We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money hotel”
Review of Masai Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maharashtra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Masai Resort
Ranked #1,078 of 2,348 Maharashtra B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2013

the resort is at an isolated place and hence book the hotel only if you have a car at your disposal or arrange a transfer from Kolhpaur from the resort. The room has very basic and limited ammenities ( I was unlucky of not even being provided a Lock for the door.) The rooms are clean and the overall ambience of the resort is good.
The food is out of the world and a typcial Maharashtrian food made on chula. In case if you are travelling in a group and understand marathi the resort can arrange for entertainment and pavada which is also extremely good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinu_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

It was great experience to stay in Masai resort. We family (7 Adults+2 children) enjoyed our stay for 2 days a lot!
Overall service, food quality, cleanliness was good. I would recommend to others this place as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makulkar09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This place is just 21 kms from Kolhapur city. It is situated in close vicinity of Fort Panhala & Masai Plateau. Lush greenery surrounds this resort which caters excellent veg/non veg cuisine(Pandhra-Tamda Rassa is a hit) Its a full private destination for a party. Also its very convenient for boarders & trekers. Its an ideal spot for residential family/batch get togethers.

Room Tip: lley facing. Room no 1,3 & 9 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viny76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had our family get together planned at Masau resort. The entire clan had a great time. The staff was very helpful & arranged for all types of activities for us. They went out of the way to organise our gala dinner wvent. The rooms are clean, food v good.
It was a memorable stay for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Venus_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Far from urbane crowds, in nature's lap. Well connected by tar road and the sumptuous non-veg meal comprising 'tambda-pandhra', the typical Kolhapuri cuisine, served with warmth.
Veg dish for vegetarians was equally tasty.
One must specify orders beforehand so that the little luxuries are imported to the solitary resort well before you arrive.
Very ideal place for those who wish to spend some time in silence or private karaoke.

Room Tip: Arrive in day light so you view sorrounding beauty. Also, sipping by the meadow in passing twilight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RajeshIngale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We were two families and were all excited from the photos on the website. Also the contact person was very enthusiastic and positive. But to our disappointment, when we reached the resort at 8 in the night there was just 1person to attend to us, not at all professional, rooms were smelling of moisture with lizards all over and at first glace it did not show comfort. Still we were contemplating on staying on but then insects and creepy crawlies took over and we instantly had to move out of the resort ...within 15 minutes of our reaching there!! Those who are used to trekking and similar experiences may like to stay but those who wish to relax in comfort will not like it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AsawariAgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The Luxury at Masai Resort is ephemeral, as short as its name itself. 5 KM away from Budhwar Peth, with no transportation available. Only perhaps if u hire a rickshaw from Panhala (will cost somewhere about Rs 150-200) or from Kolahpur itself, the walk to the resort can be killing.

Date: 30th Dec 2011 - 1st Jan 2012

Rooms:
- (Standard Rooms) have no AC,
- Toilet has no faucet.
- Room was cleaned in a hurry and balcony up above was dirty.
- No geyser
+ Well spaced room with high ceiling.
+ Cozy with door opening to a valley

Amenities
- None
- Had to ask for both towel and soap.
- TV receiving pathetic with not much option
- Poor room service (no bell, no intercom, no telephone, had to go out every time when there was a need for tea or food, had asked for tea TWICE-Nothing was delivered)

Location:
- 5KM away from Budhwar Peth, with no public transportation available.
- Since it is in remote area, it is bit difficult to ask for direction in Hindi or English. Only Marathi is the preferred language. That does not mean that Hindi doesn't work at all.

Food:
+ Veg thali was good and not much spicy (Rs 100)
+ Including Tea, tasted good.

My Overall View:
Perfect for economical/solo traveler(s) as well as if you are looking for a peaceful time with no sound pollution. During season (e.x new-Year) the standard room costed Rs 1000, else its below Rs 700. You can not expect any lesser then this specially during new year where price shoot upto 3K. The owner also arranged a new year bash with Rs 300 K entry fee. Food was average during the party but once you have a good company, nothing matters.

Ownership has just got changed of this resort and the new owner is humble and understanding, if you have any issues you can speak up to him and he tries to resolve your issue.

If planning for off-season stay or monsoon, just pack you bags with some necessary stuff such as soap shampoo handtowel etc. and Enjoy the place, weather and food.

Room Tip: Mostly all are valley facing. Actually its at Mahalunga Phata.. Right in the middle of the bifurcati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vivekmisra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maharashtra hotels
Rainforest Resort
#6 of 10 in Igatpuri
515 reviews
Colaba
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Manas Resort
#5 of 10 in Igatpuri
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cocohut Resort
#2 of 25 in Diveagar
108 reviews
Mystic Valley Resort
#7 of 10 in Igatpuri
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masai Resort

Address: Masai Pathar, Near Jeur-Mahulange phata | Panala Rd, 411001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,078 of 2,348 B&Bs / Inns in Maharashtra
Price Range: £13 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing