We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic services, highly overpriced, poorly maintained !”
Review of Mantra Resort Pune

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mantra Resort Pune
Ranked #15 of 219 Pune B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pathetic services, highly overpriced, poorly maintained !”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I read reviews on tripadvisor before booking a new year package for Rs 20,000 for two days ! I could have book Hyatt in that price in Pune !!! I am surprised how can someone give 'excellent' rating to this below-standard so called 'resort'. Disastrous !

First of all, the resort is 70 kms away from pune and it will take atleast 1.5 hrs on poor roads. The property is terribly maintained. swimming pools were dirty, with dead flies and mosquitoes floating. The said water park includes only a couple of slides, which never work! Only good things were Rifle shooting, archery, tennis and cricket ground (because of my interest). Few good facilities for children like Trampoline, TT table, small garden etc.

The resort is located on an isolated hill. Views are decent, but u will have no access to the much publicized lake. The views may be more beautiful during monsoons, but it was extremely hot during december! (Mumbai was much cooler, so you can imagine). You get much better views from Lonavala/Khandala or any near by hill station. In short, nothing great.

The rooms were okay. Worst part - Bathrooms were terrible- very small and dirty. AC was not working. Bath tub was big enough for a toddler which we dint have !! Room services was pathetic. TV and bed were acceptable.

The highly promoted new year party was a disaster. They gave only 2 60ml pegs of Royal Stag. DJ party was in an auditorium full of lights and same song were played again and again!! Only good thing was one belle dance performance.

Food was pathetic. Room services was sad and highly overpriced. They charged Rs 80 for a Coke ! Everything they served was cold (except soft drinks!). Completely tasteless food with very limited options.

90% of the people were fighting with hotel staff/manager for one thing or the other during 2 days stint. I did not find a single person happy with service/food/rooms/property.

Completely disappointing. Not at all worth of your money. Go only when they provide rooms for Rs 2,000 per night, which is the right worth of the place.

Room Tip: Rooms with Lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank prashujain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    38
    21
    15
    19
See reviews for
69
18
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2011

For those who love natural beauty. Refreshing view as the resort is on the height and a vast property to roam. Fresh air gently whistling in your ears and melodious chirping of the birds. I will appreciate the food and the overall feel of the place. Extremely relaxing body massagers (hi tech machine) and in house theatre.
You can see the effort to preserve the beauty of the place without creating too much artificial deck ups.
May visit this place again............

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niddhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We had been to Manntra with our family hoping for a good holiday, just after Diwali.
The location is very good. The people there are wonderful and hospitable. The management is fortunate to find such staff.

The room maintenance is very poor. You get red water in the taps. you wont dare even wash your face with this kind of water. The toilets are all in bad shape, you fear you may fall off (they shake so badly-worse than indian railways).

The restaurants are not set to cater to the holiday crowd. The idea of serving hot rotis is appreciated, but if we have to fight to get a roti, that is not our idea of a holiday. We have enough of queues and pushing in the cities and we come to such resorts for a pleasant stay.

In the name of boating they took us in a group of about 30 on a joy ride to a small nala, where there were only 2 small row boats with a 4 life jackets. Sheer waste of time.

Would definitely not recommend to friends to visit this place.

NOT VALUE FOR MONEY AT ALL.....

Room Tip: only thing good about this place is the location. can be definitely skipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rajeshwari i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pune hotels

Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

If the management of this property have any ambitions that Manntra meets even the most rudimentary of international standards, they need to abandon that notion. This is a remote location, and so I am willing to overlook the minor inconveniences - such as the occasional stray mangy dog, an invasion of crickets in our room on the second night, and meal service that was chronically forgetful of such niceties as napkins or adequate cutlery - that often add "character" when staying in a rustic property. What I am not willing to overlook is uneven management, a utilitarian atmosphere, poor upkeep, and shockingly lax safety standards.

Where to begin? Probably out first clue should have been that when booking our 3-night, 4-day stay, we were told that a staff member would come to the residential address where we were staying in Pune to collect payment up front. After doing so (the next day), the agent insisted on collecting a rs100 "fee" for coming to our home, even though it is their own policy that mandates payment and collection in advance.

On arriving at the property on a Sunday afternoon, we found our cottage to be large but sparsely appointed. There is a convertible sofa that we used as a bed for our 4-year-old son (after arranging extra linens to be brought to the cottage). Sundays are a busy day at Manntra as there is a lot of day-trip traffic of "members" who come to use the facilities. After dinner, the place emptied out and we discovered that only two cottages had guests on Sunday night ... and on Monday and Tuesday night we were literally the only guests in the place.

Some evening rains cooled the air down nicely and we would have liked to open some windows, turn off the AC, and enjoy the evening breezes, but none of the windows have screens. There is also no porch or outdoor sitting area of any kind, so if you're at your cottage you are locked up indoors with the windows closed. Another inconvenience: each cottage has a battery and inverter to deal with power fluctuations, but it has an audible alarm. So every time the power wobbles at any time of night, you get woken up with a BEEEEEP! Five times, ten times, twenty times per night, "BEEEEEEEP! Wake up, the power just fluctuated!"

Next morning we decided to use the pool and water slide. The water in all facilities was murky, and as we approached a staff member quickly fetched a net in order to hunt frogs that were enjoying a lazy morning in the pool. We were assured that all facilities are adequately chlorinated and were perfectly safe - which we naively believed. I decided to take a turn on the water slide, and discovered 3 things at the conclusion of my first (and only) trip down the "small" slide. First, the water level in the landing area was somewhat (about 12") low. Second, the slide does not have an adequate lip or curve on the bottom to redirect the rider from a diagonal trajectory to a more horizontal one. Third, the entire bottom surface of the water slide pool - including landing areas - is made of coarse, pebbled concrete. When I hit the water, my left leg buckled behind me and the top side of my left foot proceeded to scrape painfully along the textured concrete.

I hauled myself out of the water and watched as the blood began to well out of 4 (now skinless) knuckles above each toe. The pool attendee was completely disinterested in these events, and continued stand idly in some nearby shade. Later in the trip, when I tracked down the property manager, he was similarly nonplussed when I showed him a quartet of garish, bloody wounds, offering only a muted "oh, I see" in response.

I could go on at length, but will confine myself to bullet points for some remaining highlights:
- A steep landscape combined with poor railings, loose stair treads, wire cables thrown across stairways, and inadequate fencing to make the area safe for small children.
- Lots of rust and damaged items.
- A "property tour" that was conducted using an old school bus (despite the fact only 3 of us were going) that had broken seats, ripped upholstery, and looked like something that only recently transported convicts.
- The offered "massage services" consisted of an electronic massage recliner chair with a vaguely sweaty aroma and frayed, torn leather upholstery.
- On our return to the property after a day trip on Tuesday, the security guard at the first checkpoint used his cell phone camera to video the vehicle and license plate, and then proceeded to stick the camera inside the jeep and take video/snaps of us. When angrily confronted by my wife he said "company policy" and reluctantly stopped.
- Questionable playground equipment makes in essential that children be closely supervised while using it.

To be fair, I will say that the setting of the property is very nice and tranquil, and many staff seemed genuinely eager to offer good service despite the clearly inadequate training and management support they struggle with.

After 3 nights at Manntra, it is quite plain that this property is not being run as a "resort" in the true sense. It is a vehicle to help Manntra sell cottages and bungalow plots. This is their real business, and anyone expecting a resort experience will be sorely disappointed.

Despite the convenient proximity to Pune, we will not be back.

Room Tip: There is no real difference (besides cost) between Standard, Deluxe, and Premium. Save yourself the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This place I had visited in May 2011 for 4 days in the peak of heat around Sahyadri range in Maharashtra. It was hot in the afternoon. Evenings were pleasant. Location is very good, on the top of the mountain. We visited on full moon day and we could actually see the full moon reflection in the artificial lake right in front of our room. AMAZING!!! This resort is very spacious and well spread out. Walking from the room to the dining area was a bit of trouble. Outdoor facilities were partially functioning, good for experiencing like Tennis, Basketball etc. Swimming Pool was good and clean. Water slides were dirty. We did try to use but water flow in those slides was so scanty that we were scared of the burn due to friction. Food was OK. Not a lavish spread but good enough with decent variety, unfortunately we found few mosquitoes in their pineapple sheera. And we are vegetarian so we were disappointed a bit, although that problem was immediately taken care of. For dinner they had open air session with a dhaba kind of setup which we loved with fresh hot rotis lovely. There is not much to do other than the resort itself. One can relax, go to small hills near by or go to an artificial pond made by them.
Worst part of the place was the room. Although it was big area but poor planning of the cottages makes u feel cramped in the bedroom and bathroom. Also room service is very slow to respond. This one suggestion I have that they could redesign it, have a place for balcony where people could sit outside the cottage.
But this place is worth a visit and good for relaxation from Mumbai rush.

Room Tip: Select room A or B not C, are far from the dining and climbing to dining might not be liked by the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I visited this place for New Years Eve celebration. The only good point about Manntra is its location...nice and scenic. The cottages are ok, the good part being that they come with a very big living space, and each cottage can easily take 4 people + 2 extra. The negative points are many: 1) Located too much in the interiors, and very weak telephone network 2) Fairly high priced 3) Below average food 4) Below average service 5) The Auditorium, where parties and disco nights take place is another 5km drive from where you stay 6) The new year party was like a roadside party, very bad...This place is only advisable if you are getting it at dirt cheap rate, you are going in a group, you are going during monsoon or winter, and you have a car !!!

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the reception, else you will need to use a car whenever you are coming for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnishDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Being an extensive traveller both in India & abroad I was pleased to have a wonderful experience in every aspect of an ideal Resort........ The Resort has 'charmed' me and has lived upto its name 'manntra'....... I congratulate the Resort & wish them to keep up the quality service as I will certainly revisit & resort to patronize whenever the occassion arises.
A happy Mac......!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macariofernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pune hotels
20.7 mi away
The Corinthians Resort & Club
15.9 mi away
Hyatt Pune
Hyatt Pune
#10 of 222 in Pune
1,048 reviews
17.8 mi away
Conrad Pune
Conrad Pune
#2 of 222 in Pune
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The O Hotel
The O Hotel
#19 of 222 in Pune
841 reviews
17.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Blue Diamond
23.4 mi away
Fort JadhavGADH
Fort JadhavGADH
#1 of 490 in Pune
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Resort Pune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Resort Pune

Property: Mantra Resort Pune
Address: Village Karandi, Pune 412206, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Pune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 219 B&Bs / Inns in Pune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mantra Resort Pune 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque hills, at an altitude of 2900 mtrs above sea level, with a picture perfect backdrop of the mountain ranges of Sahyadris & backwaters of Bhatgar Dam on the river Velvandi (one of the highest river dam walls in India), Manas Sarovar is a hill station in the vicinity of Pune, Maharashtra (51 kms from city centre) and Mantra Resort is a Hill Retreat situated at Manas Sarovar overlooking the Sahyadri ranges and Bhatghar dam reserve...spread across 40 acres with a stunning view of Nature in all its glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mantra Resort Pune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manntra Hill Hotel Pune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing