We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what an experience!! wow !!!”
Review of Il Palazzo Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panchgani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Il Palazzo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Panchgani
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“what an experience!! wow !!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

as the name suggest il pallazo means live in a palace ........
our stay at the hotel was just so very comfortable that we actually felt like royals!
breakfast was kingsize.....eggs, fresh fruit, poha , cornflakes, lassi ......unbelievable
lunch was another event......mutton sukha , chicken mughlai and a yummy prawn curry and to top it all was the delicious chocolate icecream which was so creamy and rich seemed like it had straight from the factory!
dinner was just unthinkable ........soup, fish with tartare sauce ......and a complete three course meal!
the manager mr farram was very warm and greeted us with a friendly smile which always helps as they say the first impression is the last !
of course a must mention was the lovely lady of the hotel mrs perin davierwalla .....she was patient , kind and very helpful( i asked her around the place as this was my first visit)
thank you for making our stay so comfortable and am sure am going to visit again and again !
cheers!!

Room Tip: loved the room # 103 alloted to us as it faced the garden and was beautiful in the mornings !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paree_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotel2014, Owner at Il Palazzo Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mrs. Paree,

We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with our family. I will convey your compliments to the kitchen and chefs as well as to my sister-in-law. Please do visit us again and we will make every effort that you leave feeling just as happy and satiated. Thank you.

Warm regards,

Mrs. Davierwalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    84
    12
    13
    4
See reviews for
235
64
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We absolutely love this place, it's a perfect getaway from city life, it's nestled between hills and the town. The hotel it self has a very Victorian feel . The service and food is outstanding . I have nothing but good things to say about this place. A must visit !!!!
Thank you il palazzo for an awesome stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathani007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotel2014, Owner at Il Palazzo Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mr. Nathani,

We are delighted by your happy stay with us. Our family has been running the hotel for over 75 years and we are still eager to please every guest that chooses us for their holiday.

Please do visit again and we shall make every attempt to make your stay with us a very positive experience.

Warm regards,

Mrs. Davierwalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Being a frequent traveler to mahabaleshwar, it was the first time we stayed in Panchgani at il palazzo. It was a very memorable stay...the atmosphere so much to go with the colonial feel, even the food was amazing and homely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmangwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotel2014, Owner at Il Palazzo Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Customer,

We are so happy that you had a rejuvenating experience and that you took the time to share your experience with us. We would be sincerely delighted to host you again.

Warm regards,

Mrs. Davierwalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our family has been staying in this hotel for more than 4 decades. However, during our last stay of about 4 nights in June we realized that the management has been changed due to some family dispute. The recent stay was pathetic. The food which we used to cherish had turned out to be horrible to our surprise. The service was absently below standard.
A person named Mr. Param looking after the admin, was extremely rude and was not willing to listen to complains. We were a group of 10 from the family and everybody had a very disappointing experience. The previous management of Mr. Cobalt was excellent and we had enjoyed the stay every time during our visit to Panchgani.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pratik204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotel2014, Owner at Il Palazzo Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mr. Pratik,

We have been hosting families from Surat since early in my presence at Il-Palazzo in the late 1960s. All of you are our valued guests. I was sorry that we disappointed you during your visit this June. The hotel is still owned by the family and you may have met either my sister-in-law or myself as a child. Please do give us an opportunity to compensate for any inconvenience you experienced. Do ask for us when you arrive and we will personally host your family during your stay.

Warm regards,

Mrs. Davierwalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

il palazzo has been our large family's 2nd home for last several decades spanning over generations with most of them having studied in schools out here.We were here a couple of weeks back for a family get together but our holiday was stressful and far from a memorable one .Firstly we were asked for an advance the 1st time in 30 years or even more.When we arrived there was no familiar face around which itself was unnerving.Then we encountered one mr.faram who was undoubtedly obnoxiously rude and extremely impolite to a guest who is such a frequent visitor.No request small or big could be conveyed to a waiter as according to mr.farams new rule one had to go to the office personally each time.The use of the kitchen was always made available to us in the past but not anymore as per the new rules set by the apparent new big boss which inconvenienced us even more and even food requests were not in the least bit accomodated.Even when we called way ahead of dinner time, to inform that we wont avail of dinner, we were rudely told that whether we eat or not we would be charged.That's not the end of our woes.We called for ice and lime, after waiting for an hour also we did not get it as there wasnt any.Went down to get the same and met aunty and all she said was a sorry and the service was still poor. Food lacked the taste and punch and the variety.Even the portions have become small and replenishing the same is such a long wait by which time you have lost your appetite.Desserts are so insipid that even something as basic as caramel custard didnt have sugar.Have never ever had such an awful experience which left all of us so very disappointed.Mr.faram truly needs some lessons in guest relations and customer service if he wants to retain il palazzo's old regular clientele.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotel2014, Owner at Il Palazzo Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Customer,

Your continued patronage over so many years is very valued to us. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences that you have listed in your review. Please do allow us to compensate for your grievances by giving us an opportunity to serve you again - we have been making every effort to ensure that our food, rooms and services are always impeccable. I just want to bring to your attention that allowing guests into the kitchen during full-meal preparation hours may be a safety hazard to the guest. Please visit us during a lean period, and we will be happy to set up a cooking area should you ned to prepare something special. We would also appreciate a phone call when you do make a future reservation, so that we may personally be there to greet you and host you upon your arrival and reassure you that our service and attention to your happiness will not be compromised.

Warm regards,

Mrs. Davierwalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A beautiful & a must visit hotel, Each & everything was just perfect, we had gone for our honeymoon & lovedddddd it a lot, Well maintaine, Clean Hygenic. A silent & a peaceful place. Would request whoever visitng panchgani or mahabaleshwar please stay & ull feel your at home as the food taste is the same. Ther hotel is placed in the central hub of panchgani so market .shopping etc etc is near by.We just loved the place thums up to the owner

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatso2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotel2014, Owner at Il Palazzo Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear customer,

We are delighted by your enjoyable stay with us and feel proud that we could enhance your happiness. Please do join us again and we will do everything in our power to make the next visit match and exceed this one.

We wish you both the very best.

Warm wishes,

Mrs. Davierwalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent 4 nights from 29th May -1st June and were very very pleased with our stay. The owners made a special consideration for 2 of our three young children and made sure that we had special children's food. When my youngest daughter had a fall, aunty made sure that we got first aid and even offered to call the doctor. Our children spent most afternoons in the pool while we dozed off. We felt safe leaving them wondering around the premises. The buffets were just outstanding and we even invited some Mahableshwar friends to join us for a couple of meals. My favorite was the Dhansakh while my daughter ate all the desserts. I will be sure to book in advance for my next trip this year.

Room Tip: The rooms in the last block near the plateau were lovely - we had booked 2 rooms for a family of fiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank siganporian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotel2014, Owner at Il Palazzo Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Mr. Siganporia,

We really enjoyed having you and your sweet daughters with us. I hope the little one is feeling fine now and that her puppy behaved on the journey back! I was surprised that you recognized me from your childhood visits here. Thank you for your positive comments and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will forward your compliments to the chefs. Please do come back again during the school vacation and do book in advance if you would like a particular room.

Best wishes,

Mrs. Davierwalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panchgani
0.7 mi away
Ravine Hotel
Ravine Hotel
#3 of 17 in Panchgani
743 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Millennium Park
Hotel Millennium Park
#10 of 17 in Panchgani
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Country Resort
Blue Country Resort
#6 of 17 in Panchgani
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
979 reviews
8.5 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Hotel

Property: Il Palazzo Hotel
Address: Shirinbai Davierwalla Marg, Panchgani 412805, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Panchgani
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Panchgani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Il Palazzo, one of the oldest and perhaps Panchgani's most famous Heritage Resort! We are a family-owned resort offering quality accommodation and unsurpassed hospitality, with a meal-plan second to none. As owners, we have always taken great pride in maintaining immaculate upkeep of our premises and surrounds. We provide a hearty breakfast, sumptuous lunch, high tea and a delicious dinner. Our cuisine, which features several legendary family recipes, puts an emphasis on fresh, tasty home-cooked food, using quality ingredients and taking no short cuts in preparation. Daily Pre-fixe menus include traditional Parsi dishes, ethnic Indian specialties and Continental classics. We sincerely do hope you enjoy your stay with us and we thank you for giving us an opportunity to welcome you into our family of happy guests. Remain assured, that we as owners will do all in our power to make your stay truly memorable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing