We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Palace with royal treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Empires Hotel Bhubaneswar
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Bhubaneswar
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Palace with royal treatment”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

It was an unexpected surprise to find an hotel like Empires' in a place like Bhubaneswar. From the moment of arrival till after checking out I felt like a king. No complaints at all. Good accommodation, nice and professional staff throughout the whole hotel, It's definitely no a cheap hotel, but they offered me a good corporate rate. It will be my first choice hotel everytime I'll visit Bhubaneswar, that's for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillemRooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    51
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
5
6
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indian
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This time on my visit to Bhubaneswar I asked my local office to book me at Empires because of my good experience in 2012. Check-in was smooth and I was also given a discount on the food and beverages. This time I was allotted a room in another wing of the hotel. The room was OK and I had no complaints about it.
Breakfast at their ground floor restaurant was a very pleasant affair during my entire stay. Also, this time I had lunch at the restaurant, the food was really good albeit a bit pricey.
A colleague of mine was also staying at this hotel in a pricier room and the only difference I found was in the size of the room. So, if you are looking for a value for money experience, go for a base category room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinsukia, India
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I called the reservation desk for booking 4 Rooms for 7 Nights each, but way the way the reservation person (Male) responded was not as expected. So I said Thank You and said the way the response you are responding to my enquiry has given me a preview of what to expect once I am there.
No Hard Feelings for the Hotel, but the People are expected to be courteous. I didn't Book The Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaileshSarmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I was disappointed with the room interior and the amenities. Years back, when named "Meghdoot" I used to stay here. The hotel has lost its charm of heritage and glamour. Only the exteriors, lobby, etc. are showcased with a gorgeous look to deceive one with its actual content. Rooms are not well maintained, air-conditioners are not controlled, toilets are so so. This is no more a business class hotel.
However, food is ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The old Meghdoot hotel in Bhubhaneswar is now Empires. It is located in the heart of the city and it is very nice to stay for couple of nights. Please avoid to stay in room no 103 as it has no Aircondition control and there is no scope for outside view and sunlight to come in. Room no 205 seems to be very good. The price of food is on the higher side but worrying factor is the below average serviceability. The hotel needs to improve in service part. The check in and check outs are very hassle free and is very cordial. On the whole recommeneded to stay there. The room rates are reasonable considering the size of the prooms and the ameninities. This hotel is due for renovation in next couple of months time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RajaGuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhansi, India
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Empires hotel is a rather bizarre fantasy of a maharaja’s lifestyle – starting with the building, which is meant to look like a Rajasthani palace, but is incongruously perched in the midst of a busy market! However, the lobby and staircases develop the Rajasthani theme fairly well, with bright lighting, sculptures, mirrors and marble inlay panels. There is a small swimming pool on the rooftop, surrounded by galleries and balconies made of stone. This hotel is about thirty years old, and though some portions appear to have been renovated, the elevators and banquet hall look dated.

I was assigned a suite on the second floor. Unlike many hotels that loosely describe their large rooms as suites, this hotel’s suite – which consisted of no less than three rooms and two bathrooms – looked like a well-furnished apartment.

There was a large front room provided with a flat screen television, study table, sofa set and four-seater dining table, with a small bathroom attached to it. This room was tastefully decorated and well lighted, and large enough to entertain a dozen guests! Air conditioning controls had been provided, but it seems the thermostats were not working, as the room became too cold for comfort even with the setting at 30 degree Celsius.

Next, there was a bedroom with an attached dressing room and a bathroom with separate cubicles for the bathtub and shower. The bedroom had wood panelling on all the walls, and was furnished with its own sofas, TV and refrigerator. The lighting in the bedroom, dressing room and bathroom seemed a bit dim. Sound insulation requires improvement: I was disturbed by the noise of the street during the daytime, and barking of dogs at night!

Salt and Pepper restaurant located on the ground floor was described as a 24-hour coffee shop, but on the night of my arrival it was completely booked for a party at dinner time, leaving resident guests to fend for themselves. Despite the rather dingy look of this place, the buffet breakfast and dinner were reasonably good – though not exceptional.

The employees were generally courteous and helpful, but the service was sluggish, possibly because the hotel was full and they were overloaded.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atulya_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I had a day stay at this hotel. A bit far from the airport. The hotel pick was delayed and after waiting in the sun for fifteen minutes we hired a taxi to reach there. It is an old property and this is evident right from the time you enter the hotel. The decor is very garish and loud. We had a smooth check in. The standard rooms are fairly large and have the requisite amenities available including a TV, kettle, mini bar etc. The air conditioning was noisy and not very effective.

Furniture and fittings were old. Walls need repair, corridors have a musty smell and the bathroom was the most in need of renovation. The walls had stains of leakage and the floor definitely needs tiling. Bathtub was old and had too many spots and cracks. Towels too were old and frayed.

Housekeeping and room service were of a good standard. Surprisingly during check out the air conditioning in the lobby had been switched off. So it was stuffy in the absence of fans and circulation. Overall I was happy with the service but the hotel needs a lot of improvement in other areas.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ravimark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bhubaneswar hotels
0.7 mi away
La Franklin Hotel
La Franklin Hotel
#14 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
112 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Pushpak
Hotel Pushpak
#5 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
229 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
#3 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mango Hotels Prangan - Bhubaneshwar
1.6 mi away
Mayfair Lagoon
Mayfair Lagoon
#1 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
770 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pal Heights
Pal Heights
#4 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empires Hotel Bhubaneswar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empires Hotel Bhubaneswar

Property: Empires Hotel Bhubaneswar
Address: 5B Saheed Nagar, Bhubaneswar 751007, India (Formerly Triumph Residency Hotel)
Region: India > Odisha > Khurda District > Bhubaneswar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Bhubaneswar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Empires Hotel Bhubaneswar 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining Hotel Experiencce ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Empires Hotel Bhubaneswar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing