We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, horrible”
Review of Hotel Girnar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Girnar
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Aurangabad
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel is in a truly grotty, dirty location - and just a few metres from a frantically busy dual carriageway. No restaurant - food on room service only (apparently brought from restaurant on the other side of the dual carriageway).
Hotel owned by a Jain, so alcohol officially prohibited ; but the staff will smuggle in beer for foreign guests - at a price. We briefly met the owner, and he was charming. But I think he needs to keep a better eye on the way his hotel is being run.
Floor dirty. Water tepid. Shower challenging - had to keep a button manually depressed throughout.
We left at 0400, and as we reached the bottom of the stairs we found our exit blocked by a locked steel shutter, which had to be opened by a night watchman - once he had woken up. Security - of course. But there was no other way out, so a potential DEATHTRAP in the event of a fire.
We had settled our bill in full just before going to bed the night before, but as we were leaving the receptionist informed my husband that we still owed 250 rupees for something or other. He wanted paying, and in cash. My husband, sick to death of this place, started shouting the odds as I made my way out to the waiting taxi. Interesting, this - the taxi driver, who could see and hear what was going on, turned to me and said "Cheating, Madam?". "Yes", I replied. "This very bad hotel", he said. "Always cheating. Everybody know. Bad people". I rest my case, other than to say that this is a hotel to be avoided at all costs.

Room Tip: If you feel you MUST stay in this hotel, don't accept a room that looks out over the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

They have good rooms. Nicely maintained, with simple but good interiors.
Situated on a very good location, it serves most of your purposes. Only concern was they do not have proper food arrangements.

I had a booking from 23-24th Dec 2013. It was booked over phone. when asked to the operator that if a person will check in on 23rd in Morning & will check out on 24th in evening. Will you charge for a day or 2 days. The answer was for one day only.
But on 24th Evening they started giving excuses. It was actually sad on hotel part that they made me wait for the same for around 3 hrs, but there was no action on this. It was kept hanging.

I would like to see an explanation from the Management or the Owners.

Thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amit16021987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Recently renovated...Booked 5 rooms for my corporate guests for an event...Location is excellent, rooms are large enough but service is poor....lack of professionalism in staff...comparatively low priced....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkbaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Unfortunately, was forced to live here because of bungling of some travel plans. the hotel is poor maintained, the rooms are large though, For the price there are better managed hotels in the vicinity. Food is poor though the location is good

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nish2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I was traveling through India with family, mostly on a tour of historical sites. Aurangabad became a last minute stop because a friend recommended I visit nearby caves. By the way, the caves are absolutely amazing. These are temples carved into montains.

Since this was a last minute thing, we didn't have enough time to plan a hotel. The information booth at the train station recommended several hotels on the road to the caves, so we chose this place. What a mistake. Having traveled through much of India with family, we are quite ok with staying at local dakh bungalows and dharamshalas. I figured that a hotel on the main road in a tourist town would be safe. This place was not. It was filthy and best I could tell there was some sort of illicit activity going on there as well. To top it off, it was a very hot June in India, and there were serious power issues.

The place asked for cash up front, which should have been a clue that there would be a problem. It was late, so we basically had no choice.

This place ruined our memory of the region, which is sad because the caves were so spectacular the next morning!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pishab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girnarhotel, Owner at Hotel Girnar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

My Hotel was closed for renovation in this period.e from 2009 to Jan 2013. The Reviews are wrongly added to our listing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Evitez les chambres sur rue et méfiez-vous du bruit des voisins indiens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Decq G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aurangabad hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ira Executive
Hotel Ira Executive
#43 of 58 in Aurangabad
23 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#27 of 58 in Aurangabad
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treebo Admiral Suites
Treebo Admiral Suites
#24 of 58 in Aurangabad
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Panchavati
Hotel Panchavati
#7 of 58 in Aurangabad
336 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Agc
Hotel Agc
#16 of 58 in Aurangabad
16 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aurangabad Gymkhana Club (Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girnar

Address: Adalat Road, Aurangabad 431005, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Aurangabad District > Aurangabad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Aurangabad
Price Range: £21 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Girnar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 Hours checkout, Indian Jain Food,Located on main Highway, Budget Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Girnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing