We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view...the only place in chiplun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riverview Resort - Chiplun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Riverview Resort - Chiplun
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chiplun
Certificate of Excellence
Surat, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great view...the only place in chiplun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights....very good property with great view..call it a hidden gem...rooms are a bit old fashioned...the garden is very well maintained and kept green throughout the year...the only let down was the pool...which is not maintained at all...so dusty and full of insects....the price is on higher side too...but overall a good place to stay....the food is excellent too.....so 4/5...

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaunash N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    57
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
30
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Hello,
I have not stayed at the Riverview Resort, but my family has in the past.

I tried booking for my wedding anniversary and was in touch with Vijaya and Alpana. The booking effort and experience was very poor, rude. The entire experience was horrible and reeked of arrogance and no courtesy.
I have decided to not spend my precious occasion here, neither will I hold my corporate events and will also tell my friends and relatives of the bitter experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BGALA6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Riverview_Resort, General Manager at The Riverview Resort - Chiplun, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Mr. Bhadesh Gala,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

As rightly mentioned by you that your family member had stayed at our resort in past hence we are sure that they were pleased by our resort's hospitality. That's why you chose to celebrate your special occasion (wedding anniversary) at our resort.

You had inquired for your travel date from 17th to 20th February, 2014.
As a revert to your query we extended our 15% discounts on our already discounted 3 night's package. Since it was your anniversary, We had also offered complimentary cake & candle light dinner at indoor / outdoor venue (weather permits).

After our several verbal discussion & written communication we had revised the price & had extended our final offer of 25% discount, which you still found non satisfactory.
Being in hospitality industry we have management policy of extending discounts to certain percentage only. However, after offering extended discounts & complimentary you had reduced your stay duration & demanded further discounts which was not possible as it was a loss of revenue for us by your short stay.

We had exchanged multiple emails & done ample telephonic conversations where you claimed that we were rude & unprofessional, if this would have been the case than we would have cancelled your booking as well as called-off the discounts offered for your booking.
But we did not do either of it & responded all your harsh & threatening emails in a professional manner because our company believes that every guest is very very important for our business.

As per our last last email dated 24th January, 2014, We look forward to your stay at our resort so that you could personally experience our hospitality.

Thanking you,

Alpana Chauhan
General Manager - Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattukkoottai,tamilnadu state
Level Contributor
229 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

On our way from Mahabaleshwar to Ratnagiri, we spent a night at this peaceful , pleasant resort. Excellent location with a view of the river Vashisti with the backdrop of the Western ghats , beautiful ,well maintained landscaped grounds adding to the charm of the resort. Large , spacious rooms, old fashioned and quaint, bedroom, with adequate amenities , a welcome basket of fruits to welcome the guests. Cleanliness is good in the bedroom as well as in the bath room, each room opening into a balcony with a charming view of the rolling grounds and the river afar.A large and clean swimming pool , , a centere for ayurvedic massage, a children's play area and indoor games hall are welcome additions. The restaurant serves delicious food by very attentive courteous staff.

Room Tip: since most of the rooms open into a balcony with a river view, opt for such a room. while traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nilaseventy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The drive to this place can be a bit tiring but were were prepared for it so no complains. The view from your balcony is more than likely going to be breathtaking. I've stayed here twice and I guess all the rooms look out on to the river valley.
The service was impeccable....the pool was clean and there was constantly someone there to help us with food and drinks etc.
The dinner was delightful and the restaurant manager suggested some things that all of us really enjoyed.
The breakfast was the usual fare but tasty. I was surprised there was no buffet spread but I guess that the occupancy was relatively low, they were trying to avoid wastage.
The rooms are comfy the only bit I thought was odd was that the lighting in the room can be quite dim unless you switch on most of the lights. The beds were clean and comfy. The AC worked well.
The bathrooms are clean and there is a walk-in shower. You might have to wait a bit for the water to warm up if you're using the geyser.
I guess the only thing I was miffed with is that I'd made a booking through agoda and did not notice that I've not chosen double occpancy for the rooms. It was three of us and we had taken two rooms. I just felt a bit cheated that no-one pointed out to me at the time of check-in that we will have to pay seperately for the third person. Specially when I spoke to their sales manager at the time fo checkout that this was an issue they had faced in the past with customers who had booked through agoda.
Never the less I enjoyed the stay, the views, the company I was in and last but not the least...the food.

Room Tip: Chose a superior room if you are willing to spend a little more and you will get a slightly better r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurgR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
233 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel / Resort is an about 5 hour drive (maybe 6) south of Mumbai.

Rooms are quite large, each I think with a balcony. Bathroom has a walk in shower.
The rooms design feels old and used, so is the bathroom, however everything is there, albeit very old and somewhat "used".

Beds are reasonable soft and comfortable.

Electric plugs are next to the desk and behind the night desk.

Internet is WLAN based. At least in the room that I was, it worked quite well, with FaceTime, VPN and Skype working. This is for sure an improvement over my last stay.

Food is good, breakfast somewhat simple, but totally adequate.

Service is friendly and the view is nice.

Laundry can only returned the next day, hence not much use.

The rooms have AC, but it is very loud and not comfortable.

So, yes, it is good, but not really very good. Price is on the high side, for what they offer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Combination of Great location with superb place. Me n my husband with other couple visited this resort in 1st week of December. This resort is near main road. The climate was chilled. The facilities & services are very good. The staff is co-operative and looks after you requirement. Indoor games like table tennis and carom keeps you busy. Rooms are good. But the balcony is perfect. The view outside balcony is something to look for. You feel delighted with such a great view. Rooms have mini bar and tea/coffee maker. The restaurant serves you food with lesser waiting time. had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShubhangiGovardhane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The location is superb - nestled in the mountains and close to the Parshuram temple although the place is more Lote Parshuram and not Chiplun proper. The hospitality leaves a lot to be desired. The rooms are decent (the balcony is super) but nothing special in terms of decor...something that you expect at that price. Food is pricey but tastes good. The package they offer is exorbitant if you consider the meager facilities they provide. And the staff could do with some value-added training in customer-centric behavior.

Room Tip: Spend good time at the lawn. Great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudhir_Raikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiplun
22.3 mi away
Exotic Home Stay
Exotic Home Stay
#2 of 6 in Dapoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
25.3 mi away
The Fern Samali Resort
0.0 mi away
Maple IVY
Maple IVY
#4 of 16 in Alibaug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reemz
Hotel Reemz
#1 of 21 in Chiplun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Saisha
Hotel Saisha
#5 of 21 in Chiplun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mango Village Resort
Mango Village Resort
#5 of 19 in Guhagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverview Resort - Chiplun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverview Resort - Chiplun

Property: The Riverview Resort - Chiplun
Address: Dhamandivi, Parshuram Kshetra, Near Parshuram Temple | Taluka Khed, Lote, Dist Ratnagiri, Chiplun 415707, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Chiplun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chiplun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riverview Resort - Chiplun 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverview Resort - Chiplun is an ideal location for leisure as well as for small conferences. Away by 250 kms from Mumbai (approx. 5 hour drive), 230 kms from Pune & 330 kms from Goa. Resort is perched atop a beautifully landscaped hill overlooking the valley with great views of the river & western ghats. Pristine setting of peace and tranquility with 37 spacious family rooms (Deluxe & Superior category) that give you a home away from home feeling. This is a place to be with nature, to brainstorm, to alienate oneself from the frantic city life by enjoying nature's bounty and being able to think ahead with an uncluttered mind. Great ambiance and environment to invigorate and rejuvenate your human resources. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Riverview Resort - Chiplun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort The Riverview Hotel Chiplun
Quality Inn Chiplun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing