We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A HOME AWAY FROM HOME” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chandra Niwas

Chandra Niwas
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chandra Niwas
Ranked #84 of 150 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
“A HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Amazing place to stay , well within the budget, lovely interiors and on top of it centrally located. we were three of us during the new years period ( December-2013) were a little apprehensive about booking this hotel initially , but loved the place and the staff is super cooperative. The would go an extra mile to help you from food to travel. Highly recommended :)

Room Tip: I would recommend the upper floors as the view of the jaisalmer fort is splended , especially in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank posts2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    7
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I was here September 2013 on a travel through Rajasthan and this place was by far my favorite. Amazing rooms with nice beds and a nice rooftop restaurant with a view over Jaisalmer Fort.
The staff were always willing to help you if you needed anything.

I will definently come back again one day !

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We were a family from Ahmedabad. My brother's family also joined from singapore.The rooms were in the traditional Rajasthani style.The clothing,furniture where typical mirror&silk work.The ambience was really good.The staff &the manager(Meghraj) were very cooperative.Had a wonderful time.A good decent hotel to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This Hotel is now Chandra Niwas, first it used to be a Jasmin Haveli. We stayed here for 3 Nights/4 Days in August 2013. It was OFF TIME visit so a heavy bargained and we got Desert View Room for 1000 rs per night with Breakfast. Check In was very smooth, as it was an Off Time perious so just 2-3 rooms were booked, rest whole hotel is vacant. Rooms were very spacious with all modern amenities like TV,AC and the lighting system is quite nice. Though bed sheets were torn, and the blanket is filthy with bad smell, we decided to sleep with our own blankets. Small insects were there beside pillows. Not at all clean pillow covers even. TV was not working even, complained to Mr.Arun regarding the TV problem 3-4 times but everytime in a very polite way we got the same answer "i m calling Cable Person, just give me 15 minutes", but the problem remains the same till 4 days. Bathroom was very spacious with Geyser but while working, Geyser make different noises, which can disturb you (like its gonna blast). Rooftop Restaurant is nice, but the sitting arangement is very dirty and muddy. Cook was on leave, so there was 2 guys to take care of, limited food options at perioud of OFF TIME. Only Veg food is available here, for Non-Veg they can arrange food from nearby Fifu Hotel. It was overall a nice hotel afterall we visited in Off Season, but Mr.Arun is very humble and polite and offered us a waiting room after our check out at 12 (as our train was at 5pm). Overall Nice Hotel but Poorly Maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shantanukriti_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We loved Chandra Niwas. It's an amazing building with great character well situated for easy access to the sites of Jaisalmer. (one of the best of our 50 nights in India) We had a beautiful spacious room with good bathroom facilities. I don't think the fort view is essential from your room because there are great views from the dinning level and the roof (also a dining area). Staff were really helpful and owner, Mr Meghrai was intent on ensuring our every need was meet. Definitely recommend this hotel for your Jaisalmer experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisalmer, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Arrived in afternoon, was shown different with typical Rajashtani rooms. staff was pleasant not sleasy, beautiful view on Jaisalmer Fort from restaurant. Food is simple, but clean and tasty. Staff gave immediate service of drinking water, etc. Warm water shower. Met with owner Mr. Meghraj, nice enjoyable fellow. Nothing like the other comments on former management. I walked several times to the market and Fort and it was about a 10 minute walk. I slept excellent, as it is quiet with no dogs barking and the beds are clean and comfortable. No five star, but if you are not too picky you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Good rooms spacious and clean.
Management really service minded
Service was good and accommodating
Opened the door at 5:30 in the morning did not charge us for the day.
Offered us complimentary break fast on both days.

Only con is geyser was not working and there are no room heaters in the winter.No lift available, restaurant is on the fourth floor.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girish1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mirvana Nature Resort and Camp
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandra Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandra Niwas

Property: Chandra Niwas
Address: Bera Road, Opposite Nagarpalika, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chandra Niwas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jasmin Haveli is no longer operating and has changed owners. The property is now known as Chandra Niwas and is being operated by new owners since October 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Chandra Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing