We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable experience ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Damodra Desert Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Memorable experience ”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this camp after seeing review on Tripadvisor. Camps were clean and well maintained. All re staff were very helpful and always took care. Coin was prepared to our preference as we had asked for Rajasthani cuisines. Rajasthani folk singers and dancers were really good and kept us entertaining as long as we wanted. Staff patiently waited for us for dinner. We checked out a day early and management immediately agreed to revise our booking to one day from two days booked earlier. No charges for cancellation. The trip will remain in our memory for a long time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KKDaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    50
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
162
140
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I visited Jaisalmer with my family for two days and one night and I must say the experience was a wonderful one. Mr Prithvi was a great host and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were unlucky only with respect to the driver assigned to us, who was hurrying us up everywhere and was misleading at times. We also felt while visiting the local places that most people try to loot you so you might want to stay away from the guides, bargain with the auto walas and try to avoid shopping especially the stones with special powers. Apart from these things, Jaisalmer is a very special place and the night we spent at the camp was truly mesmerizing. I especially liked the way the tents were done, with classy interiors, extremely comfortable beds and clean bathrooms, it made our trip worth making.

Room Tip: Book in advance. All the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Prithviji, Christine, Tanu, Bruno you'll are the heart and soul of Damodar. Thank you for the 5 star service, more than expected hospitality and out of the world experience.
I never thought one could fall in love with a place like Jaisalmer but when u stay at Damodar Desert Camp you can't not fall in love with it.
Tanu picked us up drove us to various places and left us at the dunes. 3 hours: the sand u and ur buddies... killer combination!!! We were welcomed in full royal traditional style.Bonfire with super performances , yummy snacks and a heavy wholesome dinner summed up the evening. Good morning with the peacocks and breath taking view of the sunrise followed by a delicious breakfast. We also received a sweet surprise when we were paying our bill
True to what they say and honest in all their ways... that's what Damodar camp stands for
I promised to come back again and I will be there soon

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alysha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I am writing this review after 4 months but it is something I should not miss. The experience at Jaiselmer is nothing but this camp and its people. Prithviji, his cousin (sorry I forgot the name), Raghu (who takes care of the kitchen), and the driver of our jeep, and all the people are amazing. From my off board at the railway station till the I time, I left Jaiselmer, these people were at our service. The driver picked us from Railway station, dropped us at a decent hotel to freshen up. We had our lunch and went for sightseeing. It was a special day for me, so I wanted to visit the old Jain temple. He drove out of way to make me visit that. Then, we went to a couple of other places, (an oasis, a fort and a village) – all of which were a great experience.

Then came the main thing – Camel Safari at the Thar Desert. Immense pleasure is the word. 1 hour on the camel was stupendous. No one should miss that. After the safari, we were taken to the camp and I must say – I did not have a more peaceful experience in my lifetime. In the middle of nowhere, with just 6 people in the camp, it was an awesome experience. Snacks, dinner, staff, the amazing folk dance and cultural singers made our night.

I remember to sleep at 12 in the night and when I woke up at 11 in the morning – I realised that I had such a peaceful sleep after, don’t know, how long. No one came to the door, for cleaning, or breakfast. I asked Prithivji, when do we check out, he calmly answered – whenever you feel like Sir, have your breakfast and whenever you want to leave you can leave.

We had our breakfast, and again relaxed for an hour. The driver brought back us to the city where we kept our luggage at Prithviji’s office. We then went to the fort, a haveli and the local market but nothing beats the camp and its people.

Hats off to the people there who run this camp. Must visit place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virag J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The highlight of our 2400 km road trip in Rajasthan.

Moved as we all were by all of Rajasthan- the stories of bravery, the colorful and warm people, the mesmerizing desert-scape, the intimidating forts, the delicious food, it was Damodara Desert Camps that stands out for bringing the whole desert experience together.

The camp setup is wonderful- away from the main road and other camps. The tents are comfortable and clean, the jeep and camel ride into the desert fantastic, the evening entertainment fun, the food great but the most awesome thing about this place is the supper warm hospitality. Prithvi (owner), Crystal, and all the staff were so warm and caring. We were travelling with 2 kids (6 and 9) and they too had the most amazing time and found a great friend in Crystal and Bruno (4 month old lab). Crystal- thanks for your patience and indulging the kids.

Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xplorer330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was definitely one of the most exciting, interesting and unforgettable parts of our Jaisalmer trip. Be it the village safari, visit to the beautiful sand dunes or the evening in the camp with Rajasthani folk performers---everything organized by them was perfect and mesmerizing. They transported us to the dream world and made everything look beautiful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The promoter Prithvi made all the efforts to make his guests comfortable. Food was nice, camp was comfortable and there were all the required facilities. Would definitely love to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archie2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
188 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We really enjoyed our jeep trip to the dunes, the visit to the village where we we able to talk to the women, and the fort.The camel ride and the sunset in splendid isolation were delightful. At the Camp we were entertained by traditional musicians and dancers around a lovely campfire, wrapped in blankets and eating pakoras. Very special.

We were less impressed by the average food on offer, the tents, and the fact that we only saw Prithvi for a few minutes. Our jeep driver also spent more time talking on his mobile phone than talking to us. All this was a bit disappointing after the good TripAdvisor reviews.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoRoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damodra_Desert_Camp, Manager at Damodra Desert Camp, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review on tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed most of your trip. On the other hand, we are sorry you were disappointed with us.
Please accept my apologies for not spending enough time with you, and also for our jeep driver.
Trust we are doing our best to improve all our services and aspects of our camp to make for an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Best regards,
Prithvi and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
7.8 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,162 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
523 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,057 reviews
14.8 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Winds Desert Camp
Winds Desert Camp
#5 of 218 in Jaisalmer
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damodra Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damodra Desert Camp

Property: Damodra Desert Camp
Address: Sam Road | Damodra Village, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Damodra Desert Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Damodra Desert Camp is run and operated by Prithvi Singh from Damodra village and our camp is located in the heart of the world famous Thar Indian Desert just 30km from Jaisalmer (The Golden City). We provide an unforgettable desert camp experience in our fully equipped deluxe swiss tents. Included in our price: a camel safari where we will take you to watch the beautiful sunset over our peaceful and private dunes. In the evening we will return you to the camp for traditional Rajasthani folk dance and music, appetisers, chai, coffee, and mineral water, we offer other beverages at a charge. We will then serve you a delicious Rajasthani buffet dinner. After a peaceful nights sleep enjoy our Indian style buffet breakfast, or fresh eggs made to order. Our camp includes 10 Swiss tents equipped with modern comforts and amenities including large beds, quality white linens, hot/cold water, shower, ayurvedic toiletries and western toilet with sanitary shower. We also provide a dining room, lounge hall and entertainment/campfire area. All of our tents have a/c and heaters. Our dining room and reception are also a/c. With magical sunsets, sunrises and perfect star filled night skys, you will enjoy a truly unique experience. Come and see what all the fuss is about! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Damodra Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damodra Desert Camp Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing