We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a cleanup” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sunderban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sunderban
Ranked #148 of 221 Hotels in Pune
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs a cleanup”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Location of the hotel is good, right next to Osho Ashram, Pune and the best Italian restaurant in town (Dario's) is located within its premises, but the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. The studio apartments could do with a coat of paint, the refrigerators appear to be really old and dirty and need to be replaced..since they call them studio apartments, they need to provide some crockery and cutlery in the kitchenette - there was none! One of the taps in the bathroom was not working..one could go on and on about lack of maintenance. Not recommended, especially as a few rupees more can get you better hotels down the road.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saswatigb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    22
    11
    2
    8
See reviews for
8
16
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I have been staying here almost every year since 2009 when coming to the Osho International Meditation Resort - which means that many positive memories are connected to Hotel Sunderban.

The economy rooms in the main buliding are good value for money, some of them a bit noisy. The only point of criticism used to be the showers, which have been freshly renovated last year.

Things are a bit different for the studio rooms. They are not exactly a bargain especially in high season, yet I think there was nearly no maintenance work done since I came for the first time five years ago - when the rooms were in good shape. Now there a holes and dozens of killed mosquitos on the walls, paint peeling off, spots in the bathroom, light bulbs not working etc. It could be so easy to do something about this!

A futher point of annoyance are thin doors between the rooms just opposite of the bathroom, which let you hear every noise your neighbour makes.

I still give three points because of the perfect location, the beautiful garden, the very good spa and restaurant. Staff is VERY friendly and helpful, even though the room cleaners are a bite carelrss and seem use the guests' toilet articles from time to time.

So PLEASE do something about the condition of the rooms, and we will definitely come back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aranjaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

It's tucked away but right in the heart of the city. And it's exactly like its location -- a quiet spot in a whirling world. Just a minute's walk gets you to the main road where you can catch all forms of transport to get around as well as stores and restaurants. So the location's perfect if you're there on work. The hotel is serene, beautiful, charming and laid back. Lovely to come back to after a long day of meetings. The service is laid back too so don't stay here if you're in a hurry. Koregaon Park is lovely to take morning and evening walks in. If you're a runner, the roads are smooth, lots of trees, very little traffic, no mean stray dogs, so you can get your miles for the day down without worrying about finding the place to run.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the lawn -- beautiful to wake up and walk out on to the balcony and see tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waterwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed in Hotel Sunderban for 10 nights during the monsoon time. I have been coming to Pune for 20 years and stayed in different places. This time my regular place was closed. Walking past the Hotel hundreds of times in previous years I had wanted to stay in one of their rooms facing the Osho resort so this time I ended up in one of those rooms.

They gave the low season discount of about 50%, but the room was still overpriced: there were burning stains on the walls, the fridge and the terrace light was not working, the bathroom was badly designed - you had to move the hand towels away every time you took a shower to avoid them from getting wet - the toilet roll holder was broken etc. etc. Overall the room was not well planned and maintained. In the high season the price of the room is 7000 INR (more than 80 euros), which is a ridiculous price for that standard. There are places of much, much better standard and value just nearby.

But the condition of the room was not the worst thing. The rooms have inside doors between them and on the bottom of the door is a gap of almost an inch, so you can hear even the words people are talking in the next room. The hotel was not full and I asked the reception kindly not to give the room next to mine to anybody, if there were other rooms available, since the noise was a problem. Their response was to give the room to a bunch of middle-aged Indian men, who smoked, drinked, throwed rubbish anywhere they happened to be and whose behavior was rude and careless of anybody else, not to mention about their loud talking and drinking until the early hours of the morning. Having breakfast on my terrace all the cigarette smoke came to me as their terrace was just less than half a meter from me and there was no wall or anything between them. It was quite a ridiculous situation in the morning sitting and having breakfast next to those guys, and not a single person in any of the other terraces.

I went to the reception and said I can't stay next to them beacuse of the disturbance, and they admitted it but said that if I moved to another room I had to pay 500 INR extra! In my room the AC was not working and that's why I had paid a little less for it.

Also, I had bought a hair decoration and placed it on the bathroom counter. On the second day of my stay when I was not in the room when they cleaned it the decoration disappeared from the counter. The cleaners didn't speak English so I went to the reception. The receptionist said he had talked to the cleaner who took care of the bathroom but that she absolutely denied taking the decoration and that I couldn't blame her. Well, nobody else had been in the room so it must have disappeared in the thin air... In my 20 years of travelling in India this kind of thing has rarely happened to me.

And I know that Indian men have difficulty dealing with independent western women, but to be treated in this way in a hotel who is used to having foreign guests is outrageous. I'm never setting my foot on the place again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank witness2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pune hotels

Mumbai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

ive been staying at Hotel Sunderban for many years now and at-least 2 times a year.
its a place i loved n still do but i have to admit its going down.
the good - amazing location (heart of the city, great restaurants n clubs around), very peaceful, serene, simple yet amazing. hosts the BEST Italian restaurant in Pune called Darios. Great value for Money.
the not so good - they have just not maintained the place well! paints are pealing. cleanliness is questionable, the bathrooms are not maintained well, the shower is not v good.
do note - this is not a place to go with kids as its more like a bed and breakfast. there is no pool or facilities BUT it has a nice Garden and Amazing Quiet and Greenery. If u lucky u mite even spot a Peacock.
i hope the management reads this review n just does little steps to maintain this absolutely beautiful n small hotel n bring its true glory back.
expect a simple, beautiful, quiet hotel with small flaws and you wont be disappointed.
I will return :)
Enjoy!

Room Tip: try to take the 1st floor studio room for better privacy (instead of the ground floow) else all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

For many years I was impressed by the location of this hotel each time I would come to Koregaon Park each time thinking I would stay here next.

Finally, I got myself here with my fiance in the winter of 2012. The rooms are all lawn facing and quite luxurious. The room on first level seems better and more private. The room service is limited to the food of the in-house italian fine-dining restaurant. In fact, the hotel provided you menu cards of several restaurants in the vicinity and lets you get the delivery right outside your room. They even offer cutlery for outside food consumption. Which is lovely, considering most people do sneek in local food back to their rooms for consumption.

Surely will visit here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zubinnalawalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

They are still under renovation work, after months it seems. They offer different quality/prices.Only 1 room at "reasonable" price (about 2500 rs p/night, without breakfast) was available - despite I booked previously - and not in good condition (specially the bathroom). They offered cheaper dorms without private toilet - is not suitable for me - or amazingly, 5 new studios with terrace at 5000 rs per night, even for a single. To reach my room in 1st floor the stairs and corridor was fully covered by painting materials... People at reception were also very different among them, morning guys kind and helpful but: 1 night I ordered a meal by delivery and told them I will get it at the reception. They did not call me, instead I had an outsider guy knocking my door at 22 hs. Nevertheless, it is very good located and have a nice garden, though there is no proper place for breakfast, just 4 tables looking at the garden.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pune hotels
0.3 mi away
The O Hotel
The O Hotel
#18 of 221 in Pune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parichay
Hotel Parichay
#63 of 221 in Pune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.5 mi away
ST LAURN HOTEL, PUNE, KOREGAON PARK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Blue Diamond
0.8 mi away
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Pune
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Pune
#19 of 221 in Pune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Royce -  The Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunderban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunderban

Property: Hotel Sunderban
Address: 19, Koregaon Park | next to Osho Commune, Pune 411001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Pune
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 221 Hotels in Pune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunderban 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Sunderban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing