We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Experience and the host -- Amazing !”
Review of Hotel Roop Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Roop Mahal
Ranked #8 of 158 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have been to jaisalmer for the weekend trip and the experience because of our host Mr. Chandra was very amazing ! I have been to jaisalmer and the dunes before but the private safari that was organized by mr. chandra was one of a kind experience. The hotel is cozi & clean and the staff is helpful and this all comes with a very cheap price. Would love to go again !

Room Tip: Take any room, the view from the terrace is amazing !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmymozaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

I was here with friends begin of march. After traveling around came by this beautifull hotel, and it was the cleanest I have seen till now in India. The open rooftop was the perfect place to chill and eat some delicious indian food while having a perfect view on the fort of jaisalmer. The service was perfect, the people were nice, welcoming and very helpfull! The rooms had windows, warm water working good and were very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Quality people, great location, nice clean rooms, good prices, good food, everything you could ask for. Was well looked after, couldnt recommend it enough.

Also went on the camel safari which was amazing. Again the food was good and lots of it. The guides were cool. Had a great time

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the0140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have spent a week at hotel Roop Mahal and have really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, which is only a few minutes walk away from the 1st fort gate. My room was big and clean, with a comfy bed, cable TV, hot running water and a shower that had actual water pressure and was a good price (Rs.300 per night) for the quality facilities.

I did a 2 day camel safari with Roop Mahal, we went into the Thar desert at Khuri and I really enjoyed the trip. The food was good, the bedding warm and clean and the guides went out of their way to make sure we were all comfortable and having a good time. I didn't see any other came safari groups and we had the dunes to ourselves for the duration of the trip. The only part I didn't enjoy was our walk through one of the desert villages where the local kids surrounded us asking for presents. Asides from that riding the camels and sleeping in the open under the stars was an amazing experience to have had. Roop Mahal stored my luggage safe, had a room ready for me upon my return and the staff were all really friendly and welcoming. Owner Chandra takes time to chat with the guests on the rooftop restaurant/chill out space and has been helpful with hotel recommendations for the rest of my trip in Rajasthan. There is no great pressure to take their camel safari or eat at their restaurant. They also pick you up and drop you at the train station for free. Thanks Chandra for your hospitality. I really enjoyed my week long retreat in Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with 3 other friends during February and had a fantastic time. Good clean cheap rooms. The owner Chandra really makes the place. I will be back for sure!

Also did the safari through here which was great, and exactly how he said it would be. The local camel men he hires are really friendly and listening to them sing there folk songs under the stars was a highlight!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Luke_hahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I definitely advise you to stay at this hotel, in which me and my friends had the best experience ever! Not only is the hotel really warm and friendly, but the camel trips in the non touristic dunes were also an amazing experience. thank you so much Chandra for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and also partook in the camel safari which Chandra, the hotel owner, offered.

About the hotel: we opted for a cheaper interior room (500ru) which was basic, but clean and had hot water. The more expensive rooms had large windows and views of the fort and the city. The hotel has great food, but is a bit more expensive then what you will find in town. We had the chicken curry one night and couldn't get enough (300ru). The roof top patio is large but only has three window seat tables. Adding 2-3 more tables up there would help cozy up the place. The hotel also is a bit echoey throughout, which could be reduced with some hallway carpets...just a suggestion.

The safari: this safari was slightly more expensive then others we had researched at 1250 per person per night -inclusive. BUT we thought it was worth every penny! We were driven out ~60km into the desert away from the city before beginning our 3day 2 night safari. We saw no other tourists the whole time and had two amazing nights sleeping under the stars. Our guides worked continuously, cooking for hours every evening and caring for the camels. The food was amazing and we were even able to order beer!!
During the safari we also visited 2 villages. We were told that we should bring something for the children - some members in our group brought candy we bought 20 pencils to give out. HOWEVER when we arrived to the town we were bombarded by 40+ kids who were yelling out "candy, chocolate, rupees!" It was overwhelming. We didn't have enough pencils for everyone and when one of the guys pulled out he candy....it was anarchy! I feel like the kids would have killed each other for some of it. I don't know what the answer is, obviously receiving a tasty piece of candy is a treat, and I may have behaved the same if I was 7 yrs old, but it's unfortunate that it has become expected. I feel like they would almost be mad if we had come there with nothing.

Overall wonderful experience. The hotel even dropped us at the bus station after we had checked out. Fantastic management! Thanks again

Stayed: December 2013
Thank vanmac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#11 of 106 in Jaisalmer
682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#10 of 106 in Jaisalmer
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#12 of 106 in Jaisalmer
905 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
#25 of 106 in Jaisalmer
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Boys Guest House
Desert Boys Guest House
#10 of 158 in Jaisalmer
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roop Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roop Mahal

Address: Near Fort 1st Gate and Behind Shiv Road | Near Fort 1st Gate, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range: £8 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roop Mahal 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roop Mahal has 11 rooms with attached bathroom, high pressure hot and cold shower, satellite TV in every room & 6 air conditioned rooms have balconies with magnificent fort and sunset views .The hotel has a rooftop restaurant with sweeping views of the fort especially at night with the illuminated bastions bringing to mind the Arabian Nights. the hotel has Internet, Skype free Wi Fi and free pickup and drop of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Roop Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing