We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'The Imperial' of Ludhiana - Old World Charm meets the Modern Traveller's needs!”
Review of Hotel Gulmor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ludhiana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Gulmor
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Ludhiana
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at the Gulmor for almost 5 days, there was a wedding in the family and Gulmor was the venue for almost the week-long Punjabi wedding with all its colourful functions.
The property is one which exudes an old world charmed, housed in a heritage building. It is a family run hotel therefore the personal touch is present and visible. A boutique property much akin to the ‘Imperial’ in New Delhi, each room is unique and has its own separate, one might have a pink theme with pink upholstery and curtains, another might have a beige theme and so on. This adds to the fact that you are not being handed a recycled product which makes for the stay unique and different from what you may experience at big chains or smaller franchises.
The personal touch is visible even in the service provided, be it room service or their inhouse dining hall. The staff at hand are extremely helpful and friendly. I was staying with my 2 year toddler which comes with its own set of demands and needs. I must have asked for milk for my tot at odd hours of the day and night or bread and jam at lunch time and was always met with prompt service and always a smile on the face. Which brings me to add that the hotel is extremely child friendly, a lot of the 5 stars fall short of this basic service.
Since a marriage party was staying in house, we had booked out almost the entire hotel rooms, which meant that different people needed to check –in or check-out, out of the designated time slot – this demand was well accommodated as well.
The food was excellent – which is saying a lot when you are in Punjab, where the local dhaba could out-do you. Do try out the Fish if you ever drop in for a meal.... the best I have had.
The property is geared to hosting a large number of guests – such as a marriage with its adequately decked halls or even if it be a small gets together. The service and amenities provided were impeccable.
I was travelling from overseas and as one is used to in any first world country, is accessibility to WiFi. I honestly did not expect this service to be provided, a LAN maybe but not WiFi and was pleasantly surprised that there was WiFi. This added to my convenience – I could be in India , in the thick of Punjab yet attend to my office emails on the go.
I would highly recommend Gulmor to a local traveller or even an adventurous backpacker, for business or pleasure alike. If I am ever in Ludhiana again, I shall not look past this gem tucked away in the hussle-bussle of Ludhiana City.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amrita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gulmor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

While it is located in downtown Ludhiana and has old-world charm, its facilities are in dire need of upgrading.
It seems some of the rooms have been refurbished with wooden floors and a new building is under construction but we got the old room - shaggy, unclean carpet! The dining room has been refurbished too.
Front desk staff was unenthusiastic on our arrival, while the "old-hand" baggage guys were helpful in providing advise on where to go eat etc.

Room Tip: Try to book one of newly-furbished rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is one of the oldest hotel in Ludhiana. The rooms all are in ground floor but quite nice. The hotel has a beautiful lawn and terrace in front. Also it is very centrally located and good locality. Though the property is very big in size but number of rooms are not very high. Which makes it a boutique type hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUBIRGHOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

serching for a decent budget hotel is always a problem in upcoming cities like ludhiana.
Hotel Gulmohar is centrally located in the city.a very old property with heritage type building(Just 2 story).Its a good decent hotel.Service is better and food is best and affordable.

You have ample space for evening walk inside premises.

Budgetted between 2000-2500 , a good bargain.

But be choosy bout rooms.have wooden flooring rooms as carpetted rooms are not properly managed and do stink a lit bit.

Staff is very cooperative .

Room Tip: rooms with wooden flooring
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VIKRAMCHANDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Ludhiana..its USP is its near to the Railway Station....Also the foood was very very goood
We were charged Rs.2980 per night for a double room...Went to Ludhiana on a business trip....Everyone in Ludhiana knows this hotel.....They have separate premises for Marriage ceremonies and Normal Hotel....Marriage and all take place in old structure while we stayed in new construction....They are building one more building so it will be one of the grand hotels i guess....The rooms were clean...Room heater was provided.....The Staff was well mannered.. and helpful...stayed 3 days ....Overall a nice experiance

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rajeev1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

It was an amazing party. The look and feel of Hotel Gulmor is very traditional. Its so mesmerizing. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kamaljeet1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Great value hotel with nice rooms, friendly staff and decent location.

Although a hotel I believe that the main purpose of the hotel is actually for wedding venues, which I also had the pleasure of attending back in 2005 & 2007.

Planning on staying here again in Aug 09.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sharmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludhiana hotels
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Ludhiana
Park Plaza Ludhiana
#5 of 34 in Ludhiana
436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#11 of 34 in Ludhiana
45 reviews
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#2 of 34 in Ludhiana
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel ONN
Hotel ONN
#15 of 34 in Ludhiana
82 reviews
1.7 mi away
A' Hotel Ludhiana
A' Hotel Ludhiana
#7 of 34 in Ludhiana
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Friends Regency Hotel
Friends Regency Hotel
#13 of 34 in Ludhiana
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gulmor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gulmor

Address: Ferozepur Road, Ludhiana 141001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Ludhianar District > Ludhiana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Ludhiana
Price Range: £37 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gulmor 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A garden is not only a place of beauty but a retreat where serenity reigns, it is a place which pleases the senses and elevates the mind." This is the inspiration for Hotel Gulmor at Ludhiana. Built around its own garden, the whisper of playing water and the shade of lush greenery set it a world apart. Located on the Ferozepur Road, Gulmor is minutes away from the industrial, commercial and residential areas of Ludhiana. Whether you are looking for a perfect business stay or a place to host your wedding celebrations we have all the expertise to meet your needs. As Ludhiana’s landmark Hotel, Gulmor is located just a kilometer away from the Bus Stand and the Railway Station. Facilities At a Glance: Rooms and Suites: Individually styled guest rooms with private balconies give the guests the option to choose between bed types, floorings, wall finishes and views. The Presidential Suite comes with a private Jacuzzi in the master bedroom. Food and Beverage: Saffron, inspired by the rich herb, is the all day dining restaurant offering the best of Indian and Mughlai Cuisine. The menu also serves Chinese delicacies from Sichuan and Beijing and the ever popular continental specialties. The private dining rooms, lush green lawns and the comfort of your private balcony present themselves as alternate dining options. Banquets, Meetings, Conventions and Events: Gulmor offers its guests a wide array of banqueting venues from the magnificent Celebrations Ballroom (25000sft) for conventions, wedding-receptions, fashion shows and exhibitions to small breakaway rooms for distinct gatherings. The beautifully landscaped lawns have been the venue for many distinct social events, star nites and exhibitions. Leisure and entertainment: Acknowledged for its open spaces and greenery, Gulmor provides its guests with a calm and peaceful environment in the heart of a busy industrial town. Away from the hustle of the city you can enjoy a walk on our manicured lawns or play golf at the putting range in the hotel. Gardens & Courtyards: The huge magnificent lawns, lush greens, playing fountains and a species of trees, plants, ferns and shrubs amidst a grand heritage building give Gulmor its distinct identity. Guest rooms & Suites: From the very moment you arrive, a warm welcome awaits you. You will experience the family atmosphere, created by the very special relationship between the staff, management and guests. Supremely comfortable with modern amenities, our spacious guest rooms enjoy a distinctive decor and color scheme. All rooms afford private balconies and feature extravagant individually styled bathrooms that are designed to offer the ultimate in quiet sophistication. Classic design and timeless elegance of guest room interiors capture the unique character of Gulmor. Guest Room & Suites Facilities: Centrally air conditioned rooms with individual temperature control, Television with latest channels in each room, In-room broadband Internet, Telephone with direct STD and ISD dialing facility in each room, Private Balconies overlooking green manicured lawns, Golf Putting Greens, Attached bath and shower with running hot and cold water, Private Jacuzzi in the Presidential Suite, Minibar in each room, In-house Laundry and dry cleaning service, Fax facility, In-room coffee and tea making facilities, Safe deposit facility, Doctor on Call, Baby Sitting on Request, Hair dryer on Request, Complimentary toiletries, Iron and Iron board on Request, Extensive Car Parking, Chauffeur Room: A place for the comfort of your driver with TV, bath and Shower Facility. Banquets and Conferences: People have been convening, meeting, dining and celebrating at Hotel Gulmor for nearly five decades. Our experienced banquet staff will ensure your event is professionally presented, making the special occasion even more memorable. Gulmor offers an extensive range of elegant banqueting venues from the magnificent Celebrations Ballroom (25000sft) for conventions, wedding-receptions, fashion shows and exhibitions to smaller banquets for board meeting, seminars, anniversaries as well as breakaway rooms for distinct gatherings. The beautifully landscaped lawns have also been the venue for many distinct social events, star nites and exhibitions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing