We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must-see site” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ranthambore Fort

Ranthambore Fort
Ranked #132 of 949 things to do in Rajasthan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A must-see site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had an amazing half-day visiting the Ranthambore Fort. It's quite spread out and uphill a bit to enter, but a person can take it at their own pace. Give yourself plenty of time to explore the many elements of the fort.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    54
    19
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
133 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A great fort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Well worth a visit if you happen to visit the national park. Even the path towards the fort was in one of the zones of the park. An old fort with interesting stories linked with it. A great view on the Padam lake.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sug_fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“UNESCO site worth the title”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Recently visited this great fort. This is a huge medieval piece of history that has exchanged ownership quite a few times. There are a lot of steps if you want to take a tour of the fort, so be ready for an enduring trek. Not recommended for the elderly. Attractions inside the fort are:- ancient 3-eyed Ganesha temple, Shiva temple, Kankali (Kali) mata temple/Shaktipeeth, Lakshminarayan temple, mosque, Hamir palace, dargah, lakes, queens' palace. The fort is abuzz with langurs, mongoose, a variety of birds. One time visit to this fort is a must if you have come to visit the Ranthambore National Park.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ribhuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

It takes a bit of a walk to get there but will reward you with it's history, architecture & vistas. A world heritage site worthy of the UNESCO definition. We were there in November 2011 - the site did not permit me to enter this date (only went back to 2012)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sofla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Ranthambhore Fort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Ranthambore Fort is a formidable fort and has been a focal point of historical developments of Rajasthan. It is situated near Sawai Madhopur town in Rajasthan.

How I reached Ranthambhore?

The best train to go to Ranthambhore from New Delhi is Dehradun Express from Hazrat Nizammuddin Railway Station which reaches Sawai Madhopur at 5:20 AM, so I can’t afford to sleep leisurely and miss the destination. Around 6:30 I reached Sawai Madhopur. From station Jeep runs at equal intervals to Ranthambhore fort. I just needed to adjust myself with 5 people in front plus driver and 12 in the backside, 5 each on seats and two at the gate. The 15 km ride costs just 15 INR and since I didn’t want to hire private taxis, so it was the only option I left with.

Ranthambhore Fort

In one word, the fort was massive, spread in 7 kilometers. ‘Ran’ means battlefield. ‘Tham’ means a walled fort. ‘Bhanvar’ means pond or lake. So a walled fort with battlefield on one side and pond around its edge named Ranthambhore. This fort is known for the glory of brave King Hammir dev of Chauhan dynasty. Inside the Ranthambore fort there are three Hindu temples dedicated to Ganesh, Shiva and Ramlalaji constructed in 12th and 13th centuries from red Karauli stone. There is also a Jain temple of Lord Sumatinath (5th Jain Tirthankar) and Lord Sambhavanath. Finally after 3 hours of brisk walking I was somehow satisfied that I have covered most part of the Fort.

Where to stay?

I stayed at Hotel Pareek, which was close to the railway station. It charges 300 Rs and had basic facilities. There were some other budget hotels too in close vicinity. The other expensive hotels and lodges were located close to the Ranthambhore national park.

What to eat?

There was nothing special about the food. Usual north Indian food can be found everywhere. It is a very small place and just because of Ranthambhore fort and Tiger Reserve people come here. So, don’t expect anything special here. One thing I observed that a popular dish of central India, poha was also famous here for breakfast.

Statistics

Hazrat Nijamuddin (9:55 PM) to Sawai Madhopur (5:20 AM) sleeper fair: 167 Rs
Hotel Pareek Charges: 350 for double room with cooler and television.
Sawai Madhopur(7:10 AM) to Hazrat Nijamuddin(12:20 PM), Jan-shatabadi Exp: 122Rs.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank amitk227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ranthambore Fort also viewed

Ranthambore National Park, Rajasthan
Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan
 
Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Ranthambore Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing