreamingPiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khajuraho Temples also viewed

Khajuraho, Madhya Pradesh
Khajuraho, Madhya Pradesh
 
Khajuraho, Madhya Pradesh
Khajuraho, Madhya Pradesh
 

Been to Khajuraho Temples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing