We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Hotel Roop Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Roop Mahal
Ranked #11 of 156 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shetland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Well run place in great location. Rooms are very clean and well equipped with comfortable beds, hot water, tv and attached bathroom. Excellent value for money and boss Chandra is very helpful and well informed. Hotel offers free pick up/drop off from train/bus stop which was great. Amazing rooftop terrace overlooking the fort.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gayley_loo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
Thank You So Much For Your Review . Feedback Is So Important To Our Business And We Are Really Appreciate The Time That you Have Taken To Let Us Know How You Found Your Stay With Us . We Would Love To Host You Again If You Ever Return To Jaisalmer Or Rajasthan . Thanks Again With Regards Chandra At The Hotel Roop Mahal Jaisalmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    75
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
58
63
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have been to jaisalmer for the weekend trip and the experience because of our host Mr. Chandra was very amazing ! I have been to jaisalmer and the dunes before but the private safari that was organized by mr. chandra was one of a kind experience. The hotel is cozi & clean and the staff is helpful and this all comes with a very cheap price. Would love to go again !

Room Tip: Take any room, the view from the terrace is amazing !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmymozaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I was here with friends begin of march. After traveling around came by this beautifull hotel, and it was the cleanest I have seen till now in India. The open rooftop was the perfect place to chill and eat some delicious indian food while having a perfect view on the fort of jaisalmer. The service was perfect, the people were nice, welcoming and very helpfull! The rooms had windows, warm water working good and were very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisalmer, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Quality people, great location, nice clean rooms, good prices, good food, everything you could ask for. Was well looked after, couldnt recommend it enough.

Also went on the camel safari which was amazing. Again the food was good and lots of it. The guides were cool. Had a great time

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the0140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have spent a week at hotel Roop Mahal and have really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, which is only a few minutes walk away from the 1st fort gate. My room was big and clean, with a comfy bed, cable TV, hot running water and a shower that had actual water pressure and was a good price (Rs.300 per night) for the quality facilities.

I did a 2 day camel safari with Roop Mahal, we went into the Thar desert at Khuri and I really enjoyed the trip. The food was good, the bedding warm and clean and the guides went out of their way to make sure we were all comfortable and having a good time. I didn't see any other came safari groups and we had the dunes to ourselves for the duration of the trip. The only part I didn't enjoy was our walk through one of the desert villages where the local kids surrounded us asking for presents. Asides from that riding the camels and sleeping in the open under the stars was an amazing experience to have had. Roop Mahal stored my luggage safe, had a room ready for me upon my return and the staff were all really friendly and welcoming. Owner Chandra takes time to chat with the guests on the rooftop restaurant/chill out space and has been helpful with hotel recommendations for the rest of my trip in Rajasthan. There is no great pressure to take their camel safari or eat at their restaurant. They also pick you up and drop you at the train station for free. Thanks Chandra for your hospitality. I really enjoyed my week long retreat in Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with 3 other friends during February and had a fantastic time. Good clean cheap rooms. The owner Chandra really makes the place. I will be back for sure!

Also did the safari through here which was great, and exactly how he said it would be. The local camel men he hires are really friendly and listening to them sing there folk songs under the stars was a highlight!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Luke_hahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I definitely advise you to stay at this hotel, in which me and my friends had the best experience ever! Not only is the hotel really warm and friendly, but the camel trips in the non touristic dunes were also an amazing experience. thank you so much Chandra for your hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 104 in Jaisalmer
666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 104 in Jaisalmer
770 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renuka Hotel
Renuka Hotel
#18 of 104 in Jaisalmer
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#4 of 156 in Jaisalmer
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roop Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roop Mahal

Property: Hotel Roop Mahal
Address: Near Fort 1st Gate and Behind Shiv Road | Near Fort 1st Gate, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roop Mahal 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roop Mahal has 11 rooms with attached bathroom, high pressure hot and cold shower, satellite TV in every room & 6 air conditioned rooms have balconies with magnificent fort and sunset views .The hotel has a rooftop restaurant with sweeping views of the fort especially at night with the illuminated bastions bringing to mind the Arabian Nights. the hotel has Internet, Skype free Wi Fi and free pickup and drop of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Roop Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing