We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good inside, pretty bad outside” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Usha Bundela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Usha Bundela
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Khajuraho
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good inside, pretty bad outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Location was definitely NOT within reasonable walking distance to the main temple group.
Entrance and lobby were quite agreeable with pleasant seating areas and decorations.
Room and bathroom were fairly clean with proper linen and towels. No problem with hot water.
What was disappointing is the dilapidated state of the pool area. Everything was just totally decrepit, the drain grills, the sun beds, the footpath, the lanterns, even the carpet leading outdoors. The whole pool area needs a complete overhaul.
Breakfast was mainly catering to Indian tastes with limited choice but could get a nice omelette. Staff was attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaybirdrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    71
    85
    31
    16
See reviews for
45
103
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

They charge arm and leg according to services they provide. No good service, they work like they are some government employees, and care nothing for guests. The only people I saw here other then us were people coming through tour operators, they probably have wasted money. Complimentary breakfast was also not up to mark and we left with half empty stomach.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achal4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulhr, Manager at Hotel Usha Bundela, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide us the feedback.
Whilst we take care to ensure that we exceed expectations for all our guests, we have clearly not met your expectations for which we apologize. With the reference to your feedback regarding the food and the service, we have informed about the comment to the chef and the concernt manager and have made sure that it must be taken good care in the future. .
We would also like to invite you back and we shall endeavor that your last below expected experience would be an aberration.
Puneet Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Khajuraho hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is absolutly good hotel, thought I would recommend not to go to their restaurant as I got sick from the food there, but based on experience of other people travelling with me it could have happened anywhere anyhow.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globtrotter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
231 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights (one night before travelling to Bandhavgarh and two after returning from there). Overall, it's not a bad place to stay. The room is spacious, but the bathroom (especially plumbing) needs some repair work as the water just accumulates in the shower afterwards leaving soap spots which are not pleasant to look at.
We found the restaurant quite good - we enjoyed the food (especially Tandoori chicken) and the friendly restaurant staff. The night before travelling to Bandhavgarh, they wished us good luck and guaranteed that we would see the tiger (and we did!). After coming back to the hotel, all of them remembered us and were genuinely happy to hear that they were right.
I would recommend the stay at this hotel, but I hope that management improves the quality of the building.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulle, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

I recommend this hotel for its nice Location, good services, hospitable staff and good food. Khajuraho temples are one of its kind and worth spending a day or two. We planned Agra to Bandhavgad, and khajuraho was originally a stop over in the long journey from Agra to bandhavgad. Erotic sculpture and funny commentaries by the guides make it memorable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adele g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haaren, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Staying in hotel Harmony in Khajurao one of the staff members advised us to go to the Usha Bandela Hotel when we liked to hace a relaxing afternoon at a pool. An autorickshawdriver who posted outside the hotel took us there. At the reception of the Usha Bandela we were told that the entrance fee for non-quests was 450Rhs. So I walked to the swimmingpoolside to have a look what we could expect for such an extraordinary price. Only 5 sunbeds and matrassses were there and all occupied. We (60+ of age) said that we would leave because we needed a soft matrass for our (weaker) backs. Then the receptionist assured us that he would sent 2 sunbeds and matrasses, We stayed, had a swim and then waited more than half an hour before two very old and scaled off wooden sunbeds were brought, but there were no complementary matrasses left. There was no other choice for us than to place our towels on the grass and to leave after an hour because our backs were painful by that time. At the recepetion I complained and asked 200Rhs each back. After phone calls with somebody who appeared to be our autorickshawdriver and after waiting and waiting we finally got 100 Rhs each back.
The hotel itself and the grounds around the large swimmingpool made a very avarage impression and did not trigger any enthousiasm about the place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneW49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Impressive hotel close to the heart of Khajuraho! Small lounge was nice for us to get together for a couple of drinks and a game of pool. Staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a nice pool (water) area with manicured grounds. Marble, carvings and spiral staircases gave this hotel an aged, elegant air. Close to the temples and we were able to walk back and forth with no problem. We were there for "Little Diwali" and had fun lighting fireworks at the front gate. I would recommend this hotel for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moiraine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khajuraho hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel Palace
Hotel Isabel Palace
#2 of 23 in Khajuraho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Clarks Khajuraho
Hotel Clarks Khajuraho
#8 of 23 in Khajuraho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Jass Hotel Khajuraho
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chandela
Hotel Chandela
#3 of 23 in Khajuraho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Khajuraho
Ramada Khajuraho
#5 of 23 in Khajuraho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Usha Bundela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Usha Bundela

Property: Hotel Usha Bundela
Address: Temple Road, Khajuraho 471606, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Khajuraho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Khajuraho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Usha Bundela 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Usha Bundela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usha Bundela Khajuraho
Usha Bundela Hotel Khajuraho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing