We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay inside the fort!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Boys Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Boys Guest House
Ranked #11 of 150 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great place to stay inside the fort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Large, colorful rooms with a nice place to hangout out on the roof. We paid a good price for what we got, but we came in June (off season). The owners are super nice and accommodating. Wifi only available in some areas. I would stay here again for sure.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    61
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
90
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here in November 2012 - I can only go back to June 13 in the dropdown...- after being tricked into staying in Deep Mahal and booking their camel safari (do not go there!).

We visited Jaisalmer as part of our worldtrip and came on a day when prices were high due to a festival. This is why we first stayed in another hotel. Than we booked here and had a really nice discussion with Papu the owner, drank tea together. We did a one night safari with him and had the best time. I would do it again only to hear his funny stories.

We promised to write a review but never found the time on our trip, so here it is, finally.

The place is a gem!! The rooms are Arabian Nights like, some face the desert. There are different rooms for different budgets, on different levels. Nice terrace with desert view.
It is located in a nice street.

We never had dinner there, just tea, so I can't talk about the food.

Papu, if you read this, we want to thank you again for your hospitality. You really have a good heart and are a great business man ;-) When you travel the world you meet a lot of people, but you are one of the few people that has a special place in our memories.
(We were the Belgian couple who did the safari with the 3 Italian girls).

Again, the place is a gem!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have always been wary of writing reviews, so I will just give it my best effort. I could begin by telling you that the guesthouse itself was picturesque, spacious, and open. That the rooms felt luxurious after having traveled through Rajasthan from budget hostels to overnight sleeper trains. That the view from the terrace felt timeless and that I felt lucky to watch the city come alive in the morning and catch every sunset as the night fell. I could tell you that the food was delicious and that they are more than willing to accommodate and cater to your individual tastes. I could keep going on and on and on....But like most things in life--and India at that--it's the people that make your stay a memorable one. Manu, Hinnad, Satar, all the guys in the kitchen, and everyone that I met along the way, thank you for making my stay so wonderful. Until we meet again...

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Located in a great location inside the fort, this great guest house offers lots of rooms for various prices, with lots of chilling spots. The rooms are big and comfy, super clean, and very nicely decorated, giving one a feel of a maharajah for a day. The staff is awesome, super friendly and knowledgeable, and are really willing to accommodate. We had a jeep safari (the safari might be good fun for you but the camels suffer) and didn't want to stay overnight and they accommodated. The guide was super knowledgeable and everyone could tell he knows his thing. The food in the restaurant is great with the best chana masala I had in India. Don't miss!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oded Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The rooms a really nice, with a fantastic view. They are decorated really nice with love to details. But I think they didn't do anything at the rooms since they build it.
The rooms and blankets are not really clean so we used our own blankets.
There are no mosquito nets in the room. At check in we asked if there are mosquitos and they said no. But in the night we couldn´t sleep well because there were so many mosquitos. In the morning we had a lot of bites.
The windows and the door are not really close able so you can´t avoid insects coming in.
There is not really much to do for the stuff so there is enough time to renovate, repare broken things or clean the room but no one cares.
I think if you stay outside the Fort you get a lot more for your money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kuschelgnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

It 's the place where I was better! The property is very well Rajasthan is expected to see .....
The rooms are quaint, it seems to go back in time, well maintained and clean, with a private bathroom with hot water.
The staff is helpful, friendly and welcoming, especially the restaurant OTARO.
Where in a moment you feel at home, surrounded by friends!
The quality / price proportion is very good.
If I can go back to Jaisalmer, I will definitely stay at the Desert Boys!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prafulla2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Have total confidence that Arvind's team will genuinely care for you and make your stay the best possible. We spent 4 nights there, including 1 in the desert with Hemmat. You will not find a better guide anywhere!! Beautiful rooms, attentive, flexible, fair and friendly service and prices, good advice always and a reliable network of contacts.
A great experience and we would always return to people we think of as true friends. The happiest and best place we stayed in 3 weeks in India!
There is no higher praise. With profound thanks and affection to all. Andrew & Adrienne Smiley

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
#6 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Killa Bhawan
Hotel Killa Bhawan
#17 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mud Mirror Guest House
Mud Mirror Guest House
#2 of 150 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surja Hotel
Surja Hotel
#5 of 150 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Boys Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Boys Guest House

Property: Desert Boys Guest House
Address: On Fort Vyasapara | Vyasapara, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Boys Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Boy's Guest House has been looking after guests for the last two decades. Fine antique furniture, rich silks, warm carpets and comfortable mattresses will make your nights even more enjoyable in any of our twenty rooms. All of them have attached bathroom with hot & cold showers, and ceiling fan; air conditioners are also available.In the desert, we are not improvisers but improvers: we have our own camels, jeeps and land. In our camel safaris and jeep tours in the Thar desert we will take you to unexplored areas where no other tours go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Desert Boys Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing