We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool wins vote.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel The Royale Jaisalmer
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked into this hotel after our previous hotel (Tokyo Palace - See review) pointed us here for the pool. The owner is so nice, helpful that we uped sticks and walked the extra 200 metres to here.
The room is okay with pretty grainy tv reception. For our stay the pool is sparkly clean, the children are in and out of the pool all the time. We are using this hotel as some r & r after some long train rides.
So if you want to pamper yourself (it is quite pricey, compared to other guest houses), enjoy the Royale, I know our family did.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour around Rajasthan. Hotel has great view of Jaisalmer fort from roof terrace. Restaurant was ok limited menu. Nice pool but blaring 90s dance music. Water completely cut off while having a shower was restored after about 30mins but that was annoying. Also no toilet paper in bathroom when we got there. Staff ok. Within short walking distance of gate to fort. No safe in room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank nancy_n_karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed here one night with a group of volunteers, we got the price down to £6 each for the night (around 500 rupees) although they say they don't haggle their prices, they do, EVERYWHERE in India haggles! The pool is dirty however but for £6 you can't go wrong. The restaurant upstairs is lovely, food is fantastic, very little english spoken but an ideal hotel allround. Do NOT pay £20+ a night, they are ripping you off!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

A very friendly and helpfull owner. We needed medical aid and he went out of his way to take us to a doctor ( the only one there i think treats both humans and animals alike :))
Rooms are clean and neat, slightly over priced. Bathroom is ok, could do with a little maintenance. The windows open out onto the pool or towards the fort. either way a good view. The restaurant is on the roof top and they do not encourage roomservice, However obliged as it was too hot in the afternoon to sit there and eat. Only veg fare and after a week in Rajasthan, you look forward to a good non veg meal :( Kabab corner just behind this place solves the problem :))
The roof top restaurant has a great unobstructed view of the fort ( though the other side of the fort is prettier) good for breakfast or dinner.
We arrived a day after the dust storm so the pool was murky and we didnt use it. I'm surprised they dont have an option to cover it up during a storm, even a tarpaulin should do the trick.
ideally located close to the fort, stones throw from the Emporium, and shopping center and about 30 kms from sam dunes.

Room Tip: Try and get a ground floor room unless you appreciate the excercise of climbing up an down the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Staff are very friendly and the owner is fantastic. Offered me the use of his car and motor bike for free and when I was leaving gave me his card and said to call him from any part of India if I needed help or just a translator over the phone. Restaurant does nice food and has great views of the fort, swimming pool was a bit dirty but it was the off season. Owner talked me out of doing a two day camel safari for which I am very grateful, instead recommended a one night trip which was excellent. Had a room by the pool which was colorfully decorated but nice, bathroom was ok, clean and did the job.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool have good character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tommy_t1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We moved from another hotel after looking at several options. The decor is interesting and colourful. The room we were offered here had good views of the fort from balcony style windows. Bathroom was a bit dated. Food in the roof top restaurant was excellent and it was a very enjoyable place to sit. The pool was OK but it looked a bit murky and the tables and chairs around the pool needed a good clean. We paid 2850rs per night including breakfast.

Room Tip: room 206 has good view of fort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Nothing great about it , Room was OK but room service took long time . swimming pool is dirty , friendly staff , food was quite good. Hotel staff help us book a camel trek which was really nice . Overnight stay in desert was the best part

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traceycole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#10 of 108 in Jaisalmer
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 108 in Jaisalmer
921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Haveli
Hotel Golden Haveli
#71 of 108 in Jaisalmer
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 108 in Jaisalmer
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royale Jaisalmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royale Jaisalmer

Address: Dhibba Para | opposite Gorakh Haveli Hotel, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: £14 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Royale Jaisalmer 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royale Jaisalmer is Run By a Family - Mr. Harish Sharma & Aarti Sharma. We Make Our Guests Feel That They Are Staying At Their Home And Not a Hotel. We Request Our All Guest To Read Previous Stayed Guest Review On Triadvisor Before They Book Our Hotel The Royale Jaisalmer . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel The Royale Jaisalmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Jaisalmer Hotel Jaisalmer
The Royale Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing