We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and camel safari”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fort View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fort View
Ranked #45 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and camel safari”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Central hotel located a minute from the first fort gate. It is worth paying the 200rupees more for the bigger room with a fort view. Hot showers after waiting 20mins for the boiler. The cook in the restaurant is amazing and the fort views are the best. The highlight was the two night camel safari organised through the hotel. It was just me, my friend and the amazing guide who didn't speak much English and was an amazing cook so the safari was very cruisy and relaxed. The main drawback of this hotel is the lack of wifi however the cafe across the road has free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexmartin926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    22
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
17
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampi, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Hotel fort view is a fantastic budget option for travellers, it has the greatest location, directly across the road from the fort, and is in the heart of cheap eats, shopping, restaurants and internet zones.
The rooms are very basic, but for the price, location, and awesome rooftop views , it really cant be beaten, rooms starts at 200 rps for standard DBl and go up in price with views , air con to around 350- 450 rps .
The roof top restaurant is amazing for chilling out, people watching, or photo ops of the fort .
The most amazing part of this hotel , is the smiling service, kindness, love, and laughter that exudes exudes Mr Ali Safari .. king of smiles (manager) , and the amazing Mr Aladdin rooftop master of yummy eats , both these guys were so warm, welcoming , honest and full of genuine care for thier guests, that I would never hesitate in suggesting a stay here, I also would return with an open smile.
We also had the pleasure of booking a lovely safari through Ali, it was an amazing experience, the camel guide's were amazing and funny, the camels all in good health and well trained, and really looked after, we learnt how to cook chai, and chapati from scratch, as well as 3 Rajasthani curries,all we're so delicious !!! Fruit, water, snacks, were also provided and plentiful.
All in all a great experience .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funsine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The staff here are friendly and don't try to rip you off. We rang to say we'd be arriving at about 5am and the manager told us not to worry, a man would be waiting in reception to meet us. The restaurant manager Ali was there and took us to our room - they offered us a cheaper room so that we could all sleep in there together (two double beds) and when the toilet didn't flush they moved us to the same price and style of room with a working toilet - it was nice to to have someone ripping us off when it had happened a lot in the past couple of weeks. The room had a great view of the fort and even though the shower was cold, the weather was so hot we just didn't care.
The restaurant also had a great view and the manager Ali was so friendly, helpful and kind to us the whole time. We had a really nice time chatting with him over the couple of evenings we stayed. The bean burger and milkshakes are the best things in the restaurant, definitely try them as they were really yummy.
Although the stay was good and we were pleased with the hotel, we regretted booking our camel safari through them. It was cheaper than the other option (Trotters) so we went for it, but it was just a bit disorganised and stressful; our camels were kind of sickly (one of them could barely stand up to be honest) and there was only one guide for our group of four, which made us uncomfortable at times, especially as I wondered what would happen if he got hurt or ill and we couldn't get back to the hotel! We ended up getting a rickshaw back from the desert the next morning because we didn't want to ride the camels back, partly because we didn't like it as much as we thought we would (not their fault to be fair) and because we were a bit nervous on them as one had a hurt foot and the other seemed ill (it had diarrhoea most of the time). When we got back they gave us our room back for the day for half the price so we could shower and sleep, so its not like the service was bad, it just wasn't quite what we expected. If you want to do a safari I would go for a dedicated company like Trotters, which is directly opposite the hotel, instead of booking through Fort View. But if you're looking for somewhere nice and friendly to stay in Jaisalmer then definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HannahS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The rooms are decent and simple but a great value. The food is okay although the Rajasthani thali is outstanding. But what made my time there memerable was chilling with Ali, such a gracious big hearted man with a million dollar smile. I look forward to heading back there someday to that enchanted desert, stare out at the stars from the veranda at the Fortview hotel and enjoy the company and conversation of a wonderful brother.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRay777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awoogaville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

As other reviews have noted this hotel isn't the Ritz, but then you are not paying for the Ritz, so have some perspective. The restaurant has the standard 'tourist' menu served at an above average quality, but as others have mentioned, it is worth visiting just to hang out with 'yeah man' Ali. He possibly has the most infectious and enthusiastic smile of anyone I have ever met (even when his heart had just been broker!)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The rooms are clean and mattresses are comfortable. I wish they had mosquito nets in the rooms though.

The best part, though, is the roof top restaraunt with the amazing view of the fort. The brothers, Kamal and Ali, cook up amazing food and are always up for a chat throughout the day. Be careful, you could easily spend the whole day here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ericnathanyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a good location, and an ok blurb in the Lonely Planet, but the staff and room were horrible. I got the bigger, nicer room with windows facing the view of the Fort, but the room had no sink, and the toilet didn't flush properly. When I took a shower, the staff (all male) stand on the balcony of the inner courtyard, one floor up, so they can see into the shower. I left immediately. The staff is high on bong or weed, and will pester you with 20 stupid questions. The food is bad. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kgauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Star Haveli
Hotel Star Haveli
#53 of 103 in Jaisalmer
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heera Court Hotel
Heera Court Hotel
#39 of 103 in Jaisalmer
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
#33 of 103 in Jaisalmer
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renuka Hotel
Renuka Hotel
#18 of 103 in Jaisalmer
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 103 in Jaisalmer
1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpacker Panda Oasis - Jaisalmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort View

Property: Hotel Fort View
Address: Central Market, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Fort View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing