We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent food, excelllent view and excellent company”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fort View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fort View
Ranked #45 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Seville, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent food, excelllent view and excellent company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Because of work, I stayed in Jaisalmer for a few months. Many evenings, this was the place where I was coming to relax, have something to eat and drink. The prices of everything are one of the cheapest among the roof-top restaurants and the view is definitely the best. The location couldn't be better, it's right on the Gopa chowk, in the very center of the town. Enjoying the great food from Hussein (the chef) the beautiful view and the company of the very friendly restaurant manager Ali I spent many unforgettable evenings. Thanks!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    22
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
17
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

We spend 5 days in Jaisalmer and came for dinner, lunch and a cooking lesson!
We learned to cook a really Thali and tasted different dishes : everything was excellent and more cheaper than a lot of restaurants and with large portion sizes!
We especially liked Ali who is always smiley and takes care of you.
....and everything with a nice view of the fort!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A and T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom and USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

I spent one month at the Fort View so I had the chance to really see the goods and bads of the place. The location is ideal, right in the middle of the central market within steps of the fort gate. It must first be pointed out that the hotel and the restaurant are run by different management so I cannot praise or criticize hem equally as one entity.

First I'll tell you about the restaurant:

In one month in Jaisalmer I ate
And spent time at more restaurants than I can count. Of all I think the Fort View has the BEST VIEW IN TOWN. Also the value is good, they are very generous with portion sizes and the prices are significantly cheaper than other tourist restaurants, I honestly don't know how they can make a profit. And the best thing about the restaurant, as mentioned in other reviews,is the restaurant manager Ali. He is likely to be one if the funniest and friendliest smiling faces you will come across in India. Even if you choose to stay elsewhere I highly recommend coming to the restaurant.

As for the hotel, the prices are dirt cheap, with a basic small room with no windows starting as low as 150. There are also two rooms with awesome fort views, but obviously a little more expensive. So as most tourists know, for dirt cheap prices you have to lower your expectations. The cleanliness of the rooms is very basic and rooms are in need of some maintenance ( broken fixtures, toilets that don't flush, etc.) and the manager of the hotel doesn't seem very interested in fixing these things at the moment. Because of location and view this hotel has so.much potential and I hope quality improves in the future, especially for the sake of boosting business for the restaurant. But if you are looking for a cheap, convenient place to stay, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shantiom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

We really liked this place, Ali is a great guy, really funny to talk too;-) The room are basic, simple, clean, for 300rp, I dont think you can find better, close to the fort. The restaurant is good and the view is so nice!! We recommend this place to anyone who looks for a cheap/nice room!!! Why not coconot?;-)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

The Fort View Restaurant was the best restaurant in Jaisalmer.
I stayed at this Hotel for 11 days. The restaurant was Fantastic!! The food is wonderful and very reasonable in price. The view from the Fort View Restaurant is Unbelievable.
The manager of the restaurants name is ALI. ALI will make you feel like the restaurant is your second home. Ali is very kind and is always happy to give anyone help or information.
I truly loved the Fort View Restaurant and the hotel. I stayed here 22 years ago and hope that you will enjoy this hotel and restaurant as much as I do.. Safe travels.

Room Tip: Rooms number 21 and # 31 have great views of the Fort
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daisyusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

This review is for the Rooftop Restaurant.
You do get a good view of the Fort but for that I would not go through so much of theatrics and food swimming in Oil.

We ordered for simple stuff and they just talk in some fake accent to assure quality and brings to you the same oily food you get road side.

pretty dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gk1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

There are only 2 types of hotels in Jaisalmer. One is your super 5 stars with heritage buildings and feel-royal service. Rest of the hotels are all the same. So, I would not judge the room based on the price difference. A 400 Rs per night (what we paid) was similar to the 800 and 900 Rs per night rooms that we saw.

So why did I liked this place..
1. Good breakfast room view. (Yes, you might see a water tank, and other open terraces in front of you, but look beyond that, and this place gives you a good view of the fort. )
2. Edible food. ( We tried to go into another local restaurant in the market, but walked out in 5 minutes seeing the uncleanliness and quality of food on other tables.)
3. Decently clean rooms.

P.S: You might find the restaurant service overtly nice, do not be put off. Just enjoy being pampered!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank panktis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Star Haveli
Hotel Star Haveli
#53 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
#33 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heera Court Hotel
Heera Court Hotel
#39 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renuka Hotel
Renuka Hotel
#18 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haveli Hotel
Haveli Hotel
#13 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort View

Property: Hotel Fort View
Address: Central Market, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fort View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing