We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Haveli, Excellent choice for travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Haveli Guest House
Ranked #35 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Desert Haveli, Excellent choice for travelers”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

If you are traveling to Jaisalmer, this is an excellent choice. The rooms are great, and you are staying inside the Fort. When selecting a desert safari, booking with the hotel would be your best option. You will be looked after and you will not be short sold, as you will be by other operations. Great staff and excellent place to experience Jaisalmer.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms, then make your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMaeO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    46
    9
    3
    17
See reviews for
32
60
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Awesome rooms and had a great experience we get a royal treatment and the room interior is best part it feels like a real haveli n royal palace and also get a great experience and the main part is the room rent is very low n reasonable
so must visit

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rexx99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I chose to stay in Desert Haveli basis some good comments and reviews on Tripadvisor, however my experience at this place is just no where close to my basic expectations. I knew it is a heritage property but I also assumed that its current owner would have been managing it well which is actually not the case. The Super Deluxe room that I took has nothing super or deluxe in it, you get broken toilet seat, broken old age TV, no arrangement for hot water, erratic electric supply, dirty carpets, no toiletries, no arrangement to help you keep warm in this chilling weather and on top of all that no one to help or serve you. On the 1st day, we lost more than half a day just because there was no hot water and we kept on getting hollow promises.

I would never advise anyone to stay here as you get much better properties at almost 20% of the cost with atleast all those basic amenities that you expect to have in a place where you are staying with your family.

I also read lot of good comments about the owner Dushyant but during my stay he was not there when we needed him and when I shared my experience and feedback on the last day, he didn't even have courtsey to apologize for all this mess.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omshivyogi, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Haveli Guest House, responded to this review, 10 December 2015
dear sir I have noted the points your feed back is much more important for me ,,ihave now improved the water heating plant,,and other points reported by you all have now been best performing best ,,result is there that good reviews are delivered by our guests ,
with thanks regards and good wishes,
owner and staff,,,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stay in the fort, have a complete different experience all together, as this property is inside the fort and you can experience an old traditional haveli stay and carry a pleasant experience for your life.

Room Tip: please go with a mind set of traditional rajasthani home stay Heritage stay experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleyradhakrishnan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to stay in jaisalmer and real old haveli which has beatiful view from rooms and roof top serves home mad food and masala tea with natural herbs before I reached here with my famely I was so tired with jurney stay here felt so relaxing the staff Nabu and the owner dushyant so helping told about jaisalmer which very interesting drinking tea with him on roof and knowing about jaisalmer and culture about villege and we went for desert trip with camel driver name Ramesh is local villege guy everything is perfect for desert haveli team it's true the guest is god as they treat I will come back only in desert haveli thanks for everything again dushyant

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alenabrosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

"ATITHI DEVO BHAVA" A PHRASE IN SANSKRIT LANGUAGE WHICH MEANS "GUEST IS GOD"
Owner of this guest house follow this ideology and so the staff also provides you service with full dedication.
When we go out on tour, the area where we spend most is on accommodation. In expensive tourist attraction like Jaisalmer this guest house gives you room at desirable rates and with instant services.
the staff will always be there to serve you.

LOCATION : Location of this hotel is main attraction itself "The Jaisalmer fort". Have you ver imagined to live in a fort where kings use to live. this experience of living in a heritage home will always remain with you and This will save your money and time both. wonderful city view from it's roof will add beauty to your stay in jaisalmer. you will feel like top of the world.

DESERT SAFARI : If you hire a room in this hotel then you need not to worry even for the desert safari. They will ask you for desert safari by themselves and will arrange everything for you anytime you ask for it.

Privacy : The staff will never try to enter in your comfort zone. they will leave you free to take decisions according to your wishes. No force will be given on "tip" to staff.


Hosts of this haveli will treat you like a friend and family member and therefore I advise everyone to try this for peaceful/worry free/ tension less stay at jaisalmer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peeyush97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I had stayed in this "Haveli" during my official trip to Jaisalmer. This Haveli is nice place to stay. This place has ancient "Rajasthani" infrastructure gives you feel like you are living in the ancient time of "Rajputs". Hotel's staff is very attentive & friendly and Owner is also very cooperative. This Hotel is located in the Fort area. So my suggestion is that if you want to take taste of "Rajasthani" culture 'Stay Here'. I recommend 'Desert Haveli Guest House'

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MukulAgrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
#34 of 104 in Jaisalmer
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 104 in Jaisalmer
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpacker Panda Oasis - Jaisalmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 104 in Jaisalmer
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 104 in Jaisalmer
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Haveli Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Haveli Guest House

Property: Desert Haveli Guest House
Address: | In the national monument, The Golden Fort of Jaisalmer, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Haveli Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All time amazing opportunity to stay in the national monument/museum that is golden fort of Jaisalmer(main attraction of the Jaisalmer) ,specially for history-art loving tourists. This Fairy land building situated on south side of the rampart of the fort claimed to be more than 450 years old. It belongs to a divisional magistrate of state time from there and the current owner himself is the successor . The guest house has fabulous rooms and the building has been kept intact with original golden stone walls and full of characters acclaimed design. Its unique atmosphere makes it a great place to stay. The staff are all friendly and the roof-top restaurant provides not only good food but also acclaimed sweeping views of Jaisalmer's main attractions. The guest house provides access to other services including booking of bus and rail tickets. They have a long experience of desert(CAMEL) safaris and can do memorable-adventurous tours from one day to a week and beyond. many guide books and web sites have recommended very much highly for wonderful experiences - they have their own camel drivers who are experienced with tourists. Staying in the Desert Haveli is a relaxing experience for all age groups and offers a quiet heaven. This description is based on information provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Desert Haveli Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaisalmer Desert Haveli Guest House Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing