We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful heritage property”
other travellers have booked this property
Feel the rich heritage of past, stay here at this former hunting mansion, now a villa farm house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feel the rich heritage of past, stay here at this former hunting mansion, now a villa farm house.
Take a deep breadth and feel the freshness of incredibile India and its simplicity and its heritage. enjoy bedrooms with colored windows,feel the cooling effect of a bygone era, using wet root curtains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Feel the rich heritage of past, stay here at this former hunting mansion, now a villa farm house.
Take a deep breadth and feel the freshness of incredibile India and its simplicity and its heritage.
enjoy bedrooms with colored windows,feel the cooling effect of a bygone era, using wet root curtains
Spend the rarest moments of your life with someone so simple in the most remote villages in India
Have a thrilling Angling or sportfishing vacation with your family in this unknown destination.
For some people time has not changed. Enjoy seeing traditional methods of lifestyle
Be a part and get the feel of an old world charm.
be a part of tribal culture. watching cockfights are a part of local tribal lifestyle, weekly market
relax your mind and refresh your evenings with different tribal dances to remember for a long time
Exclusive al fresco dinner and breakfast settings for a romantic and memorable holiday.
go back in time and look at history.  A family with a rich heritage started in 81 AD.
Enjoy authentic Indian food and family receipies with hosts, cooked in bio gas eco kitchen
A smile is more than a thousand words.
India's top hand woven silk textile destination. A rich Indian product to carry home as gifts
we need no modern technology. we are better off with our traditional stuff !!.see craftsmen at work
Research scholars !! stop here to find out what you have missed in your study.
Are you a bird watcher or a nature photographer ? come here and get the best of it.
trekking, Jungle walk, cycling, Bat safari (flying fox), these are our best features.
For the trophy hunters, size does matter.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bhubaneswar, Khurda District, Odisha

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Aquachic1...
Boyle, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful heritage property ”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I spent a most amazing two days with Debjit and his lovely family. I felt incredibly welcome and I was looked after so well. This was my first time in India and for this part I was alone. Debjit helped me so much including arranging pick up from airport. The house is located near an elephant reserve and surrounded by paddy fields and forest. Stunningly beautiful. My accommodation was vast with large bedroom, sitting room and en suite shower room and toilet. Food was delicious and my request for gluten free no problem. If I have one regret it's that I wasn't able to stay longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2015
Thanks Sarah,
It has been such a nice feeling hosting you. Will remember you always. Best wishes, Debjit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyles P
Llanwrtyd Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just go there!”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is one of the most beautiful places we have stayed in many years of visiting India. I can't recommend enough both the lovely mansion and Debjit, Namrata and their captivating Daughter Shreedivya who kept us all thoroughly entertained with her stories and dancing.
Debjit helped us in so many ways, both in terms of showing us around the beautiful area they live in and with many of the mundane things we had to get sorted out. His patience and kindness was amazing!
Although it could be said that it is a cliche I can honestly say that we came as visitors and left as friends. We really felt at home and part of the family and Namrata is an excellent cook!
Orissa is relatively underdeveloped in relation to tourism (which was part of our reason for going) but Debjit and Namrata are excellent ambassadors. We will definitely be going again and I would say that if you want to get a real taste of India and not just what the corporate hotel chains offer you must visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ankitagar...
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cultural immersion in the heart of Orissa”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I changed my plans last minute after I spoke to Debjit, whose interesting place I chanced upon while doing my research on where to travel to in Orissa. It has been quite some time that Debjit and Namrata have opened some of their rooms to accommodate discerning travelers and give them a glimpse of Orissa that is away from the usual tourist map.
Kiladalijoda is an erstwhile hunting lodge which they have restored back to the way it must have been when it was built by his great grandfather. The beds can match that of any star hotel, the food is lovingly home-made and Debjit’s and Namrata’s hospitality is unsurpassed. Over the last many years, they have built strong relationships with the local community and created an ecosystem, which helps visitors get a multitude of experience while also benefitting the local community.

There is something or the other in there for every traveler: if you are a nature lover, there are long walks and safaris in the jungle; if you are into arts and crafts, there are local painters and craftsmen who you can interact with; if you are after spiritual pursuits there are temples and ashrams close by and if you just want to put your feet up and do nothing there are two huge ponds opposite the house where you can spend the entire day watching the world go by.

While I was there, Debjit, along with a local guide, took me for a long walk through thick forest into one of the prettiest villages I have ever seen. In the afternoon we went to a village that houses Dhokra craftsmen. We rounded off the evening with a visit to the temples of one unique sect of Hinduism, which has its origin in that part of Orissa. The day before Debjit had taken me to a tribal house. We also chanced upon a local village performance where mythological stories are narrated through dance and song.

All this was interspersed with interesting conversations over endless cups of tea and fantastic food. Kiladalijoda defies being slotted into a homestay or a hunting lodge or a bed and breakfast. I would say it is a great cultural immersion into India and definitely a must place to experience Orissa.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Dear Ankit,
Thanks a lot for your lovely comments. Our endeavor is to make a guest feel what you have just posted. And we hope to share it all with all our guests. Thanks again.
Debjit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjan M
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Unique and unforgettable experience with charming hosts”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Being from the UK and inviting my guests from Singapore to this property during the monsoon season, I was apprehensive at first when booking this but was soon won over by the hospitality of the young couple that run this home stay.

If you visit Orissa and don't spend at least 2-3 days with this delightful family in their tastefully renovated heritage property then you would have missed a chance for a unique experience. Debjit and Namrata are an innovative young couple and their family are very gracious hosts as soon as you make contact with them.

They have taken an enormous undertaking to tastefully turn their ancestral property, which is an amazing English-Gothic royal hunting lodge into a comfortable and unforgettable home stay. Our suite comprised of a twin-bedded room, a seating area and an enormous bathroom that used to be the Raja's (king), complete with a steam-shower and bath! Period features and antique family furniture have been retained and creatively been reused to create an amazing atmosphere. Each feature has a charming story around it. Old family photographs speak of a time of their royal ancestors when they used to entertain those of the British Raj including stories of a 42 ton Belgian chandelier that used to be in one of their properties. The rooms are naturally cooled by 'khus' grass curtains which, when wet, evaporate to provide an unforgettable aroma along with the cooling effect!

The 1831 property is easy to get to from Cuttack along a new road that gets more and more beautiful as you approach the property with the back drop of the Kapilash hill range and forest. There are two large man-made lakes that the family used to stock fish and a there is a little alfresco dining area to have supper under the stars by candle light! The family have an active farm and produce biogas they use for cooking the delicious meals that they can provide for guests. There are rooftop rooms that provide a breathtaking view of the hills behind the property.

The meal provided to us was delicious and used produce from their farm for local dishes that the couple are happy to share the recipe with guests. The dishes were lightly spiced but delectable. Debjit even provided us chilled bottles of Tuborg beer that went down well with the meal. They have a superb repertoire of interesting stories of the old times and their family past and the hunting that their ancestors used to do in the not so distant past.

Debjit has good links with the local community and can provide trips to visit a tribal village in the hill forest. They can also provide mountain bikes to trek through local roads. They have contacts with family and friends at other unmissable spots in Orissa.

We wish we had spent more time with them as the conversation flowed easily on a wide range of topics as the couple are well educated and sophisticated.

So if you decide to stay in a featureless sub-standard modern Cuttack hotel with air-conditioning and bland food then you will miss out this lovely home stay experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Unique hospitality and experience
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika_and...
Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Delightful stay in Kila Dalijoda”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Arriving at the former hunting lodge in a wooded area we were warmly welcomed by our hosts, Debjit and Namrata. The building has been / is being lovingly restored with attention to detail, much care and has kept its special atmosphere in these peaceful and quiet surroundings. Our suite was spacious, comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. Our hosts did everything to make our stay pleasant and memorable.

We enjoyed the meals, always delicious and varied, together with the family and other guests. The organic vegetables, dairy products and fish are from their own garden and farm.

A walk with Debjit to a tribal village was very interesting. On the way and in the village he told us a lot of things about village life, nature, customs, history and so on. Also the excursions to artists, temples and other places gave us a deeper insight into rural Indian life.

We enjoyed our stay very much and had the pleasure to stay later in Kila Dalijoda a second time. We regretted only, that both visits had been short. Therefore we hope that also on our next trip to India we shall have the opportunity to enjoy again this pleasant homestay and especially to meet our hosts again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The warm hospitality of our hosts and their effort of preserving this delightful place
Liked least: Our stay was too short.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doron_J
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed one night here, very pleasant experience.
This century old mansion has two large suites. Two smaller rooms were under renovation when we stayed there. The suite includes three rooms and a bath room. Large and comfortable beds. All clean and in good condition. The water pressure at the shower was so-so. The small hot water heater provides enough hot water.
The accommodation included full board, eating with the owner family and the other guests. The food was excellent.
Most important here is the owner family, a couple and a young girl. Very pleasant people who give us a very welcoming hospitality. The owner guided us while visiting nearby villages. We made a two hours hike in the morning to a tribal village.
Be aware that this is an isolated remote location. You better have your own car. Driver and guide get also accommodation here. No wifi, the night time is very quiet.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hospitality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2015
Dear Mr.Doron Juster, Our sincere thanks for your lovely reviews. It was simply great hosting you at our house. Please come again when ever you are in odisha. wishing you all the best.
warm regards,
Debjit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sg-Leah
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay and be Awed”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Wonderful owners, active in the local communities. Debjit and Namrata are slowly rehabbing this incredible piece of history. I throughly enjoyed seeing their fish ponds, biogas setup and learning about the home grown veggies used to great effect in the fabulous meals.
Debjit can arrange transportation to local villages where you can learn about dying and weaving. Be sure to see the local Dhokra village (be sure to bargain)
I loved being able to ask a zillion questions about life and food preparation. Was able to go in a morning walk to look for elephants and see a nearby 'tribal' village.
This place is a must-stay for any trip to Orissa (Odisha)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing