We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall an excellent property baring some loopholes on restaurant front”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Heart Sarovar Portico
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Ludhiana
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I am a regular business traveller to Ludhiana and stay in the hotel quite regularly. Latest I stayed from 18th to 20th June. Everything about the hotel is perfect for a business traveller baring their restaurant services. Their are quite a few small -small issues which I have personal complained to concerned people is my last visits. Here I will candidly share though there has been some improvement but things have not improved fully. I will still like to give them some more time before making my final perception, you may wonder while this flexibility there are two reasons firstly as mentioned before baring restaurant everything in the hotel is more then perfect for a business traveller, secondly the warmth and attentiveness with which Mr. Harpreet Singh their sales manager attend during the stay and specially Mr. Narender in restaurant, his ever smiling face and personal care of the guest is quite amazing

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajay_Kaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPLLudhiana, General Manager at City Heart Sarovar Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Mr Kaushik

Thank you very much for taking time out and posting the review.It is our constant endeavor to improve our product and service.

We look forward to your continued support and patronage to City Heart Sarovar Portico, Ludhiana

warm regards
Anurag Singh Chauhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a place!! Excellent experience for me. Fast service started from the booking itself. Booking staff was extremely cooperative (which is located in Ahmedabad).

Rooms provided are of excellent quality and they are making it sure to keep it clean. They change bed sheets after second night if you are staying for more than two. But they do change it after the checkout.

Wifi is complimentary, more over if you plan to use cell phone's wifi, avoid corner rooms. Breakfast and dinner at in house restaurant was a delight.

Although this hotel is located at midst of the city it is very quiet. You would get autos from outside the hotel and Railway station can be reached in 7 mins walk.

In room bar with few cold drinks and alcoholic beverages. The staff was eager to help. More over this facility has potential to compete with any international hotel chain.

Room Tip: Please avoid rooms which are at the corners if you plan to use wifi from cell phones. As the signals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maulik8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPLLudhiana, General Manager at City Heart Sarovar Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from City Heart Sarovar Portico, Ludhiana

We appreciate you for taking time out to share your experience with all.

Thank you for your positive comments, We are glad that you liked our Hotel.

We sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Regards

Anurag Singh Chauhan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very well located and easy to find as it very close to a landmark " clock tower".

Food is good and quick service.
Morning breakfast can be improved.

Perfect hotel for Business stay.

Only which was not good is that the person at reception tried to fool us by say that he is upgrading our room on second day where the only change was it was on the forth floor.




Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank SagarAmlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPLLudhiana, General Manager at City Heart Sarovar Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mr Sagar

Greetings from City Heart Sarovar Portico, Ludhiana

We appreciate you for taking time out to share your experience with all.

Thank you for your positive comments, We are glad that you liked our Hotel.

I would like to share that our team member did not misguided or lied to you, Our 4th floor houses the upgraded Deluxe rooms with some additional features in room like Iron and Iron boards, Hair Dryer and shaving mirror etc. I understand these are small details that we tend to overlook . It is certainly our mistake that we did not mention the add on features during the show around.

We sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Regards

Anurag Singh Chauhan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed for one night primarily to conduct Job Interviews for my company. The rooms were impeccably clean and the service was top class. We were late for the buffet lunch and the restaurant folks were kind enough to prepare couple of dishes exclusively for us. The food was tasty and non greasy. The stay was comfortable. There were too many instances of electricity cuts however I guess that's not in the hands of Hotel. The meeting room Alcove is one room converted into a meeting room hence comapct; I personally felt the meeting room charges were on the higher side.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPLLudhiana, General Manager at City Heart Sarovar Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mr George

Greetings from City Heart Sarovar Portico, Ludhiana

We appreciate you for taking time out to share your experience with all.

Thank you for your positive comments, We are glad that you liked our Hotel.

We sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Regards

Anurag Singh Chauhan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a good business hotel near the railway station in Ludhiana. It has easy access if you are travelling by road from Chandigarh (that being the nearest airport to Ludhiana) and to the city. Breakfast is decent, rooms are good and spacious. Don't expect anything too fancy- it a good business hotel. Service is good, staff is courteous and checkin is smooth.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumbailuvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPLLudhiana, General Manager at City Heart Sarovar Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from City Heat Sarovar Portico, Ludhiana!

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Anurag Singh Chauhan
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 consecutive nights from 6th May to 8th May 2014. I found the rooms to be excellent and value for money proposition. The rooms are spacious and relatively quiet despite being bang in the middle of the town. Being a very frequent traveller I look for the small details which make all the difference in how I rate a Hotel.

In this case the one thing I really liked in the room was how the TEA BAGS in the make your own tea sections had been packed in small plastic covers to make them hygienic for use. Normally the individually packed Twining tea bags are more expensive hence normally avoided by the business class hotels. And again as a normal practise the Taj Tea bags are just left on the tray in exposed open condition. I really appreciate that the Hotel took care of this small detail as it is normally the practise to overlook something so insignificant yet so important.

The service standards too were in line with what you would expect from the “SAROVAR” brand.

Coming to the “lows” the only significant blemish was the extremely poor management of the restaurant / coffee shop (where you would head for the breakfast / dinner routine).

It was not that the food suffered any big time quality issues. It was just that the detailing was not paid proper attention to. To put things in perspective here are my grouses -

1. The spread was not exactly lavish it was just about adequate.
2. With the above said the trays / bowls containing the food at the buffet counter should never have run dry but they did and repeatedly. Not only that the intervening periods for refills were irritatingly long.
3. If you are a PURE vegetarian as I am that is not even egg. Then be very cautious with the green dots. Double check if in doubt as there is no responsible person who takes care of this. It is done very casually. I found bakery carrying RED dots for two days and then magically on the third it became GREEN. On double checking and then triple checking the colour was changed to RED.
4. If you are taking the dinner buffet then check whether some snacks are a part as sometimes they serve it and sometimes they don't.
5. Similarly at Breakfast time some south Indian dishes can be requested but not visible. So you will need to check whether they can make Dosa etc. Do not expect the servers to go to each table and ask everyone diligently.
6. Moreover having had dinner for three consecutive nights I found the dishes very monotonous. The hotel could have done better by having some changes in the Menu.

Had the restaurant services been better I would have really had a better time than I did. So final words are – STAY here but keep the option of EATING out.

Room Tip: I stayed at the 5th Floor where the Club rooms are. I recommend these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanjaySharma_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPLLudhiana, General Manager at City Heart Sarovar Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Mr Sharma

Greetings from City Heart Sarovar Portico, Ludhiana

We appreciate you for taking time out to share your experience with all.

Thank you for your positive comments, We are glad that you liked our Hotel.

We take all feedback seriously, and have shared your valuable comments with the relevant teams.
I assure you of a better experience next time.

We sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Regards

Anurag Singh Chauhan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Rooms:Stayed in twin sharing room,the mere size was so impressive and wonderful.Rooms were clean ,tidy and very nicely done,ambiance is very beautiful. I love to stay at this place again
Staff:Nice and friendly
Stay:For business purpose very nice but no great amenities,Gym is too small and no pool as such.
Stayed during Navratras:Thali was cheap but tasted average,But Lassi was soooo good.
Stay:Overall good place as walking distance from Choda bazaar,Railway station and rest of city.

Room Tip: Higher Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbhishekM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPLLudhiana, General Manager at City Heart Sarovar Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Mr Abhishek,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that you liked our Hotel and the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Anurag S. Chauhan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludhiana hotels
1.5 mi away
Park Plaza Ludhiana
Park Plaza Ludhiana
#5 of 40 in Ludhiana
471 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Ludhiana
Hyatt Regency Ludhiana
#1 of 40 in Ludhiana
496 reviews
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#2 of 40 in Ludhiana
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Keys Select Hotel Ludhiana
1.9 mi away
Imperial Executive Hotel
Imperial Executive Hotel
#15 of 40 in Ludhiana
58 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Regency
Hotel Maharaja Regency
#7 of 40 in Ludhiana
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Heart Sarovar Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Heart Sarovar Portico

Address: Badhor House, Near Clock Tower | Near Clock Tower, Ludhiana 141008, India
Region: India > Punjab > Ludhianar District > Ludhiana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Ludhiana
Price Range: £47 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Heart Sarovar Portico 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Business Hotel with extra spacious rooms and great wi-fi service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Heart Sarovar Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing