We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing fort on the beautiful coastline” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Janjira (Kasa) Fort

Ranked #437 of 1,836 things to do in Maharashtra
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most important maritime forts in India is said to have been unconquered since the 12th century.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing fort on the beautiful coastline”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

worth visiting amazing fort, we visited here on this Oct, so there is a lot of greenery on the fort. It was an really historical fort with lot of history. It was easy to approach with sail boats charges you Rs.20 per person for a two way journey, only negative point was we should wait for other visitors also because they are not going until boat have 40-50 persons. Other bad thing is there are no government facility or protection for the fort and as usual people are writing all over the fort walls and made a bad impact all over it. It was an unique fort, I also visited some other great Indian forts also but none of them so unique right on the island infect island was the fort.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ashwin911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    10
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nothing worthwhile....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I visited this Fort in August 2013 and frankly, I was bored. This much hyped fort amidst the sea is said to be built some 550 years ago, but nothing great (Architechtures don't interest me and almost all forts that I have seen have a hidden tunnel as well). The path (and not road) from parking to the ferry is narrow and shabby. There is no food shop or a place where you can rest for a while.

The boatman charged Rs. 50 per head (I went on 15 Aug, so maybe I had to pay a "holiday" premium) for a to and fro journey. The boat was crowded with lot of people, and you won't be blamed for feeling insecure. There was a person who claimed to be a guide and promptly declared that we would need a guide inside as the fort was too big (22 acre he said) to go around by ourselves. We would be better-off by taking a guide for a fees of Rs. 50 per head who would show us the 7 most important points inside the fort. Someone who does not pay the "fees" would not be allowed to follow the guide. Thus, you are trapped, and you pay the money without knowing what is there inside.

Most importantly, you will have to go and come by the same boat. So, you are warned that without the guide inside the fort, you may get lost and would be left on your own to return. This all the more "pushes" you to pay for the guide.

Once you reach the entrance of the fort, there will be 2 guys who would hold your hand and sort of swing you over the water to the stairs. Inside, you would see a huge lake, claimed to be of sweet water, a giant canon weighing about 15 tonnes and having a range of 6 KM and the relics of a once 7 storey tall building.

Overall, this place is not at all maintained, very generic stuff. This place is some 25 km away from Kashid and I would have enjoyed a quiet afternoon by the beach at Kashid rather than come here and go back with nothing.

PS: Don't board the boat if you have sea-sickness or after a heavy lunch.
Keep a watch on people around you.
Ladies, beware of people trying to take your snaps and don't get disconnected from your group.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnab M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Murud Janjira”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I wouldn't rate my experience very good on various counts while i visited this place. Only good thing is its architecture and especially hidden entrance... Otherwise drawbacks are plenty and some are

1. No safety for travelers at all once on-board the Boats which are overloaded
2. Approach road is quite narrow and parking guys are not friendly
3. Not able to find any decent snacks corner around
4. Internally in v bad condition expect the Well which seems to be having drinkable water
5. not maintained and due to be history in another few years if continued to be neglected

Alibagh is much better a destination with gr8 beaches around.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank MGovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great One!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

The place is not far from Alibaug, Fort has a history of 1000 years which is quite interesting as narrated by our guide. Sweet water ponds in the mist of ocean is amazing to see. The door to enter the fort is not visible till you reach there its an example of magnificent architecture. Also there is a tunnel via sea which connects the fort to main land.
Shooting for the song Tu hi re (Movie Bombay) was done here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank niketa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navsari, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Non Other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

i have not Seen Any fort like this. 1000 Years old, In the Sea, Very Interesting, just Pay 30 Rs to Boat Man and they Guide u, A Sweet Water Well in the Fort, Which is MAGIC OF UNIVERSE CREATOR.

Easy to Reach from Murud, and It's Very Nice Journey, in boat, in just 20 Rs.No food OR Canteen in Fort so u may Arrange.
i VIsit in Winter in i Enjoy a lot.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Minhaj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Janjira (Kasa) Fort also viewed

Murud, Maharashtra
Maharashtra, India
 
Kashid, Maharashtra
Kashid, Maharashtra
 

Been to Janjira (Kasa) Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing