We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a pass”
Review of Lava - CLOSED

Lava
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Give it a pass”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I reviewed this restaurant with Parc Estique as a whole. But, detailing my experience further - the restaurant's menu is severely limited, especially for vegetarians. There is one soup to choose from and perhaps two dry appetizers. I have no clue what cuisine they claim to specialize in, and I don't think the staff know either.

The service is unbearably slow, and the waiters stand with their back turned to the restaurant seating area, lest they be summoned! They take a minimum of half hour to bring the bill to you once you've decided you've had enough here.

I ordered the tomato rasam shorba from the menu. It looked very unappealing right with half a cup of oil floating over it.. When I enquired about the missing lemongrass flavor and croutons, I was told that this is how it is made!! No repairs. We also ordered khichdi. It came loaded with salt. Too tired by now to make any sense with the staff.

For all these limitations, the food is terribly overpriced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank DuniyaGolHai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    6
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible food and service”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I agree with most of the other reviews - rude and indifferent staff. Service is very poor, very uncomfortable sitting especially the chairs. Worst, food is absolutely crap - can't imagine anyone going there for a repeat visit. I wanted to try out this restaurant and would advise everyone to stay away. There are plenty of good restaurants in Pune.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TDasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a good hotel and not a good restaurent.”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Dont even think about visiting this restaurant.Crappy chairs to sit. Uncomfortable and suffocating sitting.Food is not worth a penny.Staff is rude and not helpful.You will find 10 managers or whatever roaming around you in black-suits.but they are not there to help you.They behave like kings.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Aryan_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful view ruined by incredibly poor (and rude) service”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Lava at the Parc Estique is what could be a great restaurant in a part of town that dearly needs it, but falls far short due to simple human failings. First, what worked – they do quite well on the view, the ambiance in general, the menu, the time taken to serve orders. What they do less well is service. My personal experience started well with a quiet table, next to the pool and food and drinks delivered more or less to expectation. The evening deteriorated rapidly as it wound down with an exceptionally rude gentleman – who represented himself as the stand in for the hotel’s General Manager – made an appearance demanding we leave, despite having nowhere near finished our meal yet. And later went on to blame it on guests staying with them and their behavior necessitating such action. All put together, a wonderful location, unfortunately completely ruined by the service, more specifically individuals there. With other options now coming up within easy shooting distance, this restaurant will be the unfortunate loser despite having some things really going for it. Shame, really. I - and my circle - won't be visiting again for sure.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Akyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

This is a rooftop restaurant besides the pool. The place offers excellent ambience , good food , a must place to visit if in pune.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank armouredajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lava also viewed

Pune, Pune District
Pune, Pune District
 
Pune, Pune District
Pune, Pune District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing