We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique and unforgettable experience with charming...”
other travellers have booked this property
Feel the rich heritage of past, stay here at this former hunting mansion, now a villa farm house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feel the rich heritage of past, stay here at this former hunting mansion, now a villa farm house.
Take a deep breadth and feel the freshness of incredibile India and its simplicity and its heritage. enjoy bedrooms with colored windows,feel the cooling effect of a bygone era, using wet root curtains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Feel the rich heritage of past, stay here at this former hunting mansion, now a villa farm house.
Take a deep breadth and feel the freshness of incredibile India and its simplicity and its heritage.
enjoy bedrooms with colored windows,feel the cooling effect of a bygone era, using wet root curtains
Spend the rarest moments of your life with someone so simple in the most remote villages in India
Have a thrilling Angling or sportfishing vacation with your family in this unknown destination.
For some people time has not changed. Enjoy seeing traditional methods of lifestyle
Be a part and get the feel of an old world charm.
be a part of tribal culture. watching cockfights are a part of local tribal lifestyle, weekly market
relax your mind and refresh your evenings with different tribal dances to remember for a long time
Exclusive al fresco dinner and breakfast settings for a romantic and memorable holiday.
go back in time and look at history.  A family with a rich heritage started in 81 AD.
Enjoy authentic Indian food and family receipies with hosts, cooked in bio gas eco kitchen
A smile is more than a thousand words.
India's top hand woven silk textile destination. A rich Indian product to carry home as gifts
we need no modern technology. we are better off with our traditional stuff !!.see craftsmen at work
Research scholars !! stop here to find out what you have missed in your study.
Are you a bird watcher or a nature photographer ? come here and get the best of it.
trekking, Jungle walk, cycling, Bat safari (flying fox), these are our best features.
For the trophy hunters, size does matter.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bhubaneswar, Khurda District, Odisha

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Ranjan M
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Unique and unforgettable experience with charming hosts”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Being from the UK and inviting my guests from Singapore to this property during the monsoon season, I was apprehensive at first when booking this but was soon won over by the hospitality of the young couple that run this home stay.

If you visit Orissa and don't spend at least 2-3 days with this delightful family in their tastefully renovated heritage property then you would have missed a chance for a unique experience. Debjit and Namrata are an innovative young couple and their family are very gracious hosts as soon as you make contact with them.

They have taken an enormous undertaking to tastefully turn their ancestral property, which is an amazing English-Gothic royal hunting lodge into a comfortable and unforgettable home stay. Our suite comprised of a twin-bedded room, a seating area and an enormous bathroom that used to be the Raja's (king), complete with a steam-shower and bath! Period features and antique family furniture have been retained and creatively been reused to create an amazing atmosphere. Each feature has a charming story around it. Old family photographs speak of a time of their royal ancestors when they used to entertain those of the British Raj including stories of a 42 ton Belgian chandelier that used to be in one of their properties. The rooms are naturally cooled by 'khus' grass curtains which, when wet, evaporate to provide an unforgettable aroma along with the cooling effect!

The 1831 property is easy to get to from Cuttack along a new road that gets more and more beautiful as you approach the property with the back drop of the Kapilash hill range and forest. There are two large man-made lakes that the family used to stock fish and a there is a little alfresco dining area to have supper under the stars by candle light! The family have an active farm and produce biogas they use for cooking the delicious meals that they can provide for guests. There are rooftop rooms that provide a breathtaking view of the hills behind the property.

The meal provided to us was delicious and used produce from their farm for local dishes that the couple are happy to share the recipe with guests. The dishes were lightly spiced but delectable. Debjit even provided us chilled bottles of Tuborg beer that went down well with the meal. They have a superb repertoire of interesting stories of the old times and their family past and the hunting that their ancestors used to do in the not so distant past.

Debjit has good links with the local community and can provide trips to visit a tribal village in the hill forest. They can also provide mountain bikes to trek through local roads. They have contacts with family and friends at other unmissable spots in Orissa.

We wish we had spent more time with them as the conversation flowed easily on a wide range of topics as the couple are well educated and sophisticated.

So if you decide to stay in a featureless sub-standard modern Cuttack hotel with air-conditioning and bland food then you will miss out this lovely home stay experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Unique hospitality and experience
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika_and...
Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Delightful stay in Kila Dalijoda”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Arriving at the former hunting lodge in a wooded area we were warmly welcomed by our hosts, Debjit and Namrata. The building has been / is being lovingly restored with attention to detail, much care and has kept its special atmosphere in these peaceful and quiet surroundings. Our suite was spacious, comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. Our hosts did everything to make our stay pleasant and memorable.

We enjoyed the meals, always delicious and varied, together with the family and other guests. The organic vegetables, dairy products and fish are from their own garden and farm.

A walk with Debjit to a tribal village was very interesting. On the way and in the village he told us a lot of things about village life, nature, customs, history and so on. Also the excursions to artists, temples and other places gave us a deeper insight into rural Indian life.

We enjoyed our stay very much and had the pleasure to stay later in Kila Dalijoda a second time. We regretted only, that both visits had been short. Therefore we hope that also on our next trip to India we shall have the opportunity to enjoy again this pleasant homestay and especially to meet our hosts again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The warm hospitality of our hosts and their effort of preserving this delightful place
Liked least: Our stay was too short.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doron_J
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed one night here, very pleasant experience.
This century old mansion has two large suites. Two smaller rooms were under renovation when we stayed there. The suite includes three rooms and a bath room. Large and comfortable beds. All clean and in good condition. The water pressure at the shower was so-so. The small hot water heater provides enough hot water.
The accommodation included full board, eating with the owner family and the other guests. The food was excellent.
Most important here is the owner family, a couple and a young girl. Very pleasant people who give us a very welcoming hospitality. The owner guided us while visiting nearby villages. We made a two hours hike in the morning to a tribal village.
Be aware that this is an isolated remote location. You better have your own car. Driver and guide get also accommodation here. No wifi, the night time is very quiet.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hospitality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2015
Dear Mr.Doron Juster, Our sincere thanks for your lovely reviews. It was simply great hosting you at our house. Please come again when ever you are in odisha. wishing you all the best.
warm regards,
Debjit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sg-Leah
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay and be Awed”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Wonderful owners, active in the local communities. Debjit and Namrata are slowly rehabbing this incredible piece of history. I throughly enjoyed seeing their fish ponds, biogas setup and learning about the home grown veggies used to great effect in the fabulous meals.
Debjit can arrange transportation to local villages where you can learn about dying and weaving. Be sure to see the local Dhokra village (be sure to bargain)
I loved being able to ask a zillion questions about life and food preparation. Was able to go in a morning walk to look for elephants and see a nearby 'tribal' village.
This place is a must-stay for any trip to Orissa (Odisha)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesare B
New Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality in an old hunting lodge”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

One of the most memorable experiences in India for those who love home stays and places with a soul.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality and the effort to preserve the past
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Вячеслав...
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and great people”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were advised to stay at this director of travel agency in Bhubaneswar. We arrived late in the afternoon, very tired. But we were just fascinated by this house and its hosts. Lovely large room with very high ceilings. We were provided with two people had three rooms, all very convenient and comfortable.Also I want to say about the host and his wife at home - they are an informal approach to the reception of guests, very touching and emotionally.
thank you so much

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely house and grounds
Liked least: Wonderful authentic Indian decor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhananjai...
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Virgin Fishing Territory”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Master Piece!!!!!
Stayed at KILA DALIJODA - The Hunting Lodge, at the Master Suite,
Great Location,Fabulous Place,Lovely rooms, Fabulous Food....
to beat all this A Gracious Host - Debjit....
Virgin Fishing territory, huge Potential as a Fishing spot,
2km wide River Mahanadhi,
Who Ever Wants to be the 1st Land the Biggest Fish....
Don't waste Time!!!!!
Jai

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing