We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Empires Hotel Bhubaneswar
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Bhubaneswar
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
225 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very old hotel”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

It is a old hotel renovated but not upto mark. Room conditions is very bed. Facilities are not proper. Not a proper service at all. Committed things are not provided. Location is good but there is more good options for stay. Don't spend money on the same.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupesh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    51
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
4
6
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I had decided to give this hotel a good rating and since the options were average and very good, I took some time to decide, but finally decided on very good. Empires certainly is one of the better options in Bhubaneswar. The rooms might be a bit dated but the rooms are more than compensated by the superb staff.. Service from all the departments be it front office, house keeping or room service was magnificent and made my stay special.
The buffet breakfast was one of the best in a hotel of this category, but the prices of the items in the in room menu were a tad high.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senior1_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuttack, India
Level Contributor
127 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Back 2 days I had been to the Restaurant of this hotel with my wife and 2 sons. The ambiance was good. The quality of food was very good and staffs are well behaved and friendly. On the day there was an orchestra serving songs at the central point of the restaurant. Though it was good, the volume was very high which might not be liked by all. The cost of beverages and food was ok, though not value for money. The restaurant was clean, well decorated, odorless and tables were placed at average distance. The cost of the Fish Fingers, I ordered was too high for me as I felt, to be INR.600.00 plus tax. The serving staffs were found to be less attentive at the half way of our dinner, at 60% population of the restaurant. For, example, at the end they forgot even to serve 4 finger boils for all the persons on the table; however they did it immediately after asking for that. None of them even asked us once about the quality of food they served. The food menu is little bit confusing. In spite of these small factors, I liked this restaurant and I would like to visit this restaurant again. I would expect the staffs/managers to be more skilled and caring in coming days to guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjaya_Kr_Rout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I with my wife stayed two nights in this Hotel its a superb heritage like property and room is perfect in all manners with big bathroom only draw back is that AC unit was very noisy and location of hotel is not good entry is very small but staffs are very freindly, immidietely on arrival they welcomed us with warm hospitality, breakfast is superb as well as main course meal

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripathi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

In a fairly central location, although some taxi and auto drivers won't know it (try asking for it under the old name, Hotel Meghdoot).

My comments are made as an international traveller on a short trip to this part of India, so I can't compare the Empires directly with other hotels in Bhubaneswar. This review is probably more of use to other foreign travellers, to get an idea of what to expect for this type/price of hotel.

Overall, it was a pleasant experience. My room was a good size, quiet and pretty clean. Just the typical glitches you'd expect to encounter in India, eg no basin plug, sparking electrics. The only real irritation was the lack of reliable hot water (although to be fair it was never worse than 'quite warm' and okay for a quick shower).

The staff were very pleasant, if erring slightly on the over-attentive at times, by international norms.

I had recurring problems with the internet for the first few days, compounded by the annoying (but usual I think in India) charging by one- or three-hour vouchers. When I asked for a price for a straightforward 24/7 internet connection, the front desk staff seemed not to want to offer it - but when they did, it turned out to be complimentary! When it was working properly, the internet speed was good - I was able to skype with video a couple of times.

There are two restaurants, both absolutely fine as far as I was concerned but I guess local reviewers would be better guide on that. If you're a foreigner you might find the international menu a bit uninspiring, but as a (typical) Brit I love Indian food so no problem (okay, I know practically all 'Indian' restaurants in the UK are actually Bangladeshi!). And the Kingfisher beer was nice and cold. If you do decide to go out to eat, you'll probably need to jump in an autorickshaw as the street where the hotel is seems to sell nothing except computers.

I'm sure there are other nice places in town, but I found the Empires a pleasant and practical base, and I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magellan762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel is clean, lavishly decorated, heavily influenced by the Rajasthani- Mughal architecture , it as a nice pool on the terrace. Food s good and there is live music in the restaurant. Service was good and the location is central.
Good business hotel, decent rooms, not as good as exteriors. Pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessofspice82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is one of the few good hotels in the City.
This is really good option when you are on Business trip. Rooms are big and beautiful.
Food is average.
you can stay in this hotel and have food outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaketBorgaonkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bhubaneswar hotels
0.7 mi away
La Franklin Hotel
La Franklin Hotel
#14 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
110 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Pushpak
Hotel Pushpak
#5 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
225 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mango Hotels Prangan - Bhubaneshwar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Swosti Premium Hotel
Swosti Premium Hotel
#10 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
470 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
#3 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
726 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pal Heights
Pal Heights
#4 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empires Hotel Bhubaneswar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empires Hotel Bhubaneswar

Property: Empires Hotel Bhubaneswar
Address: 5B Saheed Nagar, Bhubaneswar 751007, India (Formerly Triumph Residency Hotel)
Region: India > Odisha > Khurda District > Bhubaneswar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Bhubaneswar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Empires Hotel Bhubaneswar 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining Hotel Experiencce ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Empires Hotel Bhubaneswar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing