We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent rooms & food, new / well maintained hotel but bad location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Franklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Franklin Hotel
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Bhubaneswar
Indore, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms & food, new / well maintained hotel but bad location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Rooms, Food & Service is excellent. It's just a year old property with modern amenities, very comfortable interiors. It's Location is a minus point: It's 0.5 KM away from Highway, inside a industrial area where no transport options are accessible except Hired Private taxi. Station or Airport one way charges will range from INR 300 - 350, making effective cost of rooms higher. Railway line is very close (less than 100 Meters) which doesn't allow a calm atmosphere in front facing rooms. On other side, not too far, there is Highway; so no silence there too...Everything else is great except location. There is no life in evening out of hotel in near by area. may not e safe for single woman travellers to walk around nearby after dark.

Room Tip: Avoid front facing rooms to avoid sound from passing trains at high speeds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarunSurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    28
    22
    3
    7
See reviews for
22
14
6
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Hi Travellers!
Whether its a Business Trip or pleasure, quick stay or extended, this Hotel is for you! You don't have to go through any travel website, just call up the hotel n book ur room. At 1900+ taxes for a single person I got an exellent room (better than so called branded budget/ business hotels). Excellent service! Excellent food! I have a travelling job. I just landed Bhubaneswar railway station at 11:00 pm opened TripAdvisor on my phone saw the price n review n called up the hotel. Immediately I got the room at very competitive price. Thanks to TripAdvisor, a blessing for travellers like us.
At last I would say be smart Choose La franklin.

Regards
Kaushal

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KaushlendraSao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneswar
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

One of the newest properties in Bhubaneswar. Definitely value for money
Recommended more so as its managed by the owners who are devoted hence making personalized service a realty. The buffet breakfast is excellent

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I had a very extended stay here & can't say enough about this excellent hotel. The grounds are very well kept & nice break from the city with a very hospitable staff to help with anything you may need. The hotel is very modern with top of the line amenities, including a great restaurant with some of the best food in the city. As it's a newer hotel in an up & coming part of the city, it's very quiet with an extremely experienced & professional staff to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Couldn't ask for a better place to stay in Bhubaneswar, with excellent rates & hope to return on my next trip.

Room Tip: all A+, accidentally clicked pool, which they don't have yet., soon to come with a proper Bar fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmhurtubise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed here for one night during my official visit to the city. Th approach to the hotel is a little tricky because the adjoining highway is being widened, But once you get in to the hotel, its very peaceful and warm. The food is good and the ambience is great. I would recommend this hotel especially for people who want to stay in a peaceful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
129 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

After a bad stay at "The Presidency", I shifted to La Franklin for a couple of nights. The entrance to the hotel is slightly tricky, but other than that I have only good things to say about the hotel. The rooms were large and really neat. The hotel is new and maybe that explains the competitive pricing at this moment.

Breakfast was average (and as is the case with most of the hotels in the city), but I won't complain about that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank animesh202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I recently stayed in LA Franklin for 1 night in Dec as no other nearby hotel rooms were available. This is one of the new hotels that has come up here and as they had a corporate tie up with my company, so got the booking at a lesser rate than the rack rate.

Some quick pointers:

1. The property is very close to National Highway 5(in terms of aerial distance), but the only connecting road is through Mancheswar Industrial Estate. So it took some time for us to find the place.

2. Its a new property, neat and clean, nothing fancy and flashy here. The Parking lot looked a little small as compared to the size of the property.

3. Rooms are good with new LCD TVs and decent mattresses. But we were shocked to see "Window AC" fitted in an upscale hotel.

4. The staff are good, polite and well spoken, no issues on that. Availed room service twice: once at 6.30 PM in the evening and once during mid night and both times it was very slow. I feel the room service needs to be a lot faster.

5. The Railway line is very near, so the sound from the passing trains is loud.

6. Did not try the Buffet breakfast, as we all were in hurry in the morning. But the Restaurant looked good from the outside

Verdict: Considering the fact that I got the booking at a lesser rate, I would rate the place as a good value for money place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abhijitpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bhubaneswar hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pushpak
Hotel Pushpak
#4 of 57 in Bhubaneswar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mango Hotels Prangan - Bhubaneshwar
2.3 mi away
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
#3 of 57 in Bhubaneswar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swosti Premium Hotel
Swosti Premium Hotel
#9 of 57 in Bhubaneswar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.6 mi away
VITS Bhubaneswar Hotel
VITS Bhubaneswar Hotel
#8 of 57 in Bhubaneswar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Central
Hotel Grand Central
#17 of 57 in Bhubaneswar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Franklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Franklin Hotel

Property: La Franklin Hotel
Address: 328/1110 Rasulgarh Square National Highway 5, Bhubaneswar 751010, India
Region: India > Odisha > Bhubaneswar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Bhubaneswar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Franklin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Franklin Hotel is a contemporary & stylish Hotel. The hotel is a perfect base for business or leisure and offers easy access to all important landmarks in the city. Offering finest in accommodation, all guest rooms are equipped with a range of amenities including 32" LCD TV, Cable channel, Mini-bar, Electronic safe, Tea-Coffee maker, Complimentary Wi-Fi Access, Room Service, Laundry Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Franklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing