We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Hotel. Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Friends Regency Hotel
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Ludhiana
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Rooms are big. But rooms are not neat. The bathrooms are bad. Not a clean hotel at all. The reception speed is tardy.

The breakfast was bad. The cleaniness in the room is awefull.

Would not recommend this hotel. The decor of the room is not good at all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KruthiBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed there for one night. Got a windowless room. No air. AC was either on, or off. This hotel is about 10 year old, but but seems it is 25-30 years old. It is very run down.

Room was barely furnished. The room had no shower curtains, so water splattered all over. There were minimum toiletries.
What shocked me was that the towels had poop on them, as well as grass. Obviously, the vendor who washed their linen was drying it in the open ground.

Morning, i found a roach squished on the floor. (Saw another one later in the room).

Staff is very badly trained. Food was - well... okay.

This hotel is mainly for social events. It has 3 banquet halls,

Hotel rooms good only if you are renting it for the day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roadstravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The Location of this Hotel is quite ideal for a Business traveller. Executive rooms are spacious, but still I personally feel they are highly priced. The ac does not cool well & there is no thermostat to adjust the cooling.
Staff is not very well trained. The breakfast spread is quite limited & the staff wear a very clumsy look. Service is good in bits & pieces.
You have to put on the tap & wait for a good 10 mins for running hot water.
Look out for other options too, you might find many in Ludhiana.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are quite good with all modern fittings in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikas_Rathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

During my resect visit to Ludhiana, I had stayed in Friends Regency. Experience is mixed.
On the 1st day 1 stayed in the 2nd Fl. The room was good and spacious. I was to check out and leave for Chandigarh, but with change of plan i stayed back and was alloted a room on 4th Fl. The AC was not cooling the room and the Mgmt could not help. At night i found rat in the room and the hole in the door also through which they pass - It was a bad experience, the 2nd night. The hotel is centrally located and the staff is good. But the food is costly (you have lots of options nearby) and please avoid rooms in the 4th Floor.

Room Tip: do not go for rooms in the 4th fl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debapriyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Centrally located on Ferozepur Road, opposite District Courts, District Secretariate and Ludhiana Stock Exchange, financial hub of this city, it is a comfortable property for stay with families or alone. You can walk to main markets of the city- Pakhowal Road, Mall Road and Ghumar mandi, do shopping, get tired, come back to your room, take some rest and start again on your shopping spree!!! lol
The food is excellent. In fact, the owners started with a very famous dhabha by the same name-Friends dhabha. That quality of food and flavour is maintained in this hotel also.For best rooms, ask for a room on the 2nd floor, where conference halls were converted to rooms a few years ago. These rooms have all the modern bath room fittings and style. All rooms are clean, with modern fittings and toiletteries. There are conference halls on ground floor and in the basement. There are several kitty rooms also for holding Board meetings of various Clubs/socities.

Room Tip: The relatively new rooms on the 2nd floor. and rooms on the front side with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGLION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed here overnight, so the experience was short. Negatives about so will write about them first. Did not have the time and energy to ask the mgmt abt all this, so in all fairness, they might have addressed a majority of our issues

1. Crumbling state of affairs: The headboards were hanging loose, mini-fridge probably did not work and A/C did not seem to have a thermostat. The room intercom worked intermittently, though to their credit the hotel staff worked through an entire morning trying to fix it.

2. In continuation of the earlier point, entire hotel has a crubling feel. The elevator lobby on our floor had a sofa set which seemed univiting, and there was a musty smell in the lobby.

Pros -

1. The staff was really helpful and friendly. Our request for fresh paranthas was quickly complied with a smile. Rooms were clean (despite problems with fixtures like headboards) and service was prompt

2. Location is reasonably good, with railway station and some of the shopping districts nearby.

However, cons outweigh pros and the tariff was not competitive enough to compensate for its shortcomings (if you do not mind these issues to save some). Would advise only if you get a good rate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankkuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Some positives though: Very helpful and sincere staff, a good front-desk and the rates are cheaper when compared to similar properties. Even the food is good with a variety of options.

However, the room quality leaves a lot to to be desired. The rooms are very dimly lit and the walls are not very clean. The bed though big has unclean linen and a dirty bed spread which has been used again and again. The AC does not work properly and it either gets really cold or too stuffy.

If you are a business traveller and need a room just for a dinner and a sleepover at less facy prices, this might just make the cut. Otherwise, avoid.

Room Tip: Check the AC before selecting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludhiana hotels
0.0 mi away
Keys Select Hotel Ludhiana
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Ludhiana
Park Plaza Ludhiana
#5 of 34 in Ludhiana
440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regenta Central Klassik
Regenta Central Klassik
#4 of 34 in Ludhiana
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nanda
Hotel Nanda
#23 of 34 in Ludhiana
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Taksonz
Hotel Taksonz
#27 of 34 in Ludhiana
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Regency
Hotel Maharaja Regency
#7 of 34 in Ludhiana
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Regency Hotel

Address: Opp Mini Secretariat | Opposite Mini Secretariat, Ludhiana 141001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Ludhianar District > Ludhiana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Ludhiana
Price Range: £26 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Friends Regency Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Friends Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing