We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bast life”

Review of Nika House

Welcome at Nika House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome at Nika House
Nika house
Front of property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Welcome at Nika House
Nika house
Front of property
Thar desert,Jaisalmer,Rajastan,India
Front of property
Front of property
Front of property
Front of property
Front of property
Front of property
Front of property
Front of property
Bedroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 9
Jaisalmer, Jaisalmer District, Rajasthan

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No basic facilities. No light. no water. No food. No security. Not advised for family.”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

No basic facilities. No light. no water. No food. No security. Not advised for family.

I stayed on 25th Oct. when we reached wanted to take a wash but water was so dirty one would not use it even for toilet. wanted to have local food. so requested the owner for food. we had told him abt the food in advance at night we had food but the food was stinking. No security.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talab K
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bast life”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Bast life this was really great you stay in night I really like this place thank you so much Ratan Khan happy life mama Mia life ......

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie G
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique desert experience ”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Excellent and authentic experience in the thar desert away from the big groups of camel safaris and tourist touts. Ratan and his family were great hosts and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. Food was delivered to us and we had wood and matches for a fire. We had lots of blankets and warm chai! It is very cold in January so be warned! There is no electricity and no bathroom (ratan does have plans to build one so this may change)

Be aware of how basic the accommodation is, for us this made the experience really special but it might not be for everyone. We also got taken on a tour of the village which was great.

If you are looking for unique and back to basics this is for you. We purchased lots of water and lots of snacks before we went which came in handy! There is nothing nearby so do be warned. And definitely don't underestimate how cold it is in the winter!

We paid a lot more than the average price as it was peak season which for us was disappointing as we don't think it's fair to be charged double just because of the dates.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome desert experience”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Nika house is a perfect place to unwind ..away from the city and away from all the noise and lights ..where the night sky is so beautiful....Ratan and his family are very friendly and very very simple. Every thing is basic but the experience is of a life time ..The food is also very nutritious and wholesome,
They arrange for pickup from station and back for a very nominal fee . Over all a very very good experience.I highly recommend the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: simple village lufe
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saurabh P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The real desert experience”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Nika House for 2 days, around 2km from Chattrel/20km from Jaisalmer. Everything met our expectations. The huts are kept really well and authentic and located off the touristic path. Sleeping under the stars was amazing and the "real desert experience". The owner Ratan turned out to be a perfect host, guiding us the way, organising a riksha and even a camel ride! He is extremly thoughtful and made our Jaisalmer trip a journey to remember. Next time we visit Rajasthan we'll come back again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber Z
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay under the stars”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed in Nika House for 2 nights in June 2016 hoping for a local experience "off the tourist track" The contact with Ratan was easy and good. From Jaisalmer it was around 20km to the village Chatrel, where we were provided local homemade food and meeting welcoming villagers. For the day we were discovering village and surroundings. The simple hut, in which I slept, was located around 2km from there, isolated in the desert. An auto-rikshaw was also organised. We decided to take beds outside and slept under the stars. It was a unique experience and we couldn't have asked for more. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
48amber
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic, local stay under the stars!”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My friend and I stayed in Nika House for two nights, which was undoubtedly one of our best experiences in our travels so far! During the day we spent time in the idyllic village of Chatrel, meeting villagers, strolling through nearby dunes and having a camel ride which was organised by our host Ratan. Luckily a autorikshaw was available, so that everything was accesible without own vehicle. After a delicious dinner we were brought to the huts
The two huts are isolated and given the heat we decided to sleep under the stars. Far off from everything we could perfectly enjoy a peaceful night under the stars.
Ratan was always helpful and also helped us with the rest of our stay in Jaisalmer. we couldnt have asked for more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Service
Liked best: The peacefulness and the local experience
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing