We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of The Oakwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oakwood
Ranked #77 of 225 Hotels in Pune
Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Very good low budget hotel, located in the prime place of city. We had booked a room but they upgraded to a suite since they were having it vacant. Very cordial staff, not too crowded. Superb place to stay .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    22
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
7
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of Pune. Neat, decent size room. Toilet a lill small but good nevertheless.
The hotel in close to all major location. Enough shopping and eating joints
Amiable staff. Would stay again

Room Tip: Take the road facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amar_mishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Its not a great hotel, but then its not bad either. Considering that the only 'star' hotel in the vicinity is "The Pride", Oakwood offers the business traveller the bare minimum. The management is aware of that fact that if someone has business in Deccan or Shivaji Nagar area, 50% chances that they will stay at their property. So the staff generally take their guests for-granted.

The toileteries are not good, you should carry your own set. The breakfast buffet is limited and bland. You get that cramped feeling in the lobby, reception and in the corridors. Parking space is a huge issue and you will always have to be ready to move your car. The bedding is average but clean, the toilets are also clean.

So, stay if you have to be in the vicinity, else avoid. This hotel is very expensive when compared to even better 5 star properties.

Room Tip: Go for the Front view rooms if you must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The Oakwood is primarily a business hotel tucked away in the Deccan area of Pune, an unassuming exterior makes it difficult to locate the first time around.
A minute lobby welcomes you in, checkin process is by and large smooth and quick. Tie-ups with corporate houses and large companies ensure availability of rooms at reasonable tariffs.
Rooms are reasonably large and clean. Breakfast included, however the spread is not too good. No eggs/non-vengetarian items on the menu.
Room service is quick and the portions are large. Staff is a generally helpful. A good bet if you want to spend a couple of days in Pune without spending too much, this hotel works just fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank het2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

This used to be a really nice hotel very centrally located in Pune, and reasonably priced. However the rooms are now getting a little tired, and could do with some new furniture/ curtains. Also on my most recent visit, my room reeked of cigarette smoke, which was not pleasant. However, overall, the rooms and bathrooms are very clean.

The internet connection was awful for a business hotel. The food was average, but there are a lot of nice places to eat at FC road ( 5 minutes away) so we didn’t eat at the hotel apart from one meal. We usually pick this place because of the location – its off the main road, and relatively quiet, but still only a short walk from FC road where much of the action is.

The staff could be a lot better trained. They are mostly male, and tend to gawk, (one waiter letched outright) but when I complained to the Management, they took it seriously, and ensured that my dinner was brought upto my room by the female receptionist when I ordered late at night. I must say, overall, I felt fairly comfortable staying here, and will stay there again when I’m in Pune for business.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anattaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritsar, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2010

the oakwood..is a very fine hotel, the food of the hotel is very good..it is also centrally located in a peaceful colony in pune.. the rooms are up to date and very neat and clean. the room service at the hotel is also prompt. Overall the hotel is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohitkk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2010

World class rooms, amenities and restaurants ....... puts India on Global map in hospitality and stay

Very friendly staff and they make sure that you are a guest and not a customer.

I have travelled world since 1989 and been to all coutnries and stayed in all star hotels for a night to several motnhs, and Oakwood is an exempalry world class .. thanks Oakwood for being in India....... price in US $$ is Ok for world class service and amenities ...

Dr. Gehlot

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngehlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pune hotels
3.3 mi away
Oakwood Residence Naylor Road
0.4 mi away
Ramee Grand Hotel Pune
Ramee Grand Hotel Pune
#37 of 225 in Pune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deccan Rendezvous
Deccan Rendezvous
#46 of 225 in Pune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Orbett Hotels
Orbett Hotels
#146 of 225 in Pune
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sapna
Hotel Sapna
#36 of 225 in Pune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
4.9 mi away
Marriott Suites Pune
Marriott Suites Pune
#2 of 225 in Pune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakwood

Property: The Oakwood
Address: Inst Road | Bhandarkar Inst. Road, Deccan Gymkhana, Pune 411004, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Pune
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 225 Hotels in Pune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oakwood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing