We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect budget option, with excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Surya Khajuraho
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Khajuraho
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect budget option, with excellent service!”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

A fantastic little place - a real haven away from the (sometimes persistent) hassle outside! We absolutely loved this place and the owner (Gin) was super helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend asking for garden facing room with a balcony, and if you're on a budget go for the smaller of the options... I think we paid 600 / night and we stayed for 4 nights - non-AC in October... It was warm during the day, but absolutely fine with the fan during the night. As others have commented the garden is a really lovely extra, we found the wifi excellent throughout the hotel and the service was indeed faultless. All in all, we say search no further, as this really is the perfect budget place that delivers far far more than most of the 'mid-range' places we've stayed in!

Room Tip: Garden facing room with a balcony - we had a small non-AC garden-facing double and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HannahHatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSuryaKhajuraho, Manager at Hotel Surya Khajuraho, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for your kind Review. We are glad you had a great time at Hotel Surya Khajuraho. Our staff at the Hotel will be delighted to receive your feedback. We would love to welcome you again.Thanks Once again for your nice review supports and cooperation.
Regards
Nitin Jain
Hotel Surya and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    173
    74
    19
    12
See reviews for
52
145
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The stay at hotel surya was good. warm water from 7 to 8.30 was ok. Wifi didnt work well, that bothered me cause you pay 100 Rupee extra for this service. The garden and the restaurant is a good place to chill out. Bycicle renting was 60 Rupee, think you get it cheaper just 20m on the right hand side. We checked out at 10.30 p.m. and the owner told us that at nighttime the tuk tuk to the train station (some 7km away) would be more expensive that at daytime so he would call us one for just 150 Rupee - this is just ridiculous! You can get tuk tuk also at nightime for 60-90 Rupee, so dont believe him. After we found another tuk tuk driver in front of the hotel, the owner of the hotel surya threatend our tuk tuk driver just because he drove us for a better price to the train station.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were pretty average (lower cost rooms had no window, hot water only at certain times of day, and had to ask for extra blankets as those provided were really not enough for the chilly December nights!) but then I guess you get what you pay for. At Rs650 a night, it figures. That said, as two girls we found Khajuraho quite full on with all the salesmen/tuk tuk drivers constantly trying to offer their services. So the lovely garden out back and the very friendly waiter at the restaurant was a great relief. We spent a couple of very relaxing afternoons lying on the grass with a book, much needed after all the sales people in the street!

The other downside was that the front desk guys were a bit unhelpful. We paid for wifi on the first day and were told we needed to pay each day as the password would change. When we went back the next day, he said the password hadn't changed (ie we could have used it without charge if we hadn't asked him about it first) but that we still had to pay, which we did reluctantly. It sounds stingy of us, but he seemed like a bit of a cash-grabber compared to the other staff who were all lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Silent place with big garden, also we had big room, which was clean and nice. Food in garden restaurant was good enough but not delicious. Internet access via Wifi we had to paid extra, and range in the room was poor, so we sitting in the garden with our devices, but connection was good enough to talk using skype. Next to reception the was three or four computers, which you can use if you havn't got own device like phone or tablet.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YaPKnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ujjain, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Had a first visit in khajuraho,was looking some budget place to stay.The tuk tuk person had so us some main street hotels but this was my first choice.I was here for three night everything was perfect no problem at all.I will be back again when i come to visit khajuraho.
They have a great Garden with the garden view restaurant,The staff was always helpful. Specially thanks to Nandubhai to make us easy to get a Tatkal confirm Ticket.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dixit00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

When we arrived at this hotel from the street my heart sank I thought oh no , but how wrong I was. The hotel goes back a long way with a lovey restful garden and restaurant you cannot hear the sounds of the road from the garden. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable and ours on the ground floor had direct access to the garden , Shower was hot and the bathroom was clean and tidy. Air Conditioning and fans were included. You will not be disappointed visiting this hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor onto the gardens are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khajuraho hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#7 of 24 in Khajuraho
490 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Isabel Palace
Hotel Isabel Palace
#2 of 24 in Khajuraho
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Luxury Home Stay Restaurant & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zen Hotel
Zen Hotel
#10 of 24 in Khajuraho
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa di William
Hotel Casa di William
#14 of 24 in Khajuraho
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Khajuraho
Ramada Khajuraho
#5 of 24 in Khajuraho
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya Khajuraho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya Khajuraho

Property: Hotel Surya Khajuraho
Address: Jain Temple Road, Khajuraho 471606, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Chhatarpur District > Khajuraho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Khajuraho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Surya Khajuraho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Welcome you In the City Of Temple Khajuraho. Located in the heart of city. 2 Minute Walking distance from the Main Western Groups of temples, five minutes walk from bus stand and 3Km from the Airport. Enjoy your stay with our helpful and friendly staff. We have 40 Executive Rooms and Suites with A/C and Non A/C, elegantly appointed and tastefully decorated, to make your stay comfortable And pleasant. Our aim is to provide you with the most comprehensive, up to date travel information available for Khajuraho. Request :- Kindly Visit Once, if you think me better stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Surya Khajuraho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Khajuraho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing